We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our business friends from Italy & France loved it too !!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bernardin's

Bernardin's
Reserve with OpenTable
Bernardin's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #136 of 2,340 Restaurants in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Charlotte
Level Contributor
72 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Our business friends from Italy & France loved it too !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had dinner for four in April at this very nice restaurant. Parking was easy as they validate the ticket from the garage next door. The atmosphere was nice, we were warmly greeted and brought to our table. All the food from appetizer, main course to desert was fantastic and we would venture out to say that Bernadin's delivers a great value for your money. The wait staff was very friendly and knew what they were talking about. Our friends from Italy and France were equally impressed with this fine eatery in the heart of Charlotte. We had another great evening at Bernardin's.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteBernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    37
    4
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Not worth the effort - or the money.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I ate here recently -- and came away disappointed with the food, although I have to say the wait staff were excellent. My wife's starter was french onion soup which was pretty good. My so-called crab cakes were short on crab, and long on filler and what seemed to be salmon. Not a good start. My wife then went for the day's special -- chilean sea bass with a miso crust on a bed of vegetables. It was a mess. The fish consisted of two thin pieces that appeared to have beeb fried. She struggled through one piece and then gave up. I had the pepper crusted filet mignon -- it was nicely cooked to my medium rare order, but unfortunately it was totally tasteless. Mashed potatoes were on the cool side. Passing on dessert, we ordered two double decaf espressos, only be told they did not do espresso! Fortunately, we found a local Starbucks! Definitely a one-off experience for us.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jimonone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
234 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Awesome Ahi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

I met a longtime friend for lunch at what she said was her favorite restaurant in Charlotte. My Ahi Tuna sandwich with a chioce of a side was excellent and she likewise enjoyed her pasta dish. The decor was very nice and the service was very good. I look forward to going back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank geo08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
104 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“They cover all the bases”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Bernardin's is a good solid fine dinning location. You can expect to get a quality dish and great service. There isn't a lot of local flare here as you wouldn't know if you were sitting in Charlotte NC or Denver CO. The atmosphere is on the aged 1900s exposed brick motif and floors are wooden but you feel lost as if Bernardin's isn't Charlotte cuisine but it's just cuisine. I was hoping for more of a southern fusion, but given my disappointment I would certainly suggest this restaurant as they meet all the requirements you are looking for in fine dinning.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TheRealBillBrasky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massanutten, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

A very good martini, beautiful watercress & blue cheese salad and really enjoyed the special catch of the day, a mild and flakey wreckfish. Best cuisine I've had in a long time! Several tables of single men dining alone caught my eye

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank AJDugan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bernardin's also viewed

 

Been to Bernardin's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing