We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yup. Still like the Westins”
Review of Westin Charlotte

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westin Charlotte
Ranked #33 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
136 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Yup. Still like the Westins”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This is a good location downtown - central to business and restaurants. My room was fine - clean, quiet, and all the necessary things you'd need. I was on business, so quiet and a good bed are the key features I'm looking for. Westin, as usual, delivers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OhFranklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinCharlotte, General Manager at Westin Charlotte, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are delighted to know you choose Westin when you stay in the Queen City! We will have a Heavenly® bed waiting for you upon your next trip! Be well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    473
    242
    114
    72
See reviews for
190
273
69
742
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
255 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

I was there for a pretty big gathering and it seemed to be handled really well. The rooms were nice and the service seemed good too. It is extremely easy to get to and in a great location. I would recommend it for anyone needing to be uptown for business or for large gatherings or meetings.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mac W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinCharlotte, General Manager at Westin Charlotte, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your kind review! We are delighted to know you enjoyed your time at The Westin Charlotte. We hope to see you back again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Ga
Level Contributor
124 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The hotel was nice enough but not worth the price. It was convenient to downtown Charlotte, the Convention Center and the NASCAR Hall of Fame. Very expensive to have items shipped here for the convention. I paid an additional 160.00 for them to receive boxes from UPS and then it cost $25 plus tip to have a bellman roll them across the street to the convention center because they would not allow me to use one of the luggage carts. In addition, the housekeeping staff skipped my room on 2 of the 4 days I was there. Room AC does not cool the room. Nex time I'm there, it will be the Hilton. I should have stayed there this time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bulldog1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinCharlotte, General Manager at Westin Charlotte, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I’m sorry to hear you we were unable to exceed your expectations during your recent visit. We hope you will choose to stay with us again so that we can show you a true Westin experience. Your review will be used to help us enhance future guest experiences. Thank you again, and be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
114 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

204$ a night should come with certain standard. this was my convention hotel for a major national meeting. i am really not that difficult with rooms, but a carpet that looks as if it has never been cleaned and brown stains in the toilet bowl is not ok if you are asking that kind of money.

my room mate decided to complain about the room and to the credit of the front desc staff having the room changed turned out to be unproblematic.

nevertheless, the entire getting no room service for a 5 dollar voucher at the end of your stay is ridiculous. we thought it meant not changing linen and towels every single day, not that beds would not be made and coffee would not be refilled!

frankly that is a disgrace and the worst room service i have ever experienced in an upper class hotel.

I talked to a number of people at the convention, so i know that there are good hotels with complementary breakfast and wifi within a few blocks.

so i would seriously recommend considering other options.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Plesiosaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinCharlotte, General Manager at Westin Charlotte, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I apologize you experienced difficulties with your room. We do appreciate you optioning-in to our Make a Green Choice Program. One night without housekeeping can save up to 49.2 gallons of water, enough for 1 person to drink 2 cups a day for a year, and 7oz of chemicals, which means less for the environment to absorb. This program is completely optional and am sorry to hear you were displeased with the program. We do hope you will stay with us again and allow us to show you a true Westin experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Here for business. My room smells funny. There's a huge wet spot on the floor that looks to be dirty as well. There is no shampoo or conditioner in my room. The bedding didnt look freshly made and the carpets didnt look to be vacuumed either with black and white lint all over the floor. The towels even smell odd.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winmanpup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinCharlotte, General Manager at Westin Charlotte, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I apologize your room was not up to standard upon your arrival. We hope our Housekeeping team was able to resolve this issue for you or that our Front Desk team was able to put you in a new room. Please reach to us directly to let us know if your stay improved. We hope you’ll be back again soon so that we can show you a true Westin experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faison, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Top Notch Hotel - Very nice room! Outstanding views. All employees were wonderfully helpful. Love the valet service for parking and also for luggage. Will always stay at Westin for any uptown visit to Charlotte.

Room Tip: Pick as high up as possible for good views of either uptown Charlotte or southside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcspen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinCharlotte, General Manager at Westin Charlotte, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your kind review! We are delighting to know our views, rooms and team members helped make your stay more enjoyable. We hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Joined my husband at this hotel while he was on business. The room was very clean and comfortable with nice furnishings, the workout facilities were very nice and the location was convenient to what we wanted to do. However, the restaurant and Starbucks service was slow and unprepared for a weekend early morning crowd. The hotel could improve in this area because the rest of our stay was delightful. Good, convenient coffee and a paper in the morning have come to be two of our requirements of a hotel stay. The paper was in the lobby every morning, including the Wall Street Journal to my husband's delight, the coffee was good once we got it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARamFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinCharlotte, General Manager at Westin Charlotte, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your feedback! We apologize for any service you received that was not as quick and efficient as you would have liked, but are delighted to know you enjoyed your coffee! We’re glad our clean comfortable rooms left you feeling relaxed. We hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#42 of 178 in Charlotte
1,968 reviews
First Ward
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
#15 of 178 in Charlotte
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Third Ward
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Second Ward
Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Charlotte

Property: Westin Charlotte
Address: 601 S College St, Charlotte, NC 28202-1829
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Second Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Charlotte
#31 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#39 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#50 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Charlotte 4*
Number of rooms: 700
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the uptown financial district of North Carolina's most exciting city, The Westin Charlotte is just a short trolley-ride away from popular dining and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Westin Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Charlotte Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing