We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“everything was ok but the bath tub was not cleaned”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Charlotte / Northlake
Ranked #154 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    16
    45
    55
    142
See reviews for
69
74
31
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights for NASCAR and could not believe what I was seeing and smelling. Have to keep your shoes on everything including floors and counters are sticky. We wiped down counters before using them and the next day after cleaners arrive they are sticky again. They must clean with dirty rags. The mould in the bathroom is unbelievable in Canada it would have been shut down as a health hazard. The smell in the room was so bad that I wish it would have been smoked in to cover the horrible death smell. If my wife was with me instead of just a buddy we would have been gone in a minute even if we didn't get a refund. Stay away. We stayed in B in a lower unit.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbleheads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal C, General Manager at Super 8 Charlotte / Northlake, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Good Afternoon,

We are sorry to hear of your experience.

However, we average 30-50% occupancy every night and 80-100% on event nights. Most of our customers are repeats who never go anywhere else. They are attracted by the low rates, friendly staff and clean rooms.

I request you to kindly give us another visit.

Hal Christian, CLM
General Manager
Super 8 Motel
4930 Sunset Rd, Charlotte NC 28269
Tel: 704 598 7710
Fax 704 598 0760
abcthree@abcinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Will never stay here again place gets worse the more you look around. Smells mouldy power socks don't have covers just to name a few issue. At least the wifi works..... I won't stay here again and lt leaves a sour feeling about Super 8 in general

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonnycanuck34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal C, General Manager at Super 8 Charlotte / Northlake, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Good Afternoon Sir,

At the time you visited us we were undergoing a massive upgrade and this included the carpets.

I request you to kindly visit us again to experience the difference.

thanking you,

rgds

Hal Christian, CLM
General Manager
Super 8 Motel
4930 Sunset Rd, Charlotte NC 28269
Tel: 704 598 7710
Fax 704 598 0760
abcthree@abcinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARY
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Replace the filthy carpet. I have never stayed anyplace that had a dirtier floor. The beds were clean and comfortable. Everything else was adequate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank CURTIS M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal C, General Manager at Super 8 Charlotte / Northlake, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Good Afternoon Curtis,

Thank you for your frank review.

We are glad you liked our room. As regards the carpets, we have undertaken a massive carpet treatment program. You will be pleased to see the results..

Do come and visit us again.

Thanking you,

rgds

Hal Christian, CLM
General Manager
Super 8 Motel
4930 Sunset Rd, Charlotte NC 28269
Tel: 704 598 7710
Fax 704 598 0760
abcthree@abcinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Nasty rooms, everything seems "rigged" up. Exposed electrical wiring on hair dryer. Found wires were cut on hair dryer and the staff thought it would be ok just to put a couple wire connectors on it and it would be just fine. Very unsafe and very illegal. State fire marshal needs to pay a visit here. Probably not the only issue with the place. Just this room.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigd4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal C, General Manager at Super 8 Charlotte / Northlake, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Good Afternoon,

Yes you are correct about the wiring and we have taken steps to correct it.

Thank you for bringing it to our notice.

rgds

Hal Christian, CLM
General Manager
Super 8 Motel
4930 Sunset Rd, Charlotte NC 28269
Tel: 704 598 7710
Fax 704 598 0760
abcthree@abcinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

Do yourself a favor, pay a little more & STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE!!! Their was an issue with the water, the walls in the bathroom are dirt filled which have been spray panted over. As for the employees, well if your trying to check out and their playing on the computer you can expect to get attitude for making them get up and come to the night window. As for the ice machine, go buy it because the machine is broken. If you do complain about any issue you can expect to be be called stupid by the middle eastern man.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hethabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal C, General Manager at Super 8 Charlotte / Northlake, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Good Morning,

Thank you for your detailed review. This tells me that you have spend some time thinking this thru. First, let me apologise for all you experienced at the hotel. I have personally addressed the personal issues.

While you were there you must have noticed the massive upgrade program in our B building. Well half of the rooms are upgraded and customers who have stayed there just love it and have told us so.

I request you to come back again, you will be surprised.

best regards


Hal Christian
Gen, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn Northlake
Sleep Inn Northlake
#102 of 178 in Charlotte
232 reviews
0.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charlotte/Northlake
2.4 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel of Charlotte - WT Harris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Knights Inn Charlotte Airport
Knights Inn Charlotte Airport
#127 of 178 in Charlotte
130 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn Charlotte Northlake
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Charlotte / Northlake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Charlotte / Northlake

Property: Super 8 Charlotte / Northlake
Address: 4930 Sunset Rd, I-77 Exit #16A, Charlotte, NC 28269-2747
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Charlotte / Northlake 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Charlotte / Northlake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Charlotte Sunset Road Hotel Charlotte
Super Eight Charlotte
Charlotte Super Eight
Charlotte Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing