We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SLAMMIN Fish & Chips!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fitzgerald's Irish Pub

Fitzgerald's Irish Pub
Ranked #234 of 2,340 Restaurants in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: College St
Transit: Free Parking from 5:00pm-3:00am at the 5th St Parking Garage with Validation
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
94 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“SLAMMIN Fish & Chips!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I took some local friends out to eat, and they wanted to come here- which may say something about this place. We sat on the rooftop and enjoyed the late summer air, had a couple beers, and ate. I honestly can't even comment on the interior of the place.The service was solid, tho for sure. I had a couple local micro brews, darker ales, tho I cannot recall exactly which breweries they were from... But I can say with absolute certainty that their fish & chips was THE best I've had in the U.S. The English have it figured out- tho funnily enough, now-a-days in England, fish & chips is typically served by non-Brits, in a take-away walk-in place. I was never disappointed in England, or Scotland- but eating fish & chips in the U.S. is dicey- you just never know. I have no earthly idea what other menu items this place has; their fish & chips was honestly that good. I seem to have forgotten all else. But my local friends like it and go there regularly. In my own mind, that stands for quite a lot in a place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TomBanksJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    52
    24
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Average food, so-so service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

I was very excited before Fitzgerald's opened. I love Irish Pub-style restauarants, and with Rira's always being so busy, having a new place practically steps from my office was going to be great! But, then I went there...

In the three visits I've made to Fitzgerald's, I've never left satisfied. The food was nothing special, and nothing remarkable "Irish" aside from renaming some classics. They do have really great sweet potato fries though.

The service has also been very slow every time I've been there, inspite of seeing more servers than tables with guests... Downtown restaurants should be able to get people in and out in an hour, that's a standard. I shouldn't have to send someone to hunt down our server to get our bill when we've been done eating for 15 minutes...

I don't think I'd recommend this place, at least not for a weekday lunch. Perhaps they are better in the evenings, when there's a game or event at the Arena.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank KristinaD27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Easton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fun place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Liked the bull and great beer selection. The place is pretty big and accommodated our large group and we all got to sit together.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bgavinsamdiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Cincinnati
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We were there for all you can eat crab legs. Food was excellant and service was great. Our server was awesome and even took care of our large parties special request with ease. It was a fun evening, the atmospher of the restaurant was great.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank HP4L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutherland, Nebraska
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fun Irish Pub/Sports Bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Delicious food - check their website for text specials, and check in on foursquare for a special there as well. If you're up to it, try their "Tower of Beer."

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nebraska O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fitzgerald's Irish Pub also viewed

 

Been to Fitzgerald's Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing