We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (486)
Filter reviews
486 results
Traveler rating
285
120
50
15
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
285
120
50
15
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews historic hotel farm to table turn down service london taxi discovery place downtown charlotte keurig coffee maker lobby bar tryon street street noise within walking distance southern charm great downtown location corner room queen bed mini fridge complimentary breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 486 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2018

Went down for a four day trip. On arriving Friday evening we adjusted the temperature in our room due to it being so hot. Summer time it was humid and running well into the 90's the whole weekend. Come to find out the AC was broken, by accident on running into the Facility Manager we found out there were box fans available on request. Which helped but was not efficient.
There are no ice machines! I had to call down for small buckets of ice to be brought to the room. It was more of an annoyance. I travel a lot and always utilize a lot of ice.

***The room was non-smoking and yet had the after odor of lingering cigarette smoke. I woke up every day congested with a headache. The fan in the room kicking up the smell did not help.
The location is good for the restaurants in the surrounding area but not worth the money.

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimberly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen B, Front Office Manager at The Dunhill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Kimberly D,

Thank you for choosing the Dunhill Hotel and taking the opportunity to review your experience. We are sorry to read that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We continually work to improve the guest experience at the hotel and hope you give us an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2018

The magic of this experience began at check-in when Derek and Jamilla and other staff greeted me like a favorite aunt they had been expecting for Thanksgiving Dinner. The room I was assigned was charming and comfortable. It overlooked the Discovery Place Aquarium. Breakfast was sufficient and served in a quaint parlor. I loved being escorted to the Convention Center each day in the Dunhill's 1940s sedan. The only complaint I have is the moldy odor emanating from the air conditioning unit. It was a very pleasant stay and I do recommend this centrally located hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank srdavis2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen B, Front Office Manager at The Dunhill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear srdavis2018,

Thank you for choosing the Dunhill Hotel for your most recent stay in Charlotte. We sincerely appreciate you taking the opportunity to compliment Derek, Jamilla and staff and will pass your comments on to them as well. We are sorry to read that there was an odor and ensure that we will remedy that issue prior to your next visit with us.

We are happy that you had an opportunity to take advantage of our complimentary "London Taxi" and please note that it will be at your service during your next stay with us. Thank you again for your wonderful comments. We can't wait to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2018

We had a very pleasant stay at the Dunhill Hotel. It is centrally located in the heart of Charlotte, walking distance to many attractions including the Spectrum, the Discovery Place Science Museum, the NASCAR Hall of Fame, the Mint Museum, the light rail blue line and much more. The lobby is elegantly appointed with custom furniture and is accessed from both Tryon Street on the front as well as the adjacent parking garage.

We stayed two nights and found the service to be excellent from the front desk clerk to the concierge to the housekeeping and complementary breakfast staff. The concierge suggested some local sites we could visit and was very informative as we didn't make any advance plans except for an event at the Spectrum. Getting to and from the Spectrum was simple on foot from the hotel. The hotel also offers complimentary transportation within the inner loop in it's novel British taxi.

The complimentary breakfast exceeded our expectations and the hotel restaurant, The Asbury, offered a wide variety of interesting and fresh dishes.

Our beds were very comfortable as were the pillows and the air conditioning. The room was very quiet as well. There was plenty of hot water and good water pressure. Overall, the hotel was very clean and pleasantly decorated.

I highly recommend the Dunhill Hotel.

Room Tip: choose a higher floor room for a better city view
  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen B, Front Office Manager at The Dunhill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Beth B,

Thank you for choosing the Dunhill Hotel and taking the opportunity to review your experience with us. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed multiple aspects of your stay and can't wait to welcome you back on your next visit to Charlotte.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2018

Room was very small and dark with an air conditioner that was marginal at best. Very disappointed after reading some other reviews. Staff was professional and breakfast was good. Hallway on the fith floor was very small and dark and was not inviting.

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mgunn6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen B, Front Office Manager at The Dunhill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear mgunn6,

Thank you for choosing the Dunhill Hotel for your most recent stay in Charlotte. I am disappointed to read that your stay did not meet your expectations. We appreciate you taking the opportunity to share your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2018 via mobile

The Dunhill is charming, elegant and stylish! Built in the ‘20s, but up to date. The lobby and lounge are full of historic memorabilia and make you feel like you’re in an old movie. Our room was very comfortable, and the bathroom was modern and convenient. The hotel staff were gracious and accommodating. There wasn’t a microwave in our room, but the desk staff were happy to reheat our leftovers for us upon request. We enjoyed a ride in the hotel’s shuttle (can’t remember the make of the car, but it was so cute!)

Stayed: June 2018, traveled with friends
Thank SDbeech12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen B, Front Office Manager at The Dunhill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear SDbeech12,

Thank you for choosing the Dunhill Hotel and taking the opportunity to review your experience. We are happy to read that you enjoyed the decor and comfort offered during your stay and hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to Charlotte.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews