We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything in one place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe South

Cafe South
Ranked #60 of 2,352 Restaurants in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Everything in one place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Southern hospitality, great food and great prices all in one place. A place worth driving to........

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patricia231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    54
    16
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ewing, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very Convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

This restaurant was within walking distance to our hotel. The food was very good and the atmosphere was really nice too. A quaint place to enjoy a good meal.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JanCK52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
118 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent food,nice people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We went to Café South September 7 for breakfast. The service was prompt and efficient and they were quite busy that morning. The quality of food was very good and the level of service was very good. The waitress treated us like old friends and was very helpful. They also have have a dessert and pastry display for desserts or takeouts . Will definitely go back again .

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lakeman51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Extensive menu...surprisingly good food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

As I travel 10 states for work, I get very tired of the chains and look for independent restaurants when I can.

This little restaurant just outside of Charlotte NC, was a total surprise, and I wound up eating theretwo nights in a row.

Nothing fancy, but they have a huge menu with everything from Steaks, Fried Chicken, Greek Gyros to Burgers and Sandwiches. Also veggie plates with a large selection of different veggies.

The first night, i tried the Thanksgiving Dinner.....Turkey and dressing with 2 sides. Turkey was moist and tender and overall, it was excellent. The next night, I had a Philly Steak Sandwich that was very good also.

Friendly staff and owner with very good food.

I will return next trip to Charlotte.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Try the Veggie Plate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Nice -quite place right across from several hotels. It's clean, the food is home style and the people are friendly. I'm going to eat their again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe South also viewed

 

Been to Cafe South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing