We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun for Family and Friends!”
Review of Carowinds

Carowinds
Ranked #11 of 177 things to do in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A mecca of family fun, this 105-acre theme/water park features rides that thrill and live entertainment.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fun for Family and Friends!”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Most enjoyed the roller coasters! Rip Roaring Rapids was fun for the children too! Plan to stay all day, as lines are long for most rides. Buy your drink bottle at the park instead of on-line. As it is hard to find a place to scan ticket for drink bottle. You can purchase them there for same price. Also, discounts can only be obtained at front gate area. Pass does not get your discounts directly at stores or food areas, you have to collect coupons at front first. (We never found the discount coupon's). Once you buy cups, you can refill them at most places. Remember you have to carry them around all day also. Don't forget to put your sunscreen on before you go and reapply to prevent burns. Wear comfortable walking shoes and clothes. No food or drink allowed into park from outside. Bring plenty of $$ as everything is expensive inside. Average is $9.00 and up per meal per person. Water $2.50 per bottle and up.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Candy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,035
    865
    332
    116
    111
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Has its ups and downs...”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Prices on food and drinks sky- high, but park price was good IF you book online. Lots of rides, adn large waterpark !

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank towerhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Family outing fun!”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Let's me start by saying I'm not a roller coaster type person so I was a bit worried that I would be board. However there were plenty of other things to see and do. (The water park was not open yet but looks like lots of fun my kinda area.) My husband (a Cedar Point guy) had a great time he loved the Intimadator and my son like the After Burn. My daughter and I hung out in Snoopy land and enjoyed the smaller rides she is kinda in the middle so a few rides were a bit "young" for her. She liked the Snoopy Pirate ride best. On another note it is expensive to eat/drink and the staff I felt were young and did not want to be there. If I'm spending $4 on a drink at least smile. Also service is slow at some stands. I found the staff to be more pleasant in the smaller shops. Security is great upon check in all bags are checked. Tips: Wear comfortable shoes, Get a map or download the Carowinds App for navigation/buddy finder, When riding Whitewater falls take off shoes, don't wear white, and leave purses cell phones and wallets with a friend saw a few people with ponchos. Also if staying the night at an area hotel take a break mid day go check in a grab a bite to eat you can get stamped to get back in park and show your receipt for parking and not pay again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Housold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice little amusement park”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

If you want a nice small amusement park this is the one for you. It is not Cedar Point but it is a great park with a lot of great Roller coasters. Make sure you ride the Intimidator the fastest and the highest drop in the southeast.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank crawfordfamily_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanley, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Awesome, but tiring & expensice place, but a lot of cost there & invloved as well I'm sure!”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I love roller-coasters and my favorite was their oldest..."Thunder Road"! It's the old school kind, but still with the big breath taking heel & tickle in the stomach...while not having to actually strap you down so tight that you actually feel like you can't breath...& have or may have a panic attack...! They have a lot of good things, rides, etc...just wish they would come up with a Good Haunted House &/or Ride...for I/many I think would love that as well!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carowinds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing