We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly poor Springhill Suites”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Charlotte Airport
Ranked #98 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Surprisingly poor Springhill Suites”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stay at Marriott properties almost exclusively and have stayed in Springhill Suites on many occasions. We were shocked at the quality of this hotel. The rooms seemed much smaller than usual, quite plain, and the decor looked old. Something used to clean the room had a very strong odor and my pajamas smelled so strongly of it by the morning that I had to wash them.
We also ended up in a room in the front of the hotel with exterior lights on poles brightly shining all night. The curtains did not block the light well. The heat/A-C unit did not operate well.
If I had been blindfolded and taken there I would have sworn it was not a Marriott. This hotel is definitely not up to their standards.
I gave it two dots because the lady who ran the breakfast area was wonderful. She took the time to wash the apples and wrap them individually in plastic. I appreciated that.

Room Tip: Find out if there is an exterior light shining at the level of your room and avoid that room. Stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel201102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSCharlotteAirport, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Charlotte Airport, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your stay. We aim to provide superior customer service and accommodations and it is disappointing to hear we failed to do so during your visit.
Our goal is to have a fresh but neutral smell in the room when you arrive instead of an overpowering odor. I have spoken with our Housekeeping Manager and done re-training with our staff to avoid this from happening with future guests.
Also, we are supposed to have the heavy black out curtains in each room. These should have been heavy enough to block out all exterior lights. We will do a sweep in our rooms to make sure that they all have them.
Also, I want to thank you for recognizing our Breakfast Attendant, Angela. She is a super star in our breakfast area and always makes guests feel like they are at home.
I hope that you will come visit us again and see that this experience does not reflect our standards. Thank you again for bringing these issues to our attention and hope to see you on your next visit to Charlotte!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    82
    64
    29
    21
See reviews for
57
56
17
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I spent a night at the SpringHill Suites near the Charlotte airport for business. I was traveling with a colleague and we commented to each other prior to check-in, "we've never had a bad experience at a SpringHill Suites." We should have saved that statement until after staying at this hotel. First, the positive - service - from the guy at the front desk to the really friendly woman working the breakfast buffet. The staff that I encountered were quite helpful. However, the room was so-so. It was rather dated compared to every other SpringHill Suites I've ever stayed at. The public areas were more or less updated, however. The workout room was very small. If you need to stay near the airport I guess this is an okay place to stay. However, the next time I'm in Charlotte I will try another property.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeepyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We were only in Charlotte one night and needed to be near a certain location, so we selected The Springhill Suites at the airport, for location, price and the reviews we had read on Trip Advisor.

I am a Marriott Rewards member and was acknowledged as such upon arrival, which was nice, as a lot of hotels don't bother noting their reward club members. We had a king room. There was a sofa bed when you walked in the door. Across from that there was a sink, microwave, refrigerator, long desk. There is also a ceiling fan in this "kitchen" area.

There is a small table across the end of the sofa with a TV that swivels so that you can see it from the sofa or the bed in the next area. The bathroom sink area is separate from the tub and toilet, which we like so someone can be showering, while someone else is at the sink or mirror.

The bedroom area has two small end tables on either side of the king bed and a closet. Plenty of space for two of us. We were only staying one night, but I noted that if we were staying longer, there really is no drawer space for clothes. There are two small drawers in each of the two night tables and a very small drawer in the TV stand. Perhaps they could replace that TV stand with a piece of furniture that had at least two ample drawers. The closet had plenty of room to hang numerous items. The room just lacks drawer space.

The staff was very nice and helpful.

There was a review that complained about the airport noise. I can't say that I even noticed the planes. I usually keep the fan running on the HVAC unit and the low hum of the fan helps to keep out other noises.

Would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArcheryFamily-NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Level 6 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Clean hotel, close to airport and highway, beds are comfortable basic hotel but great staff. I stayed for 3 nights for a business meeting. From the shuttle driver to the desk people, housekeeping staff, each employee I came in contact with went out of thier way to greet you and accomodate. I would recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsHeartRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Found the staff friendly, but small lobby. Hotel was fairly clean, but rooms were dated and cheaply done, tub leaked and dripping was impacting bathroom wallpaper and drywall. I reported it but nobody ever responded over the 5 days I was there. Bed was good, not great.. Found the air conditioner very noisy and went on-and-off almost every 5 minutes. Room was large with a nice-sized desk, couch, and bar. Good layout, and comfortable for a one week stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gfp76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Front Desk was very friendly upon arrival. They were quite busy, yet the staff did a great job making us feel welcome. This Springhill provides courteous service and was clean. Rooms are the standard Springhill layout, but spacious. Great for a quick stop over and I'd certainly stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrmusic4ads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised on a recent trip to Charlotte. As a Marriott Gold Elite member I stay in a lot of Marriott hotels, but the SpringHill in Charlotte was one of the best I have been to. The staff is FRIENDLY, helpful and fun. Not only was the room VERY big for the price, the staff had me laughing during each interaction, especially at breakfast. I was treated as "one of the family." As a frequent business traveler it is nice to experience something special. Maybe it was just southern hospitality or maybe the SpringHill Charlotte Airport was just a little different.

Room Tip: Anything room that faces the highway, you WILL hear the trucks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4heffdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Airport
Comfort Suites Airport
#65 of 178 in Charlotte
259 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Charlotte Airport
1.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Charlotte Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte Airport North
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Charlotte Airport North
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Charlotte Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Charlotte Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Charlotte Airport

Property: SpringHill Suites Charlotte Airport
Address: 3055 Scott Futrell Dr, Charlotte, NC 28208-2726
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — SpringHill Suites Charlotte Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your SpringHill Suites Charlotte Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Charlotte Airport Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing