We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccable, friendly service; very nice hotel”
Review of The Dunhill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Dunhill Hotel
Ranked #49 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Impeccable, friendly service; very nice hotel”
Reviewed October 21, 2010

I very much enjoyed my 3-night stay at the Dunhill. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. My single room was quite small, but clean, cozy and quaint, with a four-poster bed. I enjoyed the complimentary beverages in the small refrigerator, and the tea/coffee service near the front desk. Their restaurant was just re-opening and my colleagues and I felt the portions were way too small (but the food was tasty). There is a fitness center off the premises and they supposedly will take you there if you request (I didn't have time for this).

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    109
    40
    14
    12
See reviews for
56
178
23
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa Ontario
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2010

I reviewed this hotel last year and just want to confirm it is even better. The hotel is spruced up here and there and it looks great. The service is superior in every way. I stayed one week and came back after 12 days for a second week. They reserved my favorite room and greeted me warmly on my return. I travelled with my husband and child and they were treated like visiting royalty. The bar is great -- really friendly bar tenders, great choice of wines, comfortable seating. Just as we left, they began renovations to turn the restaurant into a new space focussed on local, fresh food. It sounded really appealing. It is located in the middle of downtown so convenient to many things. I can't think of anywhere I would rather stay. I return regularly to Charlotte for business and I look forward to staying at the Dunhill because the rooms are well appointed, the beds are great, it is quiet and the service is warm and attentive. What else could you ask for?

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CapitalMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2010

Our first trip to Charlotte, NC was greatly enhanced by staying at the Dunhill Hotel. Friendly, helpful staff with each encounter. Beautifully renovated. Comfortable, with old charm. Private, Immaculately clean rooms. Big screen t.v.: good wi-fi. Substantial delicious complimentary breakfast at their attached Monticello's restaurant, with local farm eggs and sausage/bacon. Also, serves vegetarian meals.
Fantastic location in downtown, across the street from Discovery Place interactive museum. Walking distance to a variety of restaurants, museums, parks. They also offered free shuttle service to area sites, fitness center, amtrak, etc. Convenient parking deck in back of hotel. We're already planning to return to Dunhill Hotel soon!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nandiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2010

Traveling to Myrtle Beach, Stopped here for a visit. This hotel was a real pleasure...wonderful reception, delightful staff, and very clean....refreshing charm throughout the hotel.....convenient location...loved our stay!!! Best value in uptown Charlotte!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gayanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2010

We stayed at the Dunhill hotel to attend the Mary Poppins broadway show and to go to a Panther game. The location of the hotel was SO convenient. We were able to walk to the Belk Theatre and to Bank of America Stadium. We loved the historic charm and history of the Dunhill and the customer service was top notch! Many great restaurant are also within walking distance. This will be our place to stay in downtown Charlotte!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueEllen_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2010

The Dunhill Hotel was a wonderful place to stay. I recently met some friends there to celebrate our friend getting married. It is a great location to lots of attractions downtown. The staff is friendly and very helpful. The rooms were comfortable and allowed you to relax and feel like you were on a getaway. I would recommed it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aea1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2010

Our daughter was married in July at a historical church located one block from the Dunhill Hotel. In keeping with the historical theme of the wedding, the majority of the large wedding party, extended family, and personal friends stayed at the Dunhill for the weekend of the wedding. The entire hotel staff (including housekeeping) provided an excellent service. The staff bent over backwards to accommodate all of our many requests throughout the weekend. The Monticello Restaurant, which is part of the hotel, provided excellent meals and service as well. Special thanks to Kandace Stafford, hotel event coordinator, for all of her patience throughout the year of planning it took to make our daughter's special weekend come true. We highly recommend the Dunhill if you are looking for a truly unique experience in downtown Charlotte.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteWedding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#43 of 178 in Charlotte
1,968 reviews
Third Ward
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Second Ward
Westin Charlotte
Westin Charlotte
#33 of 178 in Charlotte
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dunhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunhill Hotel

Property: The Dunhill Hotel
Address: 237 N Tryon St, Charlotte, NC 28202-2136
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Fourth Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#35 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dunhill Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Decades before The Dunhill Hotel would open, local architect Louis Asbury Sr. was entranced by the great Italian craftsmen who created cathedrals famous for their soaring, elegant roof lines. Today, The Dunhill Hotel stands distinct on the Charlotte skyline, an amalgam of American, British, and Italian influences, something those with an eye for period detail can detect. Opened in 1929 as the Mayfair Manor apartment hotel, with half of its original 100 rooms permanent residences, today's Dunhill Hotel is a thoughtful evolution. A full restoration was recently completed, and various on-going aesthetic improvements all share a common goal--to celebrate the original vision of Mr. Asbury, with a nod to the needs of the modern traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your The Dunhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunhill Hotel Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing