We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MainStay Suites Charlotte
Ranked #117 of 180 Hotels in Charlotte
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Convenient location to freeway and access to downtown. "Deluxe" breakfast was not- standard fare with waffles, cereals, breads, yogurt, coffee (bad), juices, and apples. Rooms were clean with kitchenette providing utensils, microwave, dishwasher, frig, cook top, coffee maker, etc. We weren't able to use the pool as it was raining most days of the stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YolandaWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MainStayCLT, General Manager at MainStay Suites Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

I would like to Thank You for taking your time to comment on your stay. We consider our Hotel to be a friendly, hospitable home away from home. Our rooms are very spacious and we offer a great value. Since you did not get to use the pool, please come back on your next visit to Charlotte. We are excited about renovations that we are getting completed by March 1st, 2014. Not only will we have spacious rooms but also relaxing with a new look. Come back and see us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 106 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

We almost didn't stay here, because of a horrid experience with another hotel in this chain. This hotel restored our faith in the chain. The staff bend over backwards to be sure you have a great stay, and the hotel is very clean. The room we stayed in wasn't new, but it was throughly cleaned and very spacious. In addition, it is close enough to Carowinds to see the fireworks show. If we return to Charlotte, we will certainly stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jandcprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MainStayCLT, General Manager at MainStay Suites Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely comments on your stay back in June. We so appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback. We try to make our guest feel like they are at home while staying at our property. We hope that you will come back and stay with us when you are traveling back through Charlotte. We are starting renovations with a newer, fresher look and hope to see you again soon. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was my first time ever staying at a Mainstay Suite. I was only there one night but I would definitely stay again. It was nice and spacious. I was impressed. The size of the kitchenette was really nice. Dishwasher, full size fridge, etc. A very nice place to relax.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sat1922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MainStayCLT, General Manager at MainStay Suites Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

I would like to Thank you for your comments about our hotel- we like to hear that people enjoy what we have to offer. A nice,clean and spacious room at a good value. We look forward to seeing you in your future visits to Charlotte.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We really had a nice time! Our kids enjoyed it. It was clean and everyone was so nice to us. Very happy with our experience. Our kitten was very pleased as well. The breakfast was yummy and our space was perfect. The kids enjoyed tv time and relaxing.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kjurick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MainStayCLT, General Manager at MainStay Suites Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Thank you for your recent compliments about your stay at Mainstay Suites. We appreciate you taking your time to give us your feedback. Our goal is to make our guest feel the comfort of home and to give you a good experience. We hope that in the future trips to Charlotte, you will make a return visit to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I didn't want to drive back to Greensboro late after a work shop...knowing I would have to turn around and drive back for the next two days....It was late and very dark in a place I had never been before...I found my way to the exit and stopped at several popular hotels only to find the rates were too high for my budget. I pulled in to Main Stay looking for another hotel that I had just passed one street down....I decided to inquire since I was already in the parking lot to turn around to go back to the hotel I had just passed...The young man at the desk was very pleasant as he asked me if I understood that these were suites with cooking and larger rooms. I replied "yes", but was just asking "how much"....Thinking it would be much higher than the other places, I was losing hope of finding a place I felt safe in and could afford....the price he gave me...beat the others on the same street and only blocks apart by 30.00 to 70.00 for a single person, no-smoking suite.....I enjoyed the room and the bar at the kitchen was great for additional work, the room was clean and I was grateful to find the suite for less than a room price....would stay again....

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cecilia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MainStayCLT, General Manager at MainStay Suites Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

We are so glad that we were able to accommodate you while you were traveling through Charlotte. We are so happy that you felt safe and that we could help you with your budget .We look forward to your next visit to Charlotte and the MainStay Suites. Thank you for your feed back, it is most helpful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

This property is for the budget conscious, not the business commuter.

I was working in Ballantyne at late notice and all of the area hotels were fully booked.
Based on reviews here, this was the closest and highest rated.
I booked a room labelled "newer", but walking through the corridor in the morning, where housekeeping had other doors propped open, I couldn't see that there was any difference and suspect my room wasn't newer at all.

I specifically asked at check-in if there were any rooms that dogs were not permitted (as my last experience in Charlotte involved urine stains and barking at the homewood suites), well, I had dogs on either side of me and my room didn't smell fresh at all, so I suspect it was just a generic room and that I'd paid a little more for nothing.

The room smelled musty and kinda sweaty, like the carpet was past due changing. Basically, it smelled like a poor person's house.
It took two days before hotels in Ballantyne became available and I checked out as soon as I could after two nights.

In addition to the "l'eau de plebian" smell, noise was also a big issue, the building is cheaply constructed with wooden floors and the person in the room above me seemed to be pacing up and down walking on the ball of their feet and throwing things around until around midnight, then back up at 6am.

On a positive note, the staff were great, friendly and helpful and if I were more concerned with the bottom line, as many are, then this would have been a good deal, with its spacious feel and kitchenette, but as has been stated by others, this is not really for the business traveler and this may have been my mistake (in not simply commuting further).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCLimey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MainStayCLT, General Manager at MainStay Suites Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

I am so glad that you were able to find availability at our hotel during a busy time in Charlotte. I do so apologize that your stay was not what you had hoped for. We do strive to give excellent service and provide a clean and fresh hotel at a good value. We do have nicely upgraded rooms and would like very much for you to give us another try. You can call me personally to discuss your stay, so that I can reseach it further. Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

October 2012
This hotel had the best reviews. It seems primarily geared toward families with kids though. At least this appeared to be the the demographic when I stayed there. In other words I'm saying it was kind of noisy. Other than that the room was clean, spacious and comfortable. Breakfast, not so hot. Wi-fi signal spotty and weak. All in all though this is a great value if you are in the area for a while and want a cheap, decent place to cook your own food and set up camp. That is if you don't mind little kids being little kids next door. If you're a business traveler, like me, maybe it's not the best choice. I'm going to keep looking for the "perfect" Choice Hotel in this area.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
Thank steverinsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MainStayCLT, General Manager at MainStay Suites Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Thank you for your comments about your stay, we do have a lot of business travelers that stay with us and we appreciate you giving us the opportunity to serve you. At the time of your stay we were having some issues with our internet service, due to the feedback from our guest we were able to remedy the problem. We would appreciate you giving us another try, we feel that we are the right Choice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
1.7 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Charlotte/Executive Park
14.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites - Charlotte University
2.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Charlotte - Tyvola Rd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Sleep Inn University Place
Sleep Inn University Place
#81 of 180 in Charlotte
227 reviews
12.2 mi away
Sleep Inn Northlake
Sleep Inn Northlake
#103 of 180 in Charlotte
240 reviews
15.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Charlotte Northlake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MainStay Suites Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MainStay Suites Charlotte

Address: 7926 Forest Pine Dr, Charlotte, NC 28273-4600
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range: $89 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MainStay Suites Charlotte 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy all of the comforts of home at the pet-friendly MainStay Suites(R) hotel in Charlotte, NC. Conveniently located with easy access to Interstate 77 and less than 10 miles from Charlotte Douglas International Airport, our numerous amenities allow for an affordable and convenient short-term or extended stay. NASCAR fans will enjoy our location just 30 minutes from Charlotte Motor Speedway, and the following nearby attractions are even closer: Bank of America Stadium Charlotte Convention Center Carowinds amusement park Carolina Place mall Our spacious suites will make your stay enjoyable whether you're with us for days, weeks or even months. Each guest room includes fully-equipped kitchen facilities, a sofa sleeper, flat-screen television, hair dryer, and iron. Additional amenities include: Free deluxe continental breakfast featuring Belgian waffles and coffee Free premium cable television with movie channels Free weekday newspaper Free high-speed Internet access Corporate travelers will appreciate our on-site business center, public computer, and access to copy and fax services. When the work is finished, visit our fitness center, or enjoy some time relaxing by the Seasonal outdoor pool. Our extended stay hotel has ample free parking and features laundry facilities on the property. Book your stay today at the MainStay Suites in Charlotte, NC, and enjoy all of the luxuries of home for as long as you like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your MainStay Suites Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mainstay Hotel Charlotte
Mainstay Charlotte
Charlotte Mainstay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing