We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome beer and food”
Review of Heist Brewery

Heist Brewery
Ranked #50 of 2,376 Restaurants in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awesome beer and food”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Headed here before taking in a play in NoDa and so glad we did. I think we found a new favorite restaurant. Nice outdoor space, which allows dogs, and fab service. The menu focuses on shared plates but has stand alone meals as well. We shared 3 small plates and each one was wonderful and plenty for the 2 of us. Had the cheeseburger flatbread, oven roasted beer cheese and lamb tomahawks. Presentation was beautiful - quality of food top notch. I would have given them 5 stars if the food had come out faster - altho our server was great the kitchen must have been backed up. A very unusual menu and we are already looking forward to our return. Enjoy!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mammamea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    68
    23
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
130 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Heist Brewery”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stopped in here for a mid-afternoon birthday with family. Very nicely done renovation in an
older warehouse type building-perfect for a brewery. This is in Charlotte's NODA arts district which has monthly gallery crawls & a few live music venues as well.
Tables are set up in the main room with a small
bar at one end & the brewing vats behind a large glass wall. The space can accommodate small to medium size groups-a great place for food sharing.
My favorite was the Himalayan Shrimp stix with the shrimp wrapped in a spicy lemon-wasabi candy cotton. The forked-up Ahi Tuna was also delicious & precariously balanced on a small curved bridge. The Duck Quesadillas were also tasty, & a favorite at our table. I had an excellent 12PA on draft-one of Heist's best. An Asian Pear Martini is a well done signature drink here. This is a fun place. I've been a couple of times now & highly recommend dropping in.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Don D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springdale, Arkansas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Pipe Smoked Salmon!!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We came here for dinner and a couple beers, following advice from the Hotel. When we first looked at the menu, we didn't know what to think. Most of the food is very different & unique, requiring some explanation from the waitress. We had the pipe smoked salmon, which was outstanding, and easily among the best salmon we've ever had. A couple of guys had burgers, which were also good. Service was fine, and their beer was as good as you'd expect from a brewery.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank holliday50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
79 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lunch and Dinner Experiences”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We have been here twice now...once for Sat. lunch and a few weeks later for Sat. dinner. Very different experiences. Sat. lunch was on porch. Cocktails were phenomenal, food delicious. Beer cheese and pretzels were yummy. Flatbread pizza and burger both delicious and loved, loved, loved the rosemary tots (best I've ever had)! Dinner was inside on a Sat. night and the place was packed! It was very, very loud! I think bartender and servers were just very overwhelmed! Cocktails tasted like there was very little (if any) liquor in them and even looked different than the lunch experience. The Horny Toad looked like it had no cholula in it and the Ol 17 was almost straight strawberry puree (was bright red). My pictures are from the Sat. lunch and you can see it is pinkish in that pic. We ordered the crab cake sandwich, burger, fish and tots, pimento cheese crab dip, pork belly dogs. Burger was the best, the rest just ok. So go for lunch when they aren't so busy and order burgers and pizza and hope the drinks are as good as they were for our lunch, not dinner. If my review was based just on lunch, it would definitely be 4 stars.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bgood58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Lewisburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
122 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good Lunch”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Heist Brewery is located in the NoDa district of Charlotte. The building is old , and they have done a great job decorating it. The food is really good. They have a good selection and have put a spin on everyday foods. The beer section is really good, with several beers on tap. I would come back here. We were here for lunch would like to try dinner here. Service was very good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank honeybear63043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heist Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Heist Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing