We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dump, don't stay!!!!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Suites Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Comfort Suites Airport
Ranked #73 of 176 Hotels in Charlotte
Miramar Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Dump, don't stay!!!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We just returned home from Charlotte and Asheville, NC this past Sunday. We spent two horrible nights in this hotel near the Charlotte Airport. Being only minutes away from our daughters, and traveling with our two pups, the reviews were favorable for this hotel chain. IT WAS A DUMP....I even took pictures to share but can't add them here. The reason I am sharing is to make sure no one stay here. It is FILTHY, if our room was this DURTY, can you imagine how filthy the area to prepare the food is. I didn't eat breakfast the last morning. My feet were BLACK BECAUSE THE CARPET IS SO FILTHY. I don't live in a home like this, I won't stay in a hotel like this. Please don't stay here...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marsha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Airport, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for choosing our Comfort Suites, and for taking the time to share your observations in this review. Apparently we failed to meet your expectations, and I offer our sincere apologies. I am, frankly, surprised and saddened by your review. It was our pleasure to honor your request for a ground floor pet friendly suite, and to accommodate you and your two small dogs for two nights. Everything seemed to be fine, as we did not hear at all from you concerning any issues with your room during your stay, so we were not aware of any problems. Certainly, had we known that you were not happy with your accommodations, we not only would have wanted to take corrective measures immediately, but would also have been most willing to work with you in any way possible to make this right for you. We take great pride in the cleanliness of our hotel, and the many compliments our housekeeping department receives. We also score very well with our both local health department, and corporate inspections. We have inspected the room you occupied during your stay, and have not found any cleanliness issues. The carpet in your room was professionally cleaned shortly before your arrival. I would welcome an opportunity to communicate directly with you to learn the exact details of any problems you found so we can take corrective action as needed. Thank you again, and how may we be of further service?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    70
    52
    23
    26
See reviews for
65
55
17
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno
Level Contributor
90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

My first night was on Sept.19 2013. All started well when I arrived at the airport, just picked up the curtsy phone a nice drive came and got me, he told me about the area and that when I need to get dinner the shuttle would take me to get it. I was way early for check-in so I took a nap in a comfortable chair in the lobby. After a few hours the desk clerk checked me in and I went to my room. Once again I took a nap. Around 5pm I went down to find the night staff had taken over and I asked about the shuttle for dinner, I was told we do not do that you can order from a place that delivers or Not.(even the tour co that booked me here said they would) So I sat and thought about this and asked again, again NO. The places that delivered had a minimum $ that was not practical for a single person, so I did a less that smart thing I walked down the highway (no sidewalk) to the Wendy’s for dinner. As I sat at the desk in my room I started to look around. The sink in the kitchenette was dripping and there was a stain on the couch. Ok I can just not use those. The rest of the room and it was a big room was ok, so I could live with it. I woke up in the middle of the night and I noticed what looked to be a light on in the far part of the room, no it was not it was a gap between the door and jam big enough to put a pen though. Oh well the door is locked and bolted. In the morning the morning staff was on duty and they got up on the wrong side of the bed, Rude and Nasty to say the least. Fine eat breakfast and I gone. I dreaded coming back.
On Sept. 28 2013 my tour bus dropped me off here for the night, oh goody. This time I got a room on the 5th floor, a full suite. Two rooms, kitchenette, work desk and a small couch coffee table and TV in the first and a large bedroom (large bed too) vanity and bath in the other. Wow. The room was totally clean no spots on anything. The door fit the jam. Could not have been better. Did not ask to go via shuttle for dinner, sat in the room and had a P Band J sandwich and an apple for dinner (note nothing near by). Next morning had breakfast. Checked out, used the shuttle to the car agency. This time all the staff was nice even the ones that gave me a bad time on my first visit. Overall I would gave this hotel another chance, but would back a dinner with me.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fatkoalabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Airport, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, and for taking the time to share the details of your two stays in this review. I do offer our sincere apologies for the problems you had during your first stay. I believe there must have been some sort of misunderstanding concerning your shuttle request. We frequently have guests who do not have transportation, and is always our pleasure to assist them in any way we can to meet their needs. Possibly you asked to be taken to a particular restaurant where our shuttle does not go?? In any case, we do normally shuttle to any locations that are basically between our hotel and the airport, and there are quite a few. Again, I offer our apologies for the problems with your room, and corrective measures have been undertaken. Also, renovations are under way, and all of our suites will be as good as new when completed. Your second stay is much more reflective of a “normal” stay at our hotel. Our goal is to have the best hotel in town, which requires great rooms and great staff. Again, thank you, and we look forward to another opportunity to be of service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twain Harte, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Needs some updates, but fine for stop over before flight. Staff was amazing! Shuttled us back from dropping off our rental car, then shuttled us to and from dinner as we were "car-less"! How nice is that!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nanapl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Airport, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for choosing our Comfort Suites and for sharing your experience with this great review! I have shared your compliments with our hard working staff, and they truly appreciate the recognition. Our goal is to please our guests and make their stay a super one! Thanks again, and we hope to see you back with us the next time you’re in our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Inn is over due for remodel. Worn out everything. Remodel in progress. Would have been more appropriate to close while updating. Lobby area next to desk was being painted with a very strong paint or lacquer. Very powerful fumes. Room was dated, but fairly comfortable. Location a bit difficult to get to, but close to long term parking at airport.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Airport, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and for your review. Yes, we were due for renovations, and we are in the process. Unfortunately, it’s very difficult if not impossible to completely close a hotel during renovations, so we just have to try to work in different areas at a time, and keep interruptions to a minimum. We apologize for any inconvenience to you and our other guests during this process. We do have a great location for people heading to the airport, which makes our hotel a great choice! Thanks again, and we look forward to being of service again the next time you’re in Charlotte!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumberton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

At first look you would thing you were in the wrong location of Charlotte but you would be wrong,it safe and they offer airport shuttle service to the airport, and once you get out and look at the surrounding area they have a great selection for eating. The room is big but they are doing some remodeling the door jam in my room was loose and the room number are held on by tape, the breakfast was good and a great selection for a free breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danford49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Airport, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for being our guest, and for sharing your experience. Our location is as safe as it gets, and we appreciate you pointing that out, as well as some of our favorite amenities such as our shuttle service and great breakfast. We have been doing renovations, and hope to be done soon. We do apologize for anything not appearing as it should or any inconveniences. Thanks again and we hope to see you back with us again for an even better stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed here after receiving an email about discount rate for end of summer as I was having surgery in Charlotte and live 4 hours away. Undergoing renovations so there were little nuisances, but it was very clean and the folks so nice. Full hot breakfast was good too! Had a medical emergency the day we checked out and they graciously allowed us to move back into our room and did not charge us a higher rate for the third night! We really appreciated their assistance and will be staying here on all our returns to Charlotte. Easy to get around town from this location too

Room Tip: Check online for deals!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BetteWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Airport, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us, and for taking the time to write this great review! We apologize for the little nuisances during our renovations. We’re hoping to have it all done soon. Great service is what we’re all about, and it was our pleasure to have the opportunity to serve you. We take pride in our high level of cleanliness, and great hot breakfast, and appreciate you mentioning them. We look forward to having you back with us again, hopefully on a more enjoyable trip next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

PROS:
(1) Very large rooms (though it might be a stretch to call them "suites")
(2) In-room kitchen area with fridge, microwave, and sink
(3) Free breakfast, well-stocked, 6-10am
(4) Free in-room Internet, and USB charging station
(5) Shower controls let you set the water pressure independently from the temperature -- rare for a hotel.
(6) Free shuttle to/from the airport

CONS:
(1) Musty, smoky smell in the hallways and in our room -- although the property was ostensibly non-smoking.
(2) The airport shuttle van simply reeked of smoke.
(3) Property condition was laughable. The room number plaques were all broken and taped to the doors with masking tape. The wall behind our door was damaged because they neglected to install a bumper, and I've never seen a worse drywall repair job. Other parts of the wall had been repaired (badly) but hadn't been painted, so wall was two completely different colors.
(4) Not near any restaurants or shops, and the hotel is located on a busy road without sidewalks or a walkable shoulder anyway.
(5) No vent fan in the bathroom
(6) Toilet did not flush well
(7) Internet was poky, but not the worst I've experienced

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelBluejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Airport, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, and for taking the time to share your experience. We sincerely appreciate your list of pros and cons – especially the pros. You point out some of the reasons we are a favorite of many guests, and we thank you again for that. As for the cons, it looks like you caught us in the midst of renovations when we had just put up new wall vinyl and temporarily taped up some signage while waiting for our new signs to arrive. We have all new ones up now and looking good. As mentioned, we have been doing renovations, and we are still working on some areas, but hope to have it all finished soon. As for restaurants, we do have several that deliver to our hotel, and many within 5 to 8 minutes from the hotel. Our bathrooms do not have fans in them, the fans are on the roof and the bathrooms are vented to them. Toilets and internet are very important, both must work well and fast. We have been looking those areas and any problems found will be fixed shortly. Again, thank you – and we hope to see you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charlotte Airport
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte Airport North
1.2 mi away
Wingate By Wyndham Charlotte Airport I-85 / I-485
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Charlotte Airport Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte Airport
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#119 of 176 in Charlotte
3.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Airport

Property: Comfort Suites Airport
Address: 3425 Mulberry Church Rd, Charlotte, NC 28208-3503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 176 Hotels in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*Services including: 100% Smoke Free Hotel (Designated Smoking Area Available), Deluxe Full Hot Breakfast Buffet, Fitness Center, Large Heated Indoor Pool, Self Service Business Center, Free Transportation To & From Charlotte Douglas International Airport (5 Am – Midnight), 84 Spacious Suites, Including Both One Room And Two Room (One Bedroom) Suites, Two – 2 Line Phones With Personal Voice Mail And Data Ports, Free Local Calls, Extended Cable TV With HBO, Free USA Today Newspapers, Laundry/Valet Service, and Two Coin Operated Laundry Facilities.Access to room upgrades (when available). *All rooms at the Comfort Suites Airport are comfortably appointed with the following amenities: Microwave, Refrigerator, Wet Bar, High-Speed Internet Access, Voice Mail, Work Desk, Coffee Maker, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board, and Remote Control 25” TV with Digital Cable. •Access to Choice Privilege Rewards program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Choice Hotels so you can book your Comfort Suites Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Airport Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing