We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Find!”
Review of The Dunhill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Dunhill Hotel
Ranked #50 of 180 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 23, 2013

I stumbled upon this hotel when I had a problem at the hotel I was staying at and they recommended the Harvest Moon restaurant for breakfast, which is the restaurant at the Dunhill. When I walked into the lobby the old world charm of the Dunhill was very comforting and I asked about room availability. Luckily they had a room at a very reasonable rate, so I checked out of the other place and moved to the Dunhill, and I am glad that I did. The staff is extremely accommodating and helpful, the room and bed in particular very comfortable, and the location is terrific. We were in town for the Saints-Panthers game and the hotel is within walking distance of the stadium (they also offer a shuttle around town which we didn't use but is of course convenient), and even closer to EpiCenter and the Time Warner Cable Arena where the Bobcats play. The Harvest Moon restaurant offered tasty fare and we even got a complimentary breakfast with our stay. Quaint, safe, comfortable, elegant, this hotel really has it all and I would definitely recommend it and stay again while visiting Charlotte. A+!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYDrummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (444)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 444 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2013

The Dunhill is a great little boutique hotel located in the center of Uptown Charlotte. It is very quaint with a lot of character compared to the typical brand name hotels. The hotel is walking distance to every thing you could want or need Uptown. We were in town for the Monday Night Football game and it was a very easy walk to the stadium. Every employee I encountered was very helpful, polite, and enthusiastic. Great service overall.

Our room was very clean and the bathroom very spacious. Lots of room in the shower, and the bathroom was adequately lit. The mattress was pretty soft, which I don't prefer, and did not sleep well. However, the room (10th floor) was very quiet with minimal street noise and virtually no noise from other guests. Overall, we were happy with our stay and glad that we chose to stay at the Dunhill!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krisgoulet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I stayed at the Dunhill recently and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Since I visit Charlotte fairly often on business, I've probably been here on half a dozen tomes over the pas year or so. Although this is not a 4/5 star place like to Ritz (where I also stay) it is more than adequate. The staff are always polite and helpful and the rooms, although not huge, are fine - although I do sometimes wish they's ditch the 'brown' decor. What made it for me this time though was the barman who couldn't have been more friendly - if only all hotels had such an asset! As also noted, the location is very good if you are in Charlotte on business, since it places you firmly in the centre of the city.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A1_and_A2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Dunhill is one of those hotels in a "historical buidling" where a few modern upgrades like AC and WIFI were added. The room i stayed in (402) was ok sized, the bed was comfortable, the shower had hot water, and the flat screen was big enough. I was unfortunately next to the elevator which makes for a bit more noisy an environment and general noise insulation was average. The restaurant is a big plus - i enjoyed both a great dinner and great breakfast. Service was efficient and friendly.

Dunhill is an alternative to more modern facilities like the Hilton City (in which i also stayed) for travelers looking for more "personality" hotels. My room was smalle, the bathroom as well, it was a bit more noisy....but i had the impression i slept in a place with a soul!

Advice: if you can, avoid rooms ending in "02" which are next to the elevators

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank Nick of Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We chose the Dunhill Hotel over the more glitzy Charlotte hotels because it was in the centre of town, it had valet parking and it wasn't too expensive. And we felt it had more character than many of the others. We didn't care that it had no pool or outside space, we weren't in Charlotte to swim! Our room was quiet - at least outside was fairly quiet, give or take the odd siren during the night - it was the air conditioning whirring away that took some getting used to. The restaurant alongside the hotel was, in our opinion better than it looked. It had the decor and feel of a motorway cafe which was sad because the good food they served there deserved better. The breakfasts were particularly good. The young reception, bar and restaurant staff were all charming, efficient and friendly....so were the valet parking chaps [mustn't leave them out!] We would certainly recommend The Dunhill to friends who like us needed a two night stopover in this pleasant business city.

Room Tip: Sacrifice the view for quiet! Ask for a quiet room, probably at the back rather than on the main st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WiffyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Downtown Charlotte has a slew of towering modern hotels - the Omni, the Marriott, the Hilton, etc., but the Dunhill is unique. Only 10 stories high and with 6 rooms to a floor, it is a little gem of history - 1929, apparently, is old for Charlotte - in an otherwise modern landscape of concrete, steel and glass.
Is it flawless? No. But it is a very pleasant place to stay. It is reasonably priced and right in the middle of downtown Charlotte, within very easy walking distance of a large number of bars and restaurants of all stripes.
It is a classic little hotel of the type that were in most American small cities in the first half of the last century and that feels quite European. It has a pleasant lobby with a small but respectable lobby bar, the staff are attentive, and the feeling is comfortable but not intimidating. The hotel restaurant is the Harvest Moon Grille, which is adjacent and which prides itself on local fare and makes for interesting room service.
Our room, a corner room tucked away from the rest of the floor, was not large, but there was plenty of space. It had a Keurig coffee maker, a little refrigerator, and a large, flat-screen t.v., as well as a clock that included an iPod dock. The hotel is one of the few in that price range that still seems to offer turndown service.
The bathroom was large and perfectly adequate, although a night light would have been appreciated because the bathroom was as dark as a cave in the middle of the night.
Heat was a bit of problem. Despite having something that might be mistaken for a thermostat, the heat was either on or off, which made the first night a bit uncomfortable and the rest of the weekend something of a balancing act. It was not a serious issue; just an annoyance.
Noise from the street was another minor issue. Although the minimal number of rooms on each floor made the floor generally quiet, the hotel's location on the corner of Tryon and 6th Streets made for a fair amount of street noise from emergency vehicles, even on the sixth floor. Definitely ask for a room above the fifth floor.
The bed was comfortable - not boutique comfortable, but comfortable - the bathroom amenities were pleasant, and the furniture and decor were more interesting than the usual big-box hotels. And the location is great. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose a room above the fifth floor if you can, and the corner rooms (501, 601, 701, etc.) seem quit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I stayed here for one night, a Saturday, to go to the football game the following day. I loved most everything about it. First, it very much reminds me of hotels in London, and I think that has been done on purpose. The major difference though is that these rooms are much larger. The staff was very nice and helpful. I would say my favorite thing about the hotel though is the location, right in the center of the city, walking distance to most everything you need!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pike17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Fourth Ward
The Ivey's Hotel
The Ivey's Hotel
#1 of 180 in Charlotte
166 reviews
Second Ward
The Westin Charlotte
The Westin Charlotte
#34 of 180 in Charlotte
1,578 reviews
Third Ward
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Second Ward
Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dunhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunhill Hotel

Address: 237 N Tryon St, Charlotte, NC 28202-2136
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Fourth Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#35 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range: $143 - $454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dunhill Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Decades before The Dunhill Hotel would open, local architect Louis Asbury Sr. was entranced by the great Italian craftsmen who created cathedrals famous for their soaring, elegant roof lines. Today, The Dunhill Hotel stands distinct on the Charlotte skyline, an amalgam of American, British, and Italian influences, something those with an eye for period detail can detect. Opened in 1929 as the Mayfair Manor apartment hotel, with half of its original 100 rooms permanent residences, today's Dunhill Hotel is a thoughtful evolution. A full restoration was recently completed, and various on-going aesthetic improvements all share a common goal--to celebrate the original vision of Mr. Asbury, with a nod to the needs of the modern traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Dunhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunhill Hotel Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing