We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Place to Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wingate By Wyndham Charlotte Airport I-85 / I-485

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wingate By Wyndham Charlotte Airport I-85 / I-485
Ranked #54 of 176 Hotels in Charlotte
Gastonia, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Last night was my first time staying at Wingate by Wyndhan Charlotte Airport 1-85/1-485 Hotel. It was a very clean, nice and quiet facility. The staff was very professional and eager to please the residents. Even though I only stayed one night, I do plan to return and highly recommend it to my family and friends.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THESALESOFFICE, Director of Sales at Wingate By Wyndham Charlotte Airport I-85 / I-485, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review! We pride ourselves in location service and value and thank you for continuing to share your story about us. We look forward to the opportunity in hosting you again at the closest Wyndham hotel to Charlotte Douglas International Airport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    221
    101
    60
    23
See reviews for
162
136
70
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
109 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

During the winter storm, I was stranded in Charlotte as I was not able to catch my connecting flight to montreal. The airline put me up at the Wingate near the airport. I was expecting the worst.

However I was pleasantly surprised. For a budget hotel the room was clean and relatively spaceous. The staff was helpful and curteous.

The bathroom was clean and seemed to have been redone and probably the room as well. The furniture was classic but for the one night stay it was good. The room was equipped with wifi, fridge, wireless phone, desk, and flatscreen tv.

The gym is pretty big and has several machines with integrated TV for some of the machines as well as a large flat screen on the wall. The pool was not open at this time.

Breakfast is included in the stay.

The downside was that you can hear people in the hall and flushing in other rooms.

In summary, better than than expected.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis_M99_MTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THESALESOFFICE, Director of Sales at Wingate By Wyndham Charlotte Airport I-85 / I-485, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Hello! Nothing worse than being delayed to your final destination however we are grateful to have had the opportunity to introduce you to our brand and location. We pride ourselves in location service and value and hope you will continue to share your story with fellow travelers. We look forward to the opportunity in hosting you again at the closest Wyndham hotel to Charlotte Douglas International Airport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The room was very clean; bathroom had a handicap shower access not sure if that was the only room available but that was a bit odd; Room had refrig, coffee maker, iron, blow dryer, large bathroom; The desk clerk recommended ordering out to eat from Bankers since it was late at night; it was good seafood...

Drivers of shuttle very courteous ......pleasant stay

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THESALESOFFICE, Director of Sales at Wingate By Wyndham Charlotte Airport I-85 / I-485, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for allowing us to host you on your most recent stay! I understand that a handicap room would not be ideal when not origionall booking one. I hope that this wasn't too much of an inconvenience to you as we will be sure to adjust our room pairing technique upon your next stay with us. I am certainly happy to hear that the recommendation on the local restaurant was an excellent choice. Thank you for your time in providing feedback about your stay and we would be honored to have the opportunity in hoping you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

My family of 5 stayed at this Wingate for 2 nights. First night was before we flew out of Charlotte to go to out of the country. The second night was the night was our return into Charlotte. The hotel is fairly modern in appearance. I was pleasantly surprised how clean the overall facility was. Apparently, a lot of pilots stay at this hotel since it is right across the street from the airport (3 minute shuttle ride).

Check in was a breeze and they were able to give us adjoining rooms (we had 2 families as 1 group). The room was quite large. We had a king bed with a pull out sleeper sofa. The king bed was clean and comfortable. We didn't have enough pillows but the staff provided us with extra. The pillows were a bit on the "fluffy" side which is better that having flat ones. The pull out sofa mattress was the typical thin pad thats about 6 inches thick. My son didn't complain about it being uncomfortable though.

The breakfast was totally different for each of our two mornings. The first was not appealing at all. The second though had scrambled eggs and bacon. They have the typical muffins/pastries, toast, yogurt, waffle maker, etc that you will find in most hotels of this category.

I was able to leave my car in the hotel parking lot during our vacation (all week) with no problems. I was a bit worried because the area around this hotel is a bit "sketchy" in appearance. But my car seemed untouched and was exactly the way I left it. Very nice feature for us to take advantage of.

We usually don't fly out of another city but because this trip was on Christmas week, connecting flights out of our home city were a nightmare. If needed, I would would gladly book this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snorkeljunky2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THESALESOFFICE, Director of Sales at Wingate By Wyndham Charlotte Airport I-85 / I-485, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for your kind review! I am happy to hear that your stay with us was convenient and that you had no problems while traveling. We do take great pride in our hotel and I'm sorry to hear that your two experiences with our breakfast were inconsistent. On behalf of all of us, I sincerely apologize as a good breakfast is the best start to your day. We will be improving the consistence of our breakfast and I appreciate your feedback. We would be honored to welcome you back time and time again! Thank you for your time in writing your review about your recent stay. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
0.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Charlotte Airport
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Charlotte Airport Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Charlotte Airport South/ I-77 Tyvola
1.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Airport
Comfort Suites Airport
#73 of 176 in Charlotte
3.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Charlotte Airport North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate By Wyndham Charlotte Airport I-85 / I-485? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate By Wyndham Charlotte Airport I-85 / I-485

Property: Wingate By Wyndham Charlotte Airport I-85 / I-485
Address: 4238 Business Center Drive, I-85 Exit 32 - Little Rock Road, Charlotte, NC 28214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#54 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate By Wyndham Charlotte Airport I-85 / I-485 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wingate by Wyndham Charlotte Airport I85 - I485 is the perfect launching point from Charlotte Douglas International Airport (CLT) as one of the closest hotels to the airport at only 1.4 miles. Begin your pleasures in the heart of Charlotte at only 6 miles. Two complimentary shuttle buses are available for pick up and drop off at the Airport and within a 5 mile radius of our hotel. For your extended travel plans book our Park & Fly for long-term parking and curbside Airport drop off. While staying with us request an Uber and be sure to visit Uptown Charlotte to see our NFC Champions Carolina Panthers at Bank of America Stadium, the Charlotte Hornets at Spectrum Arena/Timewarner Cable Arena a popular basketball and concert venue, or Charlotte's new Charlotte Knights BB&T Stadium. Neighboring the Wingate by Wyndham Charlotte Airport I85 - I485 is the US National Whitewater Center and the infamous Miracle on the Hudson at the Carolinas Aviation Museum. Follow the life of Billy Graham at the Billy Graham Library. For our golf enthusiast you may be excited to know we will soon welcome the country's popular Top Golf complex in early 2017. Families might also enjoy a day at Carowinds Amusement Park, Discovery Place, NASCAR Hall of Fame or Charlotte Motor Speedway. We love our military and support Charlotte's growing Air & Army National Guard, be sure to inquire about our Government rates. Business guests appreciate our multiple meeting spaces, Wyndham Rewards and our proximity to restaurant's within walking distance or availability through our complimentary shuttle service. Our hotel provides free Wi-Fi and our Business Center is open 24 hours. Do not forget as you enjoy these amenities that you are also welcome to enjoy our private Fitness Center and coming early 2017 our new indoor and outdoor lounge complete with Food & Beverage options. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Wingate By Wyndham Charlotte Airport I-85 / I-485 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Charlotte Airport Hotel Charlotte
Wingate Charlotte Airport
Wyndham Charlotte
Charlotte Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing