We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What I'd Expect From a Westin”
Review of Westin Charlotte

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westin Charlotte
Ranked #32 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“What I'd Expect From a Westin”
Reviewed June 11, 2009

Great staff, great rooms, a great location downtown. Great food at the meeting that I attended as well. The business center's webservice was a bit of a joke but was refunded promptly after I called about it. I would stay here again. Other than that...eh...a business hotel, but was pricey for what it was.

I will say a little about Charlotte though. Great food, lots of art to see downtown, and frankly a great city. A big surprise as I expected little more than a downtown that shuts down at 5. Boy was I wrong, quite a nightlife up College and Tryon streets from the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelandRog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    616
    476
    242
    114
    72
See reviews for
191
275
69
751
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, MS
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2009

When I travel for conventions or other large gatherings, I tend to stay at the sponsored hotel for convenience. I must say, when we pulled up to the Westin in Charlotte, it looked very impressive. The Concierge and Front Desk staff are fantastic. Friendly greetings and smile with what seems to be a genuine sincerity. The coming and going seems to be the best part of the stay. As I stepped out of the hall to my 7th story room, the first thing I noticed was two double beds. My reservations were for a king but since I was traveling by myself, not a problem. The room offered nothing more that a comparable express hotel room as far as features but did include a minibar. The bathroom seem outdated. The tub was in crappy shape with the stopper laying upside down in the drain with potential for going right through my foot. The spigot was turned sideways and was just not something I would consider customer friendly The nice 40+ inch HD tv was a nice added feature but was useless in that there were no HD channels that I could see. Every channel said Analog when surfing. As with any downtown premium hotel, the food prices tend to be high and this was no exception at the Westin. As I will tend to spend one night relaxing with a movie and room service, I could not bring myself to pay $20+ for burger, fries, and a drink. Breakfast was out of the question. I would stay at the Westin again for lets say, a weekend package for under $99.00, but not worth the $212, including taxes, I paid for this trip.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaldonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
659 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 408 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2009

Have been to many Westins and this was not quite like most Westins. I was "upgraded" because of my SPG Gold but I missed what the upgrade was. The view of downtown was wonderful and the locations is very convenient to the Convention Center.

The room was small and routine not with the usual Westin modern decor. The bathroom was among the smallest I have seen in any hotel - you had to close the door to get to the shower.

The pool was closed and there was no jacuzzi. This location does not do the Westin UnWind.

Minibar and phone outrageously overpriced.

Great for location but otherwise not worth it with other choices.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevied888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2009

Almost everything about the "Grand Deluxe" room that I reserved on the preferred 24th floor at the Westin (including the price) was misleading and quite disappointing to say the least. The shower heads in the bathroom were great, as was the view of Charlotte and the LCD television. Everything else was a major let down.
The "heavenly bed"... quite ordinary really. Yes it was comfortable, but it ranked right up there with most average comfortable hotel beds. The sheets felt rough and scratchy and not at ALL heavenly. The pillows were a mess and felt as though they had reached their final days.
The "heavenly bathroom"... biggest disappointment of all. The towels were AWFUL. They were coarse and stiff and far from the luxury I had expected. Also, no robes. The tub was small, as well as the bathroom itself (definately not grand).
The indoor pool.... free only for KIDS. Adults must pay. After paying 300 dollars for the room, I found this to be ridiculous. Tacky, really.
If I return to an uptown Charlotte hotel, it will definately not be the Westin. Dunhill and Omni all the way.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeysGirlCharlotte_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2009

The rooms are spacious, wonderful soaps, great showers and the beds are marvelous. Front desk and concierge helpful. Fast elevators and great location. The food options are limited. We stopped for Sunday lunch, nothing but a breakfast buffet ($25.00)available at 1pm on Sunday afternoon. A Starbucks Coffee Kiosk is available if you want to pay over five dollars for a boxed yogurt and a bottle of orange juice. We went to bar to order, balancing plate on small tables. There was only a server, then a unmotivated waiter, we ordered from the bar and picked up our own drinks. The food order was inaccurate so the diner who ordered a shrimp flatbread received pulled pork, the Caesar Salad was four leaves of Romaine with a parmesan slices - certainly nothing to treat the taste buds. Hamburger was fine though. My recommendation is to stay at the Westin but walk a block or two for food. Gym and pool added charge, refrigerator locked, in room internet added charge though lobby internet access available.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2009

My husband and I went for Valentine's Day and we had a great time. We actually live near Charlotte, but come to the Westin when we want to relax and be pampered. The rooms are always clean (I LOVE the Heavenly bed by the way) and the staff is very friendly.

The bar is a great place to hang out on a Friday or Saturday night if you don't feel like walking uptown or paying for parking elsewhere.

The Ember Grille has the best breakfast buffet I have had yet!! The food is always hot and fresh and they make fresh omelets if you are interested.

Overall, I think this is a good hotel for the price and will definitely be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank themrs1922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ljohnson01, Executive Office at Westin Charlotte, responded to this review, April 30, 2009
Thank you very much for your kind words and for allowing us to share in your Valentine's Day celebration! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary NC
2 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2009

We have stayed at this hotel several times over the past couple of years and the service and rooms get progressively worse. This past weekend, it hit an all-time low! On arrival (Friday at around 6pm), there were two people working the registration desk with approximately 10 guests waiting to check in. In the room, there was a dirty towel hanging in the bathroom that appeared to have make-up on it from a previous guest. On our second day, we returned to the room in mid-afternoon to notice that our room had yet to be serviced. I call guest services to find that you must now request for your room to be serviced...you do that by placing the reverse side of the "Do Not Disturb" card on your door. Oh, that card that we didnt have in our room. After 2 calls to Guest Services and an hour and a half later, our room was finally cleaned. To top the weekend off, my incidentals were charged to both my credit and debit card and the process of fixing that resulted in dealing with two extremely rude people in the Accounting department...only for them to discover that they were in error! I will likely NEVER return to this hotel! Pathetic representation of the Westin name!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jheels9206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#44 of 178 in Charlotte
2,003 reviews
Third Ward
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
First Ward
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
#14 of 178 in Charlotte
629 reviews
Second Ward
Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Charlotte

Property: Westin Charlotte
Address: 601 S College St, Charlotte, NC 28202-1829
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Second Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Charlotte
#31 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#39 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#50 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Charlotte 4*
Number of rooms: 700
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the uptown financial district of North Carolina's most exciting city, The Westin Charlotte is just a short trolley-ride away from popular dining and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westin Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Charlotte Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing