We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Management, Customer Sevice, and the rooms were EXCELLENT.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Suburban Extended Stay Hotel of Charlotte - WT Harris

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel of Charlotte - WT Harris
Ranked #118 of 176 Hotels in Charlotte
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Management, Customer Sevice, and the rooms were EXCELLENT.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

My stay was wonderful and the service was phenomenal. I was exteremely impressed with the customer service and how delightful everything was. Wherever I travel, I'm looking for for a Suburban to stay at.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kennypooh26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz M, General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel of Charlotte - WT Harris, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your experience about your stay here at the Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Charlotte Northlake. We are very pleased that you were happy with everything and we hope that if you visit the area again that you will come back and stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    6
    7
    6
    6
See reviews for
7
5
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Traveling to Charlotte for the Democratic National Convention and found this property about 10 miles north of the city. Accomodations included a room with small kitchen area. Advertised as internet available free of charge for all guests. Internet was non existent. I could never connect. Property had limited staffing and amenities. Location was close to interstate and had a restaurant next door.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy29912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJ16520, Public Relations Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel of Charlotte - WT Harris, responded to this review, July 31, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to complete and online review of our hotel we really appreciate it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a week during the 2011 Christmas/New Year's holiday season visiting family. The hotel is at a pretty good location in the middle of a Waffle House and a small mini shopping center. If you drive 2 miles down the road you will be in the Northlake Shopping Mall/Center.

The room itself was very basic, a bed, TV, extra chair with otto man, two drawers, a table with two chairs, a kitchenette (sink, two burners, mini fridge, microwave, glass cups/plates, saucer pan, and even a sterlized set of cutlery), phone, alarm clock, and bathroom. My husband usually lives out of hotel rooms and he said that it was nicer than most he's been in, I think mainly because it had a kitchenette. But when we first checked in the room did have a smoking/burning smell to it, we figured it was the AC unit and it was nothing a little Frebreeze couldn't take care of.

We were only in the room at 11pm-12pm, but when we would return to the room to "call it a night" the people above us were always so loud running back and forth until almost 2am. I didn't like that the front desk is ONLY open between 7am-11pm, but if we really had a problem we could call the room that the employee was staying in for any assistance.

We did have a problem with our key cards, only because the battery on the door lock was dying and we could not enter our room. We did than have to call the employee at 12:30am to help us, she was very nice about having to come down and helping us. She let us in our room and let us know that maintance will be down in the morning to fix the problem. And the maintance team did come and fix the door lock...at 8am...while we were still sleeping. They weren't loud about it, but I just wished that they would have given us a set time. But I think they fix it this way just so that you feel safe that your things aren't being touched.

Housekeepers don't even go into your room until you have checked out. If you need new towels you have to "turn them in" to the housekeepers and pick up new ones. We did not really care for the shower, it wasn't a tub, just a half-shower(?). My husband had more problems with it then I did, such as the curtain clinging to him while he was trying to shower. But it was handicapped friendly (if your looking for that) with two seats and an arm bar.

My only real complaint (besides the noisy neighbors) was that when I was walking between the corner of the bed and the dresser to get the the closet there was a nail sticking out of the bed and it did leave a cut on my leg that was about 1 1/2-2 inches long. I let the front desk know about this hazard when we checked out. To keep from getting cut again I had to make sure that the top blankets always covered the corner.

All in all this was a good value in a good location.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arhacolon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJ16520, Public Relations Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel of Charlotte - WT Harris, responded to this review, July 31, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel, we apologies for any problems you had during your stay and we are working on correcting these issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

Having to stay in Charlotte for several weeks, I asked around and found co-workers who had stayed here and enjoyed it. I liked that the hotel was not directly off the exit. The parking lot was very well lit adding the the feeling of safety. I foudn the staff very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. The extra benefits of having the Charlotte Sports Center, a great gym, across the street and being able to purchase a weekly pass through the hotel for CHEAP was a bonus! The room was clean, the guest laundry secure and the grounds well kept. For long term stays, this is the place to be!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJ16520, Public Relations Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel of Charlotte - WT Harris, responded to this review, July 31, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to completing and online review of our hotel. And thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

stayed there for business travel, had all the comforts of home, but what really made it "home" was the staff, led by the awesome manager, Audrey, who made sure everything was taken care of for me.

Thanks see you next time in Charlotte!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexSales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJ16520, Public Relations Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel of Charlotte - WT Harris, responded to this review, July 31, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to complete and online review of our hotel. WE know you having many options to choose from and we are glad that you choose to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mount
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2010

If you need a place to stay with good value and dont need the extras this is it

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank knives4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJ16520, Public Relations Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel of Charlotte - WT Harris, responded to this review, July 31, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to do a review on the property. We take pride in offering a clean and affordable hotel. Thanks again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you in the future should you need hotel accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
89 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2007

My husband and I chose this hotel for one reason--it was the least expensive hotel within ten miles of Lowe's Motor Speedway that still had rooms available over Memorial Day Weekend. We were going to Charlotte for the NASCAR race and only staying one night, which I am more than thankful for now, as this hotel was overpriced and awful.

When we checked in, the front desk staff was friendly and the lobby and bathroom were clean. The outside of the hotel also looked very nice. We had to check in early (11:15 AM) and get over to the track, so they were nice enough to give us our keys even though our room wasn't ready. We were okay with that, but now I wish we had gotten a look at the room before leaving for the day!

By the time we got back to the hotel that night, we were tired and sweaty from a long day at the racetrack. It was warm out, but the room was so freezing we had to turn the heat on. It took us forever to figure out that for some reason, the bathroom light was wired to a switch by the door to the hallway, not to the switch in the bathroom itself, which was frustrating. Also, we were given a handicapped room. In my experience, if you are not handicapped, hotels will clarify that it is okay that they are giving you a handicapped room, but this was not the case at this hotel. We were too tired to deal with it, so we went right to bed, and the bed itself was awful. The floor would have been more comfortable, there were only two flat pillows in the entire room, and the "comforter" felt disgusting and grimy.

Memorial Day weekend or not, kitchenette or not, there is no way this hotel is worth $108/night. If I had booked a stay of more than one night or spent more than nine hours in the room, I would have complained.

  • Liked — proximity to Lowe's Motor Speedway
  • Disliked — overpriced, uncomfortable bed
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ageeksaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJ16520, Public Relations Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel of Charlotte - WT Harris, responded to this review, July 31, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel on TripAdvisor.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
17.1 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Charlotte-Pineville
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Charlotte Northlake
6.8 mi away
Knights Inn Charlotte Airport
Knights Inn Charlotte Airport
#117 of 176 in Charlotte
3.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Rodeway Inn Charlotte \ Downtown
Rodeway Inn Charlotte \ Downtown
#113 of 176 in Charlotte
3.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
4.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Charlotte UNCC
Red Roof Inn Charlotte UNCC
#102 of 176 in Charlotte
3.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
2.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charlotte/Northlake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suburban Extended Stay Hotel of Charlotte - WT Harris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suburban Extended Stay Hotel of Charlotte - WT Harris

Property: Suburban Extended Stay Hotel of Charlotte - WT Harris
Address: 8615 Hankins Road, Charlotte, NC 28269
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 176 Hotels in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Suburban Extended Stay Hotel of Charlotte - WT Harris 2*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Choice Hotels so you can book your Suburban Extended Stay Hotel of Charlotte - WT Harris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlotte Extended Stay
Extended Stay Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing