We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude to kids! Read before taking children!”

Carolinas Aviation Museum
Ranked #9 of 176 things to do in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Rude to kids! Read before taking children!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

I am nanny for 3 wonderful kids and we took a little field trip to the Charlotte Aviation museum a week ago. I was extremely disappointed. The older gentleman they had working there were extremely rude to the 5, 3, and 1 year old (in a stroller the entire time). We walked in and a man went on his normal 10 minute speech before we entered the museum...although informative, it wasn't necessary considering the audience. He then got very aggravated and impatient as the kids grew restless and started interrupting to ask related questions. Wasn't the best first impression! We proceeded inside the museum and they were so excited! They listened so well and didn't do anything we weren't supposed to. However, the other workers were breathing down my neck as well as the children every step we took! Mind you, they weren't informing us of facts about the airplanes as they probably could have, just rude hovering over us and snapping at every little thing the kids did. I finally ended up telling them that they could back off and I, as their guardian, was watching them closely and we would not hurt any of the museum property. Made me mad that they couldn't even attempt to understand they are kids and get excited about the giant planes indoors, nor could they share information on their level. I WILL NOT EVER GO BACK!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank Lindsay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    175
    45
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fascinating recent history among the old”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is a fairly new museum and not all that large, but it is packed full of history, including the actual US Airways flight 1549 plane from the "Miracle on the Hudson" landing in NY's Hudson River a few years ago. An incredible and heart-thumping new look at a traumatic event that held everyone spellbound when it happened and still amazes as you walk around the aircraft and take in the excellent detailing of what happened and why/how via extensive displays and first-person accounts. There is a large collection of items recovered from the aircraft and/or donated by those on board, plus a 15-minute video that includes first-person interviews. Elsewhere are other examples of flight history, from the Wright Brothers through military planes. Visitors are invited to sit in the cockpit of an F4, where someone standing below can take photos of you looking just like you're the pilot, as well as the cockpit of a 727 with is maze of instrumentation! Small (so far) but very well done museum, all by justifiably proud volunteers. Thumbs up!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JMJCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mishawaka, Indiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

This small museum has the plane that Capt Sullenberger landed in the East River in New York without injuring anyone. Full story is revealed with film. Absolutely outstanding display. Can sit in cockpit of fighter jet. Also has an old Eastern Airlines plane for the oldtimers. This is a must do in Charlotte

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jekbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Right now US Airways 1549 plane is there!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Yes, the Lake Hudson plane is there!!!
Really worth going.
I asked and I was told we can bring our lunch and eat outside. In front of the airport. Was very cool.
U can hear the control tower on live!!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Misifusmiau M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Great museum,these guys really work hard and it's obvious they love what they're doing.
Please support them as much as you can!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank deckhandoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carolinas Aviation Museum also viewed

 

Been to Carolinas Aviation Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing