We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We touched a miracle!”

Carolinas Aviation Museum
Ranked #9 of 179 things to do in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“We touched a miracle!”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

The aviation museum of Charlotte was the only reason we came to Charlotte in the first place and we have not been disappointed! Of course our main goal was to see the Airbus that landed in the Hudson river but the nice little museum has so much more to offer and it's still growing. The staff was extremely helpful and patient and answered all of our questions. Definitively worth the trip and we recommended the museum to all our friends.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Flying_Marcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    187
    46
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Aviation Museum”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Very moving exhibits, from a Vietnam Copter, to the Miracle on the Hudson. Informative guides available to answer your questions if you want.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank yelladog4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Small Museum Worth A Visit”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I was in Charlotte for a business meeting, so I only had the Monday of my arrival to play tourist. Thanks to Trip Advisor and the Internet I was able to plan pretty well so as long as my flight wasn't delayed I'd be able to visit the Carolinas Aviation Museum on arrival. Not having a car but being on an expense account I jumped into the first taxi to get to the museum. It's not really possible to walk from the terminal (don't think there are any sidewalks either) and there's no shuttle bus to the other side of the airport, so without a car the $14 taxi is the only option. The highlight of the museum is Captain Sullenberger's Miracle on the Hudson, where the aircraft is set up, along with displays of items retrieved from the Hudson. There are also several informative video displays. Other exhibits include a DC-3 and numerous warbirds, training, and research aircraft. Unfortunately you can't go inside the aircraft nor can you walk out on the flight line (security as this is an active airport). Staff at the museum are available to answer any questions and are very helpful. I spent about 2 hours wandering around taking numerous photos and then re-taking some that didn't come out. This is not a large museum such as the Smithsonian Air & Space in Washington DC, or that run by the Commemorative Air Force in Midland TX, but it is nice and well worth the price of admission ($12).

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Relentless_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
210 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Nice little aviation museum”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Took my 2 nephews to the aviation museum to see the 'Miracle on the Hudson'. The museum was very interesting and informative, with educational value for everyone. I must say, the only reason we ventured there was to see the USAirways Hudson plane, which my nephews thought was 'so cool'. There were also displays of passengers belongings and videos of the event which added to the experience. In addition to the Hudson plane, there are displays of fighter jets, military helicopter, a Concorde replica, and smaller aircraft, along with displays of aviation history information and pictures of how 'classy' it used to be to fly. There are 'experts' there to answer any questions or simply chat about their flying experience (we met a guy who used to fly the Concorde). The facility is cooled by large fans, but we started to sweat after walking around for about 30 mins (and it was 100 degrees outside). But, it doesn't take much longer than that to see everything, so it wasn't a big deal. Thought it was worth the price, $12 adult/$8 child. After the museum, we drove over to the airport overlook and watched the airplanes departing. There was also a nice breeze, which was welcomed on such a hot day. Overall, a nice experience and glad we did it. If you have any interest in aviation, definitely worth checking out.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank travels4jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great value and informational”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Fantastic for kids. The only downside is that at the old one you could walk outside and climb up a small observation deck and watch the planes take off at Douglas 18L/36R which was really cool. However, they have done the museum tastefully and expansively. The 320 that went down in the Hudson was good addition.

Helpful?
Thank jjj0704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carolinas Aviation Museum also viewed

 

Been to Carolinas Aviation Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing