We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kingly Duke”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Duke Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 7 Charlotte B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Homer, Alaska
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Kingly Duke”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

** As of late January, the back garden was being overhauled so you might see piles of dirt and hear backhoe noise on that side of the property until 5:00pm, as we did. **

This great old house tucked in an elegant enclave is ideal for anyone visiting Carolinas Medical Center, a five- or seven-minute walk away. We had a huge king room with a big balcony porch that was too cold and too noisy to use.

Pros: Style, comfort, plate of afternoon cookies.

Cons: Far from downtown, very high ceilinged rooms hard to heat during cold snap, not a hotel so no bar or restaurant.

If you happen to be two men with a reservation for one bed, you may get the receptionist we had who momentarily looked as though we asked where to rent a pogo stick for our pet mosquito. We'd grown used to that reaction in China and Myanmar but it was funny to find it again in Charlotte. Overall, the staff was very helpful calling taxis for us and giving directions to walk to Harris Teeter.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hapness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    33
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
18
81
6
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
332 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

What a beautiful B&B -- really an upscale inn -- in a lovely part of Charlotte. Will definitely return! Hate to give it too rave a review because there are few rooms and we may not be able to make a reservation when we return. (2015 is the 100th anniversary of the home that Doris Duke's father built so there is a lot of major yard work/bulldozers during the day.) Beautiful grounds -- look forward to being here in the spring.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky F, General Manager at Duke Mansion Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for your kind review! We look forward to having you back with us in the spring.
And yes, we are in the process up updating our 4 ½ acres of gardens so there is currently a lot of activity on the grounds. We decided to tackle tis project in the colder months so we can get the hardscapes and big plantings in before the spring. You will see updates to our Brooks Courtyard and the installation of the McGuire Lawn directly behind The Duke Mansion. We can’t wait to show them off! As mentioned, this is in preparation for our 100th anniversary which takes place in 2015 and it could not be done without the generous donations of our supporters.
See you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC Metro area
Level Contributor
143 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Recently spent 3 nights here in King bed room with porch. The room was very nice, clean and well decorated. Everything here is upper end, no shortcuts taken. Bed was comfortable, pillows were soft, and quality linens. Bathroom was good size with its own heater (needed it as we stayed in Jan during a cold spell). Flat screen tv is off to one side of the bed. The house is beautiful and nicely decorated. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Upon arrival, we notices the bathroom sink was very slow to drain. We mentioned this to the front desk and the manager was at our door within 5 minutes taking care of it. Coffee and ice water available 24 hours in the main hallway, with cookies in the evening. Breakfast was the best. Made to order from the menu, has everything you could want. Also, the breakfast seating area is another part of the house that is very nice, with a fireplace and nice views of the grounds. The house is in easy walking distance to some local restaurants and the neighborhood is beautiful to walk around. Great stay, one of the best inns we've ever been at. Would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mkjbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky F, General Manager at Duke Mansion Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
I’m so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you back soon – perhaps in the warmer months so you can enjoy our newly renovated gardens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brazil
Level Contributor
148 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

This is a jaw droppingly gorgeous property. We spent the night on a long layover before going to New Orleans.
The hotel is a classic Southern Belle. Beuatiful marble floors , chandeliers , fountains and gardens.

We stayed in a King Room with a sun porch. The room was spacious and decorated with lovely antiques. The bed was very comfortable with lots of pillows and linens of a high thread count.

The porch was so charming and I wish we could have stayed longer to enjoy it.

The breakfast , which is included , is incredible. It was served in the solarium and made to order. i selected the cinnamon french toast , served with bacon. The server was very professional and friendly.

The hotel is located in a beautiful residential neighborhood. It is in walking distance of some very nice restaurants.

The only issue we had was with the room temp , which apparently was acting up . They gave us an immediate discount and gave us the orientation to turn off the thermostat and just open the windows , which worked out fine.

A great stay, wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brazilgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky F, General Manager at Duke Mansion Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
The French toast is one of my favorite dishes as well! And who doesn't love bacon? Thank you for feedback on the temperature controls. We are updating our HVAC system in this historic home. We have recently installed new mechanical systems and are in the process of installing new thermostats in each of the guest rooms. We should have all of the rooms completed by February for better control of temperature.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

Truth be told - the photos don't really do this place justice - when I rolled up at night time and was greeted by the stunning water feature with the glowing white mansion in the background, my jaw dropped. Surrounded by trees and sweeping gardens, the entire grounds and structure itself is gorgeous - a place where old meets new.

The rooms have a similar motif - some things have been modernized, while some aspects are original. The windows have old-fashioned shutters and you use a real physical key to get into the your room. The huge bathrooms feature tubs perfect for relaxing baths. The bed was really comfortable and I slept incredibly well.

The next morning came the real treat....breakfast! Duke's Mansion really knows how to feed you and offers a variety of options - powdered sugar waffles, scrambled eggs, bacon, season potatoes, grits, tasty sausages and perfectly done eggs benedict. They also have cold cereals and continental style pastries too.

The staff is truly friendly and the definition of southern hospitality. All of the personnel I interacted with went out of their way to help with bags, give me directions and were able to share key facts about the mansion. Everyone was so accommodating.

It's a great place for events as well - I was able to host a 30-person training here and the rooms are prefect - it already includes a built in sound system and projector and the team here will set the room any way you like. The hugh ceilings and tall windows let in a lot of natural light and create memorable and inviting experience.

This is a great alternative to a hotel and different way to explore all Charlotte has to offer. You won't be disappointed if you check it out.

Room Tip: All the rooms have the same standards amenitities, but are differently shaped as the architecture of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cinnastickz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

My wife and I discovered this jewel set in the midst of a residential oasis. We had a fabulous room, the service was impeccable, the hospitality was warm and gracious, breakfast was amazing (cheese grits at their most decadent), exploring the city nearby was convenient, and leaving was difficult. What more can you ask for?

Room Tip: Rooms with a sleeping porch are amazingly fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
366 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

And we have stayed in a lot of rooms in a lot of countries. The Duke Mansion was originally the home of a Mr. Duke, a very wealthy industrialist, entrepreneur and benefactor of Duke University. Over the years the house has seen many owners, upgrades and renovations. It has seen some bad times and some good times. Now operated by a trust, it has been superbly restored to its former glory. it is set in an elegant residential area and has lovely gardens to stroll in.
We opted for a room with porch and, in one of those quirks of booking priorities, we ended up with an upgrade. It must rank as one of the best rooms we have ever stayed in, large, airy and tastefully decorated. The enclosed porch had its own swing and rocking chair. The bathroom, about the size of Belgium, had everything including a jetted tub. There were twin showers. There was a complimentary coffee and cookie table in the hall of our floor. Breakfast was very well done with lots of choices, hot and cold, but not one of those stale buffet affairs. Breakfast came to order served with a helping of good cheer.
We would absolutely and unreservedly recommend this bed and breakfast..

Room Tip: If it doesn't break the bank go for a corner porch room, pamper yourself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJ&ERtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Westin Charlotte
Westin Charlotte
#29 of 177 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,483 reviews
First Ward
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
#18 of 177 in Charlotte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#38 of 177 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Fourth Ward
The Dunhill Hotel
The Dunhill Hotel
#43 of 177 in Charlotte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke Mansion Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke Mansion Bed and Breakfast

Property: Duke Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Address: 400 Hermitage Rd, Charlotte, NC 28207-1842 (Formerly White Oaks Conference Center)
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Duke Mansion Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1915, this historic home in Charlotte, North Carolina has 20 unique guest rooms. All have queen or king size beds with private bath. A full cooked to order breakfast is also included. While at The Duke Mansion, stroll our four and a half acres of beautifully maintained grounds or relax on the front porch in a rocking chair. Find yourself in Southern Splendor for a weekend getaway or for business trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Duke Mansion Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Mansion Hotel Charlotte
Duke Mansion b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing