We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful staff, nice hotel, rooms could use a little refreshing”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Dunhill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Dunhill Hotel
Ranked #42 of 177 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Freeport, Maine
Level Contributor
102 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff, nice hotel, rooms could use a little refreshing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed in room 1001 for three nights. Queen bed with small sitting area and workspace. Good light in the room, top floor of hotel, end room. Good bedding. Tho on top floor, I heard lots of street noise and sirens. The hotel itself was quiet.

I arrived around noon and was greeted warmly, upgraded and able to check in early. Everyone who works at the hotel is lovely and helpful. I did not encounter one person who was rude or apathetic. The complimentary breakfast was very good for a free breakfast. Free bottled water and Diet Coke in room + coffee maker + small fridge.

Uptown is a nice area. I was surprised that while there's plenty of retail space, there's no shopping to speak of. It's all banks and restaurants. I was asked for money on the street every day, all day. The area feels fairly safe.

The rooms could use some freshening - the carpets have seen better days. Better lighting in the bathroom would be nice. Better towels, too.

Ordered room service one night and it was just so-so.

Housekeeping was a bit erratic: Some standard items missing (shower cap), turn down service skipped one night (no chocolates, but tip was taken). The room was very clean, so it was an amenities issue, not a cleanliness issue.

Room Tip: room 1001 is off on its own
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaineIzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    108
    37
    13
    11
See reviews for
52
173
21
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Just spent a weekend in Charlotte and stayed at The Dunhill. I chose this hotel over the big chain hotels due to the excellent reviews and because I feel the smaller hotels provide a more personal experience. The Dunhill exceeded expectations. The staff was extremely nice, the rooms although small, were really comfortable and well appointed. Location was perfect. The breakfast at Harvest Moon Grill was great. The best part of our stay? The hotel lobby bar. We were there in a Saturday night and Pete was our bartender. He knew everyone! His customer service was amazing and had customers coming in who lived in Charlotte that come in just to see him. We had a blast! When you can sit at a bar and you and the other customers as well as the bartender pass around pictures of your pets and exchange business cards, you know you've found a great place and a great bartender.
I highly recommend The Dunhill. Location, service, restaurant and rooms will not disappoint.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Barbara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

I spent a few days in Charlotte for work and chose the Dunhill based on a friend's recommendation. What a fantastic place! I was worried about parking, but it was quick and right behind the hotel. The staff was incredibly friendly and had me checked in to my room in minutes. The room was quite comfortable and had all of the necessary amenities. The best part was the location - downtown Charlotte was right outside the front door!

Great place if you're visiting Charlotte and enjoy the downtown scene.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florida G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Here, you'll get what you expect…and maybe a bit more. It's an old building that exudes charm. The staff is friendly and professional and, most importantly, seems to really care. The hotel is in a great location that allows you to walk to nearly any part of Charlotte's downtown scene. Parking is made easy right next door and is offered at an affordable price, too.
You can't compare the hotel to Four-Star Resort; it's not that. It does, though, deliver a four-star experience for a traveler looking for a charming old hotel in a great downtown location.
The receptionist was kind enough to give us a complimentary breakfast for a small reservation error. We ate at the adjacent hotel and had the BEST biscuit I have ever tasted. The name of it is Harvest Moon Grill. You don't want to miss it.

Room Tip: It's a little loud because you're in the center of downtown and the building is not very sou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longs, South Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

The most comfortable beds ever! Convenient location in downtown Charlotte. Within walking distance to everything. Great restaurant. Staff was friendly and went out of their way to make our stay fantastic. Will definitely stay there agin.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bryn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC USA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I recently stayed overnight at the Dunhill. The service was excellent. My room and bathroom were very clean. The atmosphere is quite charming.The rooms are on the small side, but you cannot beat the location for staying in the city center of Charlotte. Breakfast at the Harvest Moon restaurant is delicious! The hotel is downtown, so there is some street noise, but not more than one would expect in an city location. I would recommend the Dunhill to any out of town guests who might visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MFol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

On frequent weekly visits to Charlotte, I stayed at the Dunhill which is at a convenient location to my place of work. It is a historic hotel with beautiful albeit small rooms. Clean bathrooms, free soda and cookies. Extremely courteous staff. The bed is really soft and may not be ideal for those who prefer otherwise.

I liked it a lot for its central location in "uptown" Charlotte, and also it's vintage and historical presence.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neodepth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#39 of 177 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
Third Ward
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown
Third Ward
Courtyard Charlotte City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dunhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunhill Hotel

Property: The Dunhill Hotel
Address: 237 N Tryon St, Charlotte, NC 28202-2136
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Fourth Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#35 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dunhill Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Decades before The Dunhill Hotel would open, local architect Louis Asbury Sr. was entranced by the great Italian craftsmen who created cathedrals famous for their soaring, elegant roof lines. Today, The Dunhill Hotel stands distinct on the Charlotte skyline, an amalgam of American, British, and Italian influences, something those with an eye for period detail can detect. Opened in 1929 as the Mayfair Manor apartment hotel, with half of its original 100 rooms permanent residences, today's Dunhill Hotel is a thoughtful evolution. A full restoration was recently completed, and various on-going aesthetic improvements all share a common goal--to celebrate the original vision of Mr. Asbury, with a nod to the needs of the modern traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dunhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunhill Hotel Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing