We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arts in Charlotte”

Blumenthal Performing Arts Center
Ranked #10 of 179 things to do in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Presenting the best of broadway close to home. Upcoming events include The Full Monty, 42nd Street and more!
Ashburn, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Arts in Charlotte”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Having lived in New York City, London and the Washington, D.C. area, I have grown accustomed to and expect the "best" when it comes to theatre, musical performances, dance and any cultural event. I was pleasantly surprised by the Blumenthal; the theatre is easy to get to in uptown Charlotte with participating parking garages providing free parking, offers reasonably priced tickets, the staff is friendly and the venue is modern and comfortable. Recently I saw "Sleeping Beauty" which was a feast for the eyes and ears, the combination of classic ballet and modern dance was fantastic--all to the music of Tchaikovsky. I have already purchased tickets for the Nutcracker Ballet next month and am looking forward to returning to the Blumenthal.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank MelanieW542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    74
    14
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, North Carolina, USA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Opera Carolina”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I've been to the Blumenthal PAC in years past... it is still a beautiful facility. I enjoyed introducing my grandchild to Opera Carolina with this production of Aida.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Venue”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Highly recommend any performance at the Blumenthal. Acoustics are particularily suited for Symphony. A+++

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lion King”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We had seen this show in Greenville, SC, but wanted to take four other family members to see it. This was the closest location to us. Lovely theatre. Sound was good. We had good grand tier seats and could see everything. Staff helpful, especially afterward getting us back to our parking.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jjmsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Charlotte's”
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I have seen numerous productions at all of Blumenthal's facilities. I never worry about the quality or variety of the productions they present. The touring companies are always spectacular, BUT if you are interested in a real slice of Charlotte- check out one of the local theatre companies often presented at Spirit Square in either the Duke Energy or McGlohan Theatres. Be sure to check out the Light Factory (photography) while at Spirit Square (admission is free!)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Meredith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blumenthal Performing Arts Center also viewed

 

Been to Blumenthal Performing Arts Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing