We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of The Dunhill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Dunhill Hotel
Ranked #49 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Virgina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

When we first pulled up here I was intimidated but from the guy working in the garage to the the person working the front desk service was exceptional. The bed was so soft, the blankets were made of down, there was a freakin Keurig!! :) The room was so lovely. Now I know some people on here are sticklers for certain details so yes there was a crack in the toilet that was just a problem cosmetically. Also there was a bus stop outside so I heard it all night. These things didn't bother me at all-to be in a historic, immaculate hotel I realize that it wont be as quiet as the Hilton. But the Hilton lacks character and the Dunhill has plenty. We will return!!! Oh and GREAT location so close to so many great places to eat.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsTarakD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    109
    40
    14
    12
See reviews for
56
178
23
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anderson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Stayed weekend of March 10th at the Dunhill in downtown Charlotte, specifically for attending Jersey Boys at the Belk Theater. The hotel and staff was amazing, rooms were extremely comfortable, bar and restaurant above notch. Excellent experience in a lovely hotel at the perfect location for downtown.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debrab454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

I wasn't expecting such a nice historic place, clean and renovated rooms, nice staff and bartender. They always make sure you are comfertable and attended to. Easy parking. But for 12 dollars a day, it is downtown after all.

Helpful?
1 Thank travellotcities
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We went to Charlotte to see Jersey Boys at the Performing Arts Center and decided to stay here based on the positive reviews. We were not disappointed. Wonderful service, friendly and helpful staff, great little bar for after play drinks. Eat here for breakfast/brunch! Farm to table delicious food! We will return! Hotel is a block from the theatre.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unctheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

The Dunhill was clean and well-furnished, with attractively laid-out rooms and an elegant foyer. The neighbourhood was quiet and easily walkable. Staff were friendly, and the breakfasts were top notch... what a menu!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finzi_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, NC
Level Contributor
94 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We spent the night after attending my wife's annual corporate dinner at the McNinch House restaurant (great place). A previous stay several years ago was a disaster because of a nonfunctioning bath tub water valve so my expectations were not high.

We arrived and found the staff extremely pleasant and willing to help. This is a small historic hotel in the heart of Charlotte. The lobby and restaurant are not large at all but the decor was very nice and the hotel appeared to be in very good repair. Check-in was very quick and parking was extremely handy inside the attached public parking deck.

The room was larger than one would expect from a historic hotel and the bathroom was also relatively large. The room seemed to be in great shape with the exception of some water damage to the ceiling that is bad enough to warrant repair. The bathroom was marble and the tub had a loose water spout and an obvious poor repair to the tub surface. Other than that it was quite nice. The king bed was comfortable and the heating system functioned well. Free Wi-Fi was provided along with a flat screen TV and a small refrigerator stocked with a few waters and soft drinks. Overall I was pleased with the room.

One of the perks of staying at the Dunhill is they will ferry you around the downtown area at no charge. They usually have a London taxi for this purpose but it is currently out for repairs but a van is available. We used the service and were happy with it.

The room came with a complementary breakfast. I assumed this would be a continental breakfast and I was pleased to discover it was a full breakfast - which was quite good. The restaurant is small but the wait staff was excellent and our breakfast arrived promptly.

The Dunhill is certainly worth using if you want to be uptown and are looking for an experience other than what you would get from the larger hotels there. We almost certainly will stay again when we have a reason to spend the night in town. I'd not hesitate to recommend it to family or friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a king bed. Our previous stay was in a room with a queen bed and it was a small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NC_Hiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Our son and his lovely wife were married at the Dunhill Hotel in December, and everyone loved the accommodations, the location in uptown Charlotte, and the staff's attention to detail. The food in the hotel's Harvest Moon Grill was very fresh and innovative, and they did an outstanding job for the reception. In addition, the lobby bar/lounge was perfect for family and friends to gather in before and after the wedding. Room was clean and comfortable, with 4 poster bed and spa shower. We hope to return soon, and recommend it highly.

Room Tip: We had a premium queen room, overlooking the street in front of the hotel. It was spacious, and all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachbaby5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#43 of 178 in Charlotte
1,968 reviews
Third Ward
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Second Ward
Westin Charlotte
Westin Charlotte
#33 of 178 in Charlotte
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dunhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunhill Hotel

Property: The Dunhill Hotel
Address: 237 N Tryon St, Charlotte, NC 28202-2136
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Fourth Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#35 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dunhill Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Decades before The Dunhill Hotel would open, local architect Louis Asbury Sr. was entranced by the great Italian craftsmen who created cathedrals famous for their soaring, elegant roof lines. Today, The Dunhill Hotel stands distinct on the Charlotte skyline, an amalgam of American, British, and Italian influences, something those with an eye for period detail can detect. Opened in 1929 as the Mayfair Manor apartment hotel, with half of its original 100 rooms permanent residences, today's Dunhill Hotel is a thoughtful evolution. A full restoration was recently completed, and various on-going aesthetic improvements all share a common goal--to celebrate the original vision of Mr. Asbury, with a nod to the needs of the modern traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your The Dunhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunhill Hotel Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing