We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad”

Cedar Street Tavern
Ranked #368 of 2,354 Restaurants in Charlotte
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Food was pretty average, nice location downtown with a tavern feel. Good prices on food and beer. Would be a nice local hangout. Seems to be a popular place as there were many locals.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank AustinBizTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    6
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Local Joint”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stopped in for dinner and a couple beers because it was close to the hotel I was staying at.

Friendly neighborhood bar/restaurant. had the Cuban sandwich and a couple of Sammy Bostons. Food was good, they have a pretty wide ranging menu. Apps to steaks. Tables on the sidewalk outside for us smokers and those that prefer to dine and drink outside.

Good vibe as a local joint. You can tell that it's a "local" meet and drink place.

Enough TV's to enjoy a game and live music as well. Highly recommended if you want to grab a couple of beers and have a reasonably priced decent meal.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mgourley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
121 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Trivia, Beer and Wings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

This place has become a regular stomping ground for us as we are trying to replace one of our favorite hangouts. On Wednesday nights they offer $3 Import bottles and Trivia with Jenna! They have other drink specials (we just drink the imports) and half priced appetizers from 4-7 p.m. We never get there before 7 so we haven't had the pleasure of taking advantage of the half priced appetizers, but it would definitely be light on the wallet. Their wings are crazy good, but we usually get ours Buffalo Hot, extra crispy and extra wet. Their chicken fingers are fresh and lightly dusted then fried and served with this amazing honey mustard that is a little spicy. These are like homemade chicken fingers and they are just scrumptious! We also divulge in chili cheese covered french fries on these guilty nights out and they are just ooey gooey goodness. It's definitely not for the healthy side of life, but when you want to pig out and have some wings and beer this is the perfect place to go. Plus for us it is walking distance so that gets it extra bonus points in my eyes.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmville, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

The food was very good! We went there for lunch and drinks with a bunch of people and then went back for breakfast the day of our departure. Very satisfied with the food, service and atmosphere.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great friendly place to eat and drink”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

I have just returned to the UK from a training course with the Charlotte fire department. The cedar tavern was a great place to visit. Great hard working bar staff. Great food. Cheap drinks and of course a friendly place to go. I miss our nightly visits ther

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johnrosslinden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cedar Street Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Cedar Street Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing