We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westin Charlotte

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Westin Charlotte
Ranked #29 of 176 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Concord, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home away from home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

First off, thank you to The Westin Charlotte for being the Host Hotel of Charlotte Pride 2013. My stay was absolutely fabulous. My room was on the 20th floor with a spectacular view of the queen city. At Checkin, Jessica made me feel very welcome as if I were a guest in her own home. Never before have I had that experience at any hotel I have ever stayed at. She was also very friendly and even called me by name any time I came to the lobby. As a vendor for the event, Jessica showed great interest and even showed celebration (while maintaining professionalism) with me as the event brought in great numbers and movement for my company. It goes to show that true customer service is not dead. Thank you Jessica and Matt for making my stay in Charlotte one of the best I have ever had.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hunter-Lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinCharlotte, General Manager at Westin Charlotte, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad you felt welcomed by our staff, especially Jessica. We agree she is GREAT! We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the Queen City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    592
    462
    235
    110
    70
See reviews for
180
268
68
724
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aid, Ohio
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

This hotel is in a very convenient location, but is really nothing special. It is clean and safe.
The lobby is large and busy, but check in was pleasant and friendly. The rooms are average. The bed seemed hard to me, but I'm used to memory foam so I'm not sure it's a fair comparison. The bathroom was nice.
There is wifi, but they charge $11.95 a night for access. If you are on a lower floor though, you can connect to the "Westin Lobby" wifi which is free. There is also a fee for parking. There is no free breakfast, but there is a restaurant onsite where you can buy a $15 bowl of oatmeal. I recommend that you make the short walk over to the Moonlight Diner for an excellent breakfast for a small fraction of the cost.
Overall, the hotel is fine, but it is almost as nice as Hampton Inn without the free breakfast, with a fee for parking, with a fee for wifi, and rooms that are not as nice. The one plusses are location and friendly service.

Room Tip: Rooms on lower levels can access the lobby wifi for free. The upper rooms on the side of the buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank exitramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinCharlotte, General Manager at Westin Charlotte, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad you got to enjoy our proximity to all Uptown Charlotte has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the Queen City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morehead City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

This is how I remember hotels should be. Clean, modern, with all the necessary amenities. The staff were very friendly and helpful at all times. I couldn't ask for a better stay for our girls' weekend in Charlotte.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinCharlotte, General Manager at Westin Charlotte, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your most recent visit to our hotel. We are glad you and your friends enjoyed a fantastic girls' weekend. We hope to welcome you all back on your next trip to the Queen City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed here for business. Nice, quiet, room. world famous Westin bed. Friendly staff, very accommodating. Very nice business meeting rooms. Very close to amazing restaurants and jazz clubs down the street within walking distant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 59kdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinCharlotte, General Manager at Westin Charlotte, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for telling us about your recent trip to the Westin Charlotte. We are glad you got to enjoy the Westin Heavenly bed and all Uptown Charlotte has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the Queen City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamme, Belgium
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for five nights and had a wonderfull time! Good Customer service with an eye for what people like during their visit in the city of Charlotte! Splendid comfortable room with city overview and everything you need. Good wifi on the room! Fitness and Wellness are great (fresh towels!). Love the swimming pool!

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank EddyVdS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinCharlotte, General Manager at Westin Charlotte, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your most recent visit to our hotel. We are glad you had the chance to enjoy our WestinWorkout facility. Guests may use the facility 24 hours a day to keep up their fitness routine while away from home. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the Queen City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caeur D Alene
Level Contributor
509 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Reception and front desk service was quick and easy. Very friendly staff

Amazing restaurant in lobby area

The gym is new with a great beautiful indoor pool and a sauna
Machines are well kept new and the weights are clean.
Cardio area holds many people at once. It's one of the good hotel gyms I've seen

I had an issue at night with the vent noise and the staff helped immediately to get me moved to a new room.

Excellent service

I will return

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaime U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinCharlotte, General Manager at Westin Charlotte, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at our hotel. We are glad the service exceeded your expectations. The Westin Workout is a great facility designed to help guests maintain their fitness routine away from home. We also offer running maps should a guest like to get outside for a run. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to the Queen City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

It's my first stay at this property, but as an SPG member I was acknowledged and provided a nice room (2033) at the end of the hall nice and quiet. Being here on business from Sunday to Wednesday my stay has been mostly good not great and there is room for improvement.

Likes- lobby decor, room size, cheeseburger at Embers off the lobby, the shower was amazing.

Dislikes - the tv remote by Command was a complete fail, couldn't change channels without turning the tv off and accessing the main menu to select "watch tv". After doing so the picture was LD / low definition and grainy. The staff was friendly and helpful but I was a little taken a back when charged a $2.00 fee per delivery for 5 dinner invites I sent to customers to join me for dinner. My expect expectations at a Westin property are a little higher and service orientated.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Todd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinCharlotte, General Manager at Westin Charlotte, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your most recent stay at the Westin Charlotte. You are right, the cheeseburger at the Ember Grille is delicious as well as all the other menu items. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Charlotte.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#36 of 176 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,858 reviews
First Ward
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
#19 of 176 in Charlotte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Third Ward
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Second Ward
Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Charlotte

Property: Westin Charlotte
Address: 601 S College St, Charlotte, NC 28202-1829
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Second Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Charlotte
#31 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#39 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#50 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Charlotte 4*
Number of rooms: 700
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the uptown financial district of North Carolina's most exciting city, The Westin Charlotte is just a short trolley-ride away from popular dining and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Westin Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Charlotte Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing