We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty and Smelly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Charlotte Northlake
Ranked #159 of 180 Hotels in Charlotte
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The sink had black hairs still in. The "non-smoking" room smelled like smoke. It was obvious the carpets had not been vacuumed in quite some time. If it had not been so late, I would have found another hotel. I was afraid to touch anything!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RDFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_DICLT, General Manager at Days Inn Charlotte Northlake, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thank you for your recent visit to Charlotte,NC.We realize you have many hotels from which to choose when visiting Charlotte,NC and we appreciate your selecting ours. We are sorry that your overall hotel experience was so disappointing. I take pride in giving my guest clean rooms so I take the blame for your disappointing stay here so I am truely sorry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 330 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

We were on our way to Buffalo, it was 11:00 PM so we decided to stop in Charlotte to rest. The room was filthy and there was a hole in a corner. As soon as I saw this hole, I called the operator. She was annoyed with my call and didn't offer to change rooms or even an apologize. It was too late to change hotels, and we were too tired. This hotel is the worst of the worst, there are so many options around that freeway, no reason to stay there. We stayed may 7th, 2013.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vanu71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_DICLT, General Manager at Days Inn Charlotte Northlake, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thank you for your recent visit to Charlotte,NC.We realize you have many hotels from which to choose when visiting Charlotte,NC and we appreciate your selecting ours. We are sorry that your overall hotel experience was so disappointing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I always stay at this hotel when I come to Charlotte. The staff has always been very nice to me and put me in rooms that were quite. They have an elevator so this not a problem. The rooms on the 3rd floor are very quite and clean and comfortable. They are the friendliest people in the hotel business. I am staying there again this week. The price is nice and I do get a good night of sleep.

Room Tip: Stay on the 3rd floor. The rooms are non-smoking and are cleaner. The rooms are the bottom floor are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_DICLT, General Manager at Days Inn Charlotte Northlake, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and for your kind words regarding your recent stay at Days Inn North Lake .We realize you have many hotels from which to choose when visiting Charlotte, NC so we thank you for selecting ours. We are thrilled that you had such a wonderful experience. We hope to welcome you and your family back in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Too much night noise after the bars closed. Could here the hookers negotiate their price outside our door. Room needed a little TLC.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank RichardR755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_DICLT, General Manager at Days Inn Charlotte Northlake, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thank you for your recent visit to Charlotte,NC.We realize you have many hotels from which to choose when visiting Charlotte,NC and we appreciate your selecting ours. We are sorry that your overall hotel experience was so disappointing.We give 100 percent effort to keep that type of business away from this location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This hotel is very dated. I would stay at the Super 8 right behind it. This motel faces a noisey highway, and the door does not fit right so you see light and hear noise threw it. There was garbage in the bathroom garbage, sink was dirty and bath tub, toilet stained with cigarette burns. The carpet was never vaccumed. I actually thought we were going to have bed bugs crawl on us.
Please do not stay here, it needs renovations very badly, or needs to be ripped down. The breakfast was horrible in the morning. Bagel, the apple juice was so sweet it killed your teeth.
We left hungry.. If someone has given this hotel a good review, then they have never stayed in a half decent hotel before.

Room Tip: My tip is not to even look at this property
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ctanski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_DICLT, Manager at Days Inn Charlotte Northlake, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you for your recent visit to Charlotte,NC.We realize you have many hotels from which to choose when visiting Charlotte,NC and we appreciate your selecting ours. We are sorry that your overall hotel experience was so disappointing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Dianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GM_DICLT, Manager at Days Inn Charlotte Northlake, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Overall, good value for the money. Cleanliness of the room was not up to standard as there was paper left under the desk from previous occupant. Room was worn and in need of some TLC. Staff was very courteous. Breakfast was a big disappointment, especially for my wife. no milk or bread options - only homogenized and white bread, no fruit, yogurt or bagels.
Ice machine on second floor an inconvenience for guests on 1st floor.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank BigBear1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_DICLT, General Manager at Days Inn Charlotte Northlake, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Thank you for your recent visit to Charlotte,NC.We realize you have many hotels from which to choose when visiting Charlotte,NC and we appreciate your selecting ours. We are sorry that your overall hotel experience was so disappointing. I will take necessary action to correct issues you experienced.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
3.7 mi away
Continental Inn
Continental Inn
#120 of 180 in Charlotte
54 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn Northlake
Sleep Inn Northlake
#103 of 180 in Charlotte
240 reviews
6.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#132 of 180 in Charlotte
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Charlotte - Airport
0.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charlotte/Northlake
3.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Charlotte UNCC
Red Roof Inn Charlotte UNCC
#127 of 180 in Charlotte
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Charlotte Northlake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Charlotte Northlake

Address: 4924 Sunset Rd, Charlotte, NC 28269-2747
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 180 Hotels in Charlotte
Price Range: $59 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Charlotte Northlake 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Days Inn - Northlake is located in North Charlotte at exit 16-A on I-77. We are 3 miles from I-85 and 34 miles from I-40. The Metrolina Expo is only 1 mile away. Attractions within 20 minutes include Paramount Carowinds, Ericsson Stadium, Lowe's Motor Speedway, Charlotte Coliseum, Blockbuster Pavilion, Lake Norman and Lake Wylie , Latta Plantation, Discovery Place, Concord Mills and Stowe Botanical Gardens. Just 10 minutes away you will find North Park Business Complex, Research Business Park, First Union Complex, IBM, Bank of America and the University of North Carolina at Charlotte. A free continental breakfast is served from 6:00AM to 9:00AM daily. Our indoor pool is open from 10:00AM to 10:00PM daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Charlotte Northlake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Charlotte / Sunset Road Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing