We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible, nasty, unsafe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 Charlotte / Northlake
Ranked #154 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
WV
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible, nasty, unsafe”
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Nasty rooms, everything seems "rigged" up. Exposed electrical wiring on hair dryer. Found wires were cut on hair dryer and the staff thought it would be ok just to put a couple wire connectors on it and it would be just fine. Very unsafe and very illegal. State fire marshal needs to pay a visit here. Probably not the only issue with the place. Just this room.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigd4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal C, General Manager at Super 8 Charlotte / Northlake, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Good Afternoon,

Yes you are correct about the wiring and we have taken steps to correct it.

Thank you for bringing it to our notice.

rgds

Hal Christian, CLM
General Manager
Super 8 Motel
4930 Sunset Rd, Charlotte NC 28269
Tel: 704 598 7710
Fax 704 598 0760
abcthree@abcinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    16
    45
    55
    142
See reviews for
69
74
31
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

Do yourself a favor, pay a little more & STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE!!! Their was an issue with the water, the walls in the bathroom are dirt filled which have been spray panted over. As for the employees, well if your trying to check out and their playing on the computer you can expect to get attitude for making them get up and come to the night window. As for the ice machine, go buy it because the machine is broken. If you do complain about any issue you can expect to be be called stupid by the middle eastern man.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hethabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal C, General Manager at Super 8 Charlotte / Northlake, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Good Morning,

Thank you for your detailed review. This tells me that you have spend some time thinking this thru. First, let me apologise for all you experienced at the hotel. I have personally addressed the personal issues.

While you were there you must have noticed the massive upgrade program in our B building. Well half of the rooms are upgraded and customers who have stayed there just love it and have told us so.

I request you to come back again, you will be surprised.

best regards


Hal Christian
Gen, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howlett Hill, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Average motel, around the clock security and room was decent, clean, about your normal motel room, maybe a little cleaner, great place if you just need a bed for a night, stayed during some time spent at charlotte motor speedway, is in great location almost walking distance from motel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal C, General Manager at Super 8 Charlotte / Northlake, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Good Morning,

Thank you for your appreciation of our hotel.

Hope to see you again next time around.

rgds

Hal Christian
Gen Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharpsburg, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

yes the hotel is older but it was very clean. The area was ok. The bed was very comfortable. Will stay again

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 88kimmy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal C, General Manager at Super 8 Charlotte / Northlake, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Good Morning,

Thank you very much for your appreciation of our Hotel.

best regards

Hal Christian
Gen Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coastal South Carolina, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

The staff was friendly and helpful but overall the hotel is awful.

This was a terrible experience! The room was dingy and dirty...carpet actually turned our socks black. The bathroom looked as if it had NEVER been thoroughly cleaned...mildew,soap scum,filthy toilet and nasty floor! We also were bitten by bugs of some sort the last night.This place needs an overhaul and an inspection. DISGUSTING!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal C, General Manager at Super 8 Charlotte / Northlake, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Good Morning,

I am sorry that your experience at hotel was not the best. However, I am pleased to announce that we are on a massive upgrade program. You may have seen a lot of activity in our B Building. Customers who have experienced our new rooms are very satisfied and make it a point of letting us know.

I hope to see you again.

best regards

Hal Christian
Gen. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

I was covering for a co-worker and had stayed at a few Super 8's before. After this experience I will not stay at this brand again. The only positive was the desk clerk was a fellow veteran and we swapped military stories for a few minutes. The room was the absolute worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Dirty, dingy and I felt very unsafe. The mattress was old and nasty. The box springs were torn and you could count the coils inside. It is one of those places after showering, you still feel dirty. Never, ever again.

Room Tip: Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cah3295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal C, General Manager at Super 8 Charlotte / Northlake, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Good Morning,

Thank you for your honest review.

However, I am pleased to announce that we are undergoing a massive upgrade programme.
Many customers who have experienced our new rooms are very satisfied and have made it a point to come and tell us.

I hope you give us another change to show you what we have done.

rgds

Hal Christian
Gen. Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new orleans
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2011

This place was horrible! i wrote several complaints to management explaining what happened to me during my stay (i wount go into the details here). All i have gotten in reasponse are condisending responses from whoever answers the mail and email there. I have no idea how this company can stay in business with such bad customer service. Do yourself the favor and spend 10 extra dollars to get a hotel that's door dosen't read "no refunds after 15 min."

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kdemajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal C, General Manager at Super 8 Charlotte / Northlake, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Good Morning,

Thank you for your honest review.

However, I am pleased to announce that we are undergoing a massive upgrade programme.
Many customers who have experienced our new rooms are very satisfied and have made it a point to come and tell us.

I hope you give us another change to show you what we have done.

rgds

Hal Christian
Gen. Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn Northlake
Sleep Inn Northlake
#102 of 178 in Charlotte
232 reviews
0.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charlotte/Northlake
2.4 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel of Charlotte - WT Harris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Knights Inn Charlotte Airport
Knights Inn Charlotte Airport
#127 of 178 in Charlotte
130 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn Charlotte Northlake
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Charlotte / Northlake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Charlotte / Northlake

Property: Super 8 Charlotte / Northlake
Address: 4930 Sunset Rd, I-77 Exit #16A, Charlotte, NC 28269-2747
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Charlotte / Northlake 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Charlotte / Northlake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Charlotte Sunset Road Hotel Charlotte
Super Eight Charlotte
Charlotte Super Eight
Charlotte Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing