We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Well Placed Old Lady” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dunhill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Dunhill Hotel
Ranked #42 of 176 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A Well Placed Old Lady”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We chose the Dunhill Hotel over the more glitzy Charlotte hotels because it was in the centre of town, it had valet parking and it wasn't too expensive. And we felt it had more character than many of the others. We didn't care that it had no pool or outside space, we weren't in Charlotte to swim! Our room was quiet - at least outside was fairly quiet, give or take the odd siren during the night - it was the air conditioning whirring away that took some getting used to. The restaurant alongside the hotel was, in our opinion better than it looked. It had the decor and feel of a motorway cafe which was sad because the good food they served there deserved better. The breakfasts were particularly good. The young reception, bar and restaurant staff were all charming, efficient and friendly....so were the valet parking chaps [mustn't leave them out!] We would certainly recommend The Dunhill to friends who like us needed a two night stopover in this pleasant business city.

Room Tip: Sacrifice the view for quiet! Ask for a quiet room, probably at the back rather than on the main st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WiffyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    107
    37
    13
    11
See reviews for
52
172
21
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
88 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Downtown Charlotte has a slew of towering modern hotels - the Omni, the Marriott, the Hilton, etc., but the Dunhill is unique. Only 10 stories high and with 6 rooms to a floor, it is a little gem of history - 1929, apparently, is old for Charlotte - in an otherwise modern landscape of concrete, steel and glass.
Is it flawless? No. But it is a very pleasant place to stay. It is reasonably priced and right in the middle of downtown Charlotte, within very easy walking distance of a large number of bars and restaurants of all stripes.
It is a classic little hotel of the type that were in most American small cities in the first half of the last century and that feels quite European. It has a pleasant lobby with a small but respectable lobby bar, the staff are attentive, and the feeling is comfortable but not intimidating. The hotel restaurant is the Harvest Moon Grille, which is adjacent and which prides itself on local fare and makes for interesting room service.
Our room, a corner room tucked away from the rest of the floor, was not large, but there was plenty of space. It had a Keurig coffee maker, a little refrigerator, and a large, flat-screen t.v., as well as a clock that included an iPod dock. The hotel is one of the few in that price range that still seems to offer turndown service.
The bathroom was large and perfectly adequate, although a night light would have been appreciated because the bathroom was as dark as a cave in the middle of the night.
Heat was a bit of problem. Despite having something that might be mistaken for a thermostat, the heat was either on or off, which made the first night a bit uncomfortable and the rest of the weekend something of a balancing act. It was not a serious issue; just an annoyance.
Noise from the street was another minor issue. Although the minimal number of rooms on each floor made the floor generally quiet, the hotel's location on the corner of Tryon and 6th Streets made for a fair amount of street noise from emergency vehicles, even on the sixth floor. Definitely ask for a room above the fifth floor.
The bed was comfortable - not boutique comfortable, but comfortable - the bathroom amenities were pleasant, and the furniture and decor were more interesting than the usual big-box hotels. And the location is great. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose a room above the fifth floor if you can, and the corner rooms (501, 601, 701, etc.) seem quit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

I stayed here for one night, a Saturday, to go to the football game the following day. I loved most everything about it. First, it very much reminds me of hotels in London, and I think that has been done on purpose. The major difference though is that these rooms are much larger. The staff was very nice and helpful. I would say my favorite thing about the hotel though is the location, right in the center of the city, walking distance to most everything you need!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pike17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Last week my wife and I stayed at the Dunhill and had a good experience. As others have noted, it is an old hotel (we liked that), but we did not think it looked out of date. The accommodations, service, and location suited us perfectly. We ate breakfast there and were pleased with the food and the service.

Once we came in we didn't use the car until we were ready to return home the next day. We were within walking distance of all the major shopping, restaurants, and sights in the downtown area. We ate dinner at the Capital Grille which is on the other end of the same block on which the Dunhill is located. After dinner we attended an opera at the Belk Theater which is diagonally across from the Grille. Then we had only a one block walk back to the Dunhill after the opera. I am happy to recommend this hotel to others who have business or recreational interests in the downtown area and enjoy the warmth and charm of a boutique hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankBSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Dunhill for our 15th anniversary and had a fantastic time. The staff was attentive and professional and the hotel is in a fabulous location for sightseeing and eating out. They went out of the way to get us settled in and offer dining recommendations. There is a restaurant attached which offers local fare and a great bar in the lobby with live music and an expert bartender, we highly recommend and will stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shanora K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenoir, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Perfect location and wonderful atmosphere. My wife and I were in town for dinner and a concert and we're very pleased. Not our first stay and definitely not our last. Nice amenities for the price. Great lobby bar.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cjnc1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at The Dunhill for 3 nights. It is a boutique hotel - there's no doubt about that - and for some reason, that tends to be a disqualifying factor with many of my fellow business travelers. But if you're one who doesn't mind, or even likes, boutique hotels, please keep reading. The room was small but very clean. The bed was comfy, although mine was definitely not on the firm side. Bathroom was above average. Good shower, sink, hair dryer. Storage was small - had to improvise a bit for putting away shirts/socks/underwear in the TV armoire. But the hotel provided comp sodas in the fridge. I enjoyed the comp breakfast each morning, and it looked like a lot of other guests did as well. The hotel also has a free shuttle to Uptown locations. Everyone I met on staff was professional and courteous, including the wait staff at Harvest Moon restaurant. It's not The Ritz or Four Seasons, but for those of us who don't need the über-pretension of a 5-star hotel, The Dunhill is certainly a great option. I'd stay there again, no question.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank AZFrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#35 of 176 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,845 reviews
Second Ward
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Westin Charlotte
Westin Charlotte
#29 of 176 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
Third Ward
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dunhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunhill Hotel

Property: The Dunhill Hotel
Address: 237 N Tryon St, Charlotte, NC 28202-2136
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Fourth Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#35 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dunhill Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Decades before The Dunhill Hotel would open, local architect Louis Asbury Sr. was entranced by the great Italian craftsmen who created cathedrals famous for their soaring, elegant roof lines. Today, The Dunhill Hotel stands distinct on the Charlotte skyline, an amalgam of American, British, and Italian influences, something those with an eye for period detail can detect. Opened in 1929 as the Mayfair Manor apartment hotel, with half of its original 100 rooms permanent residences, today's Dunhill Hotel is a thoughtful evolution. A full restoration was recently completed, and various on-going aesthetic improvements all share a common goal--to celebrate the original vision of Mr. Asbury, with a nod to the needs of the modern traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Dunhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunhill Hotel Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing