We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay Property Shop The Area For The Best Rate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charlotte University Place
Ranked #86 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
SC
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Okay Property Shop The Area For The Best Rate”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This Country Inn & Suites was ok but I have stayed at better properties. Considering it is the University area I would expect to see more upgrades especially considering the price. I had a discounted rate but I do not believe this property is worth $90 nightly. I often stay at different Country Inn & Suites properties and I would definitely say the breakfast offered and the lack of upgrades made the property very standard. Country Inn & Suites typically offers hot breakfast (eggs, bacon, french toast, etc.) an attendant is on duty and it gives the home like feel the company strives to achieve. However this property offered individually wrapped sandwiches and other breakfast items that had to be heated in the microwave. I gave the property an average rating because it was clean, had standard room features, the front desk clerk was friendly and professional, and I felt safe. It you are seeking other amenities at a reasonable price look elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cnp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    94
    64
    47
    45
See reviews for
156
65
19
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Way overpriced, 1970's vintage blurry TV, ripped and worn furniture, time-delay on the lavatory cove light that didn't stay on more than about a minute, noisy fan in the bathroom that you couldn't turn off without also turning on the light. On the plus side it was clean, bed fairly comfortable, and the mini-fridge worked; check-in agent was very friendly and hospitable. Evening van driver was great as well, offering to make extra "service" trips for no charge except tip (which wasn't even hinted for). However, the morning van driver was rude, playing racist rap "music" all the way to the airport. Wonder if he'll ever figure out why the night driver gets tons more tips than he does.

Room Tip: Way overpriced, 1970's vintage blurry TV, ripped and worn furniture, time-delay on the lavatory...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Icarus2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Me & a friend stayed here on Aug. 21st. Our check in was quick and easy. The pool was clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The only thing that wasnt clean was our room. Im not sure what exactly happened and if the hotel had previously tried to get it to come up, but there was a stain on the carpet.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed here while moving our kids into UNCC for one night. Good solid room very close to campus and with the AAA rate we were out the door for $87. Would stay again. They have free breakfast, but we opted to go out.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LORI H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We frequently stay at Country Inn & Suites and have always had pleasant experiences. We intended to stay at this particular hotel for three nights. My husband, two children, and I were getting away for a long weekend, and the main thing our children wanted to do was swim.

When we stepped off the elevator onto the third floor we could immediately smell cigarette smoke. When we entered our room, the smell of cigarette smoke was even stronger. It was nearing dinner time and we were ready to eat, so we looked for the usual notebook of hotel and area information in the room -- there was none. On our way out to dinner we stopped by the pool to check it out. The pool and the hot tub were both filthy. The water in the pool was so milky/cloudy that you could barely see the bottom step of the pool. My husband immediately said there was no way the kids could swim in that pool. The hot tub had cloudy/milky water in it and also some kind of oily looking substance floating on top.

While at dinner we had already decided that we would stay for the night but check out and go elsewhere in the morning. When we got back to the hotel we asked the front desk clerk whether there was a Country Inn & Suites in Hickory, NC. (We had decided to just leave Charlotte altogether and go to Hickory). She said she didn't know because all the hotels are independently owned. She didn't make any effort to help us find another hotel of the same brand. I ended up using the computer in the business center to find us a hotel in Hickory.

That night, every time I would turn over in the bed the smell of smoke wafted up out of the mattress. The mattress seemed very worn with not much support.

Breakfast was not impressive. There were no hot foods offered. The only eggs offered were cold, boiled eggs. The only meat offered was on pre-packaged sausage biscuits that had to be microwaved. We never saw an employee attending to the breakfast area the entire time we were there. This is not typical of Country Inn & Suites in our experience.

I realize you're not getting a luxury hotel with this brand, but this was definitely the worst experience we have ever had with Country Inn & Suites. There are many other hotels in the same area. Do yourself a favor and stay at one of them.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwi0507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online Customer Care at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charlotte University Place, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Kiwi0507,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. We do apologize for the condition of the pool and hot tub and any smell of smoke you may have had. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

If you would like to discuss your stay further, please contact Corporate Customer Care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The hotel room was decent size, I liked that there was a fridge. However, the gym smelt like mold so bad that I didn't even want to use it. The pillows were quite small as well. The staff was friendly and helped to accommodate us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAFUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bedford, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I have chosen this hotel over and over because it is very clean. After two years of staying here, I have notice a constant effort to continue to improve the rooms and lobby areas. I also, like the level of security in the hotel as well.Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Third floor has the Ice Machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Sleep Inn University Place
#78 of 178 in Charlotte
222 reviews
Mineral Springs
Home2 Suites by Hilton Charlotte University Research Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mineral Springs
Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte University Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charlotte University Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charlotte University Place

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charlotte University Place
Address: 131 McCullough Dr, Charlotte, NC 28262-3306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charlotte University Place 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charlotte University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites University Place
Country Inn & Suites University Place Hotel Charlotte
Country Inn Charlotte
Country Inn University Place
Charlotte Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing