We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awsome Free Entertainment” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charlotte Douglas Airport Overlook

Charlotte Douglas Airport Overlook
Ranked #17 of 173 things to do in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
86 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Awsome Free Entertainment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Me and my husband love watching the planes come and go at our local airport, so when we were in Charlotte we decided to check out the overlook from the reviews online. I have to say I was amazed at how close you actually were. I figured we would be seeing the planes from farther away then we did. It was amazing at how close you were to the action. You could literally feel the planes taking off. Over the four days we were in Charlotte we came to the overlook three different times. We brought lunch and even diner one night. They have picnic tables and benches to set on. They are even open until late so you can watch the planes take off and land at night and with the tall skyscrapers of Charlotte as a backdrop it made for some great pictures. It allows you to really see the inner workings of an airport. How the planes line up to take off, how they have to wait for ones to land or cross the runway and the different sizes of the different planes. Best of all it doesn't cost a thing. It's probably a good thing we don't live in Charlotte or we would be there almost everyday.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank blueiceraptor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    118
    37
    7
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Airport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

I've been to this airport twice. Its a nice airport. Smooth check in process as security process. Didn't have to wait long.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thomaspd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A fun to go to watch the airplanes!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Liked that you can get so close to the excitement of airplanes landing and taking off. Wish they had a water stand. We bring our own subs and have a picnic.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moore, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Airplanes up-close!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Charlotte's International Airport is one of the few major airports that has a convenient, up-close location to watch the planes taxiing, taking off, and landing. The overlook is actually a park with picnic tables and plenty of parking right at the end of one of the runways. The park is open most of the day and is easily accessible from the interstate (doesn't require fighting airport traffic to reach). It is perfect for a quick stop-by on your lunch break or even as a stretch break when traveling and allows you to observe what is normally off-limits at airports in our post 911 age.

And....It's free. So come by and enjoy it. Caution: No facilities nearby, so plan ahead.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Free and Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Not too many International Airports give you access to watch the takeoff and landing of planes this close from the comforts of your parked vehicle. There is a area on the backside of the airport property in a "park" format where visitors and come watch the big planes do their thing for free. I was pleasantly surprised of this fun place and I definitely would visit again. There are picnic tables and benches on the grounds as well. The overlook probably holds 40 to 50 vehicles.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MotownTransplant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlotte Douglas Airport Overlook also viewed

 

Been to Charlotte Douglas Airport Overlook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing