We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel spoiled us”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Charlotte
Ranked #31 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
New York
1 review
“This hotel spoiled us”
Reviewed November 9, 2008

When in Charlotte, I highly recommend staying at the Westin.

It was busy, but the check in process was efficient. The lobby was so serene with its rock fountain and oversized pillow-filled couches. My husband and I were impressed with the modernity and cleanliness of the rooms. Starbucks coffee, tazo tea, and Westin bath products, including white tea soap, were among the amenities. The room rate included breakfast, our choice from the menu, not some cheesy packaged danish deal.

The stay didn't go over without a hitch. There was a problem accessing the garage and with an order for room service, both of which were addressed promptly and courteously.

Between the excellent service, beautiful surroundings and the breakfasts in the Heavenly Bed we didn't want to go home and can't wait to go back.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and modernity
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank POWERSPEARSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    479
    243
    114
    72
See reviews for
191
275
69
758
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2008

Checked into the Westin for a one night "get-away". The room was OK, however the furniture was scratched, and the bathroom tile had some mold growing in it. The big problem is that the walls are VERY thin. There was a group across the hall that were extremely loud. We called the front desk and complained and they sent up secruity to tell them to keep it down. But the noise continued well into the morning. The worst part was that at 7am we woke up because we could clearly hear a man and woman "going at it" in the next room. I have stayed at many many hotels in my life and this is the first time I have heard "that" through the walls. Overall the hotel was OK- but I expected so much more for the money. I will look at other options in Charlotte before plunking down the $$ at the Westin.

We also ate at the Embers restaurant. It too was just OK- the service was good, the menu was very limited and was very overpriced. The food was hot, an the presentation was nice, but again there are better places in Charlotte.

  • Liked — Nice exterior and pretty lobby
  • Disliked — Thin walls, hotel needs some maintenace work
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeeLSee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2008

The Charlotte Westin is gorgeous. Fantastic architecture, great lobby space, gorgeous rooms. The on-site restaurant is excellent, and actually rated quite highly across the city. The location is wonderful, being in walking distance to Uptown Charlotte (which, in most cities, is "downtown"...), B of A Stadium, and plenty of eating choices.

However, service was rude. Houskeeping was lackluster. Check-in was horribly rude. And the pool area was overrun with children. Of course, kids and pools mix, and I understand that. But this Westin has only a "lap pool," located within the gym (tho in a wonderful location, with a deck overlooking town). Further, it is an indoor lap pool. Again, within the gym. So, you take an indoor lap pool, confined within the walls of a gym, and add 20 kids... it's LOUD! Lap pools aren't deep - they're meant for swimming laps. The parents of these kids were horribly rude, in that they did nothing to control dive bombs and other such antics in a 3 to 4 foot deep lap pool. To the hotel's credit, when I called from the pool, and they heard the noise in the background, security was sent. Children and pools usually mix, but NOT in a business hotel, and especially NOT in a lap pool, in a gym, meant for excercise.

I did get this hotel via Priceline, and for about $180 less than the online hotel price. I don't ever like to think that poor service (I'm not including the pool here - just the service overall) is due to my Priceline reservation. I use Priceline as a way to sample new hotels. If I like a place obtainted via Priceline, I'll book that place again thru the hotel's website. Simple! I did let the GM of the hotel know of this, and there was some minor compensation, but nothing that made up for the poor service experienced while staying at the (gorgeous) Westin.

  • Liked — location, comfort, always-fabulous Westin quality
  • Disliked — lackluster service
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mikeynla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Westin Charlotte for the Kansas City/ Carolina Pathers game. Our room was not as big as I would have expected, but it was very clean and had a great view. The bedding is very comfortable and the bathroom was large. We did request a refrigerator and it was delievered to our room soon after we checked in.

The location was great! Walking distance to the Panther's stadium as well as great bars and restaurants. We ate at Morton's Steakhouse which was amazing. The hotel bar is relaxing and has a bar menu for late night snacks. We had a great time- no stress or drama!

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Very small refrigerator and no microwave
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank kingstonowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeastern US
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2008

This hotel is very nice, modern and is the closest hotel to the Charlotte Convention Center. Ember Grille has a great breakfast buffett. Bedding and shower heads are excellent. though rooms are not huge. This hotel does lack a jacuzzi. Definitely request a view of the city skyline and on a higher floor or you'll be looking over the top of a parking deck and highway. I am an SPG member and the first room we rec'd had this bad view, so I requested a change and was given a skyline view on a higher floor. Concierge was frequently MIA and as a result we had some difficulty making some dinner reservs.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank internjsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2008

Attended a business conference at the Westin, Charlotte, mostly attended by business owners. I would NOT recommend this hotel for business conferences. Business owners NEED to have at least acceptable speed internet access in order to keep up with bare minimum contact with our business while away attending a conference.

For the entire 3 days I was at this hotel, the internet access was slower than dialup access, no kidding around here. It was absolutely pathetic. I missed parts and sections of meetings that I could easily have attended if not wasting so much time waiting on their PAINFULLY slow internet connection. I have NEVER seen a mainstream hotel with such poor internet connection. Everyone was complaining about it, but nothing could be done as thats just the way it is. PLUS, you pay $10.95 per day for it, to add insult to injury.

Also, they are either understaffed or poorly managed during meal events. You will be lucky to get served orange juice or coffee in the morning and they even cannot give all the tables bread at dinner. You cannot just serve yourself either, so try to go to eat early before they get busy and can no longer keep up.

Rooms were clean and nice tho, and checkin was fast.

  • Liked — elevators were fast with short wait times
  • Disliked — Internet connection was horrible - all 3 days
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DebHoagland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anacortes, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2008

This is a highrise business hotel across the street from the Charlotte convention center, and near the central business district. Very convenient for someone attending a convention. If you can't get in here, there is a Hilton and a Hilton Garden Inn nearby.

This is a glossy glass and chrome facility. The beds are wonderful, with enough pillows to satisfy the most pillow-crazed woman. Minibar is available. Towels are thick and plentiful. The two-headed shower is a nice touch. The only fault I could find is that the windows won't open and the ventilation system does not do well at removing stale air from the room. The usual high-end hotel annoyances are present, like a charge for in-room Internet service, charges for local calls, no free breakfast, and $4 for a bottle of water. Why do you get more when you go to a cheap hotel?

The fitness center is excellent, with pool, sauna, plentiful cardio machines, and a good selection of strength training equipment.

I did not use the restaurant, but had one banquet meal that was excellent.

A good hotel for a business or convention traveler, and very comfortable.

  • Liked — Bed
  • Disliked — Stuffy air in the room, annoying extra charges
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wguterbock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#48 of 178 in Charlotte
2,035 reviews
Third Ward
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown
First Ward
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
#12 of 178 in Charlotte
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Charlotte

Property: The Westin Charlotte
Address: 601 S College St, Charlotte, NC 28202-1829
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Second Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Charlotte
#31 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#39 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#50 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Charlotte 4*
Number of rooms: 700
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the uptown financial district of North Carolina's most exciting city, The Westin Charlotte is just a short trolley-ride away from popular dining and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your The Westin Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Charlotte Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing