We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I like Residence Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Charlotte Piper Glen
Ranked #94 of 177 Hotels in Charlotte
Franklinville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I like Residence Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed here a month or two ago and everything fit my needs. My room was clean, the bed comfortable. I love how there's a snack/light dinner available most nites in the lobby. Normally I'll go out for dinner when out of town, but one night I wasn't starving and it was taco night and was very good. Not a full meal, because it was tacos only but it was enough for me. Breakfast is always great and the selection is wonderful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eileen0862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig A, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte Piper Glen, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We always love to hear feedback from our guests. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope that if you are in the Charlotte Area again that you will come back and see us. Thanks Again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    33
    19
    18
    5
See reviews for
48
12
3
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Greenwood, South Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

My husband and I have stayed several times at this hotel in the last 5 years since it is conveniently located near my daughter's home. I have watched this nice property decline over the years. We most frequently stay in a 1 bedroom suite, but this time, even though I made my reservation in advance, we were put in a studio room. I had requested the 5th floor and that is where were were...Room 510. The clerk at the desk told me we would be in a "studio room". She seemed a bit apologetic and I could understand why as soon as we entered the room! I have never seen a room at ANY hotel as tiny as this!! The carpet is worn, the furniture was cracked, old, and uncomfortable. I called the desk requesting another room. She told me that she would normally upgrade me, but they were totally booked. She did say she would take $20. off our bill. Wow! We took a deep breath and made the best of a bad situation. The bed was uncomfortable, the kitchen area was so small there was not enough room to put the little bit of silverware in a drawer, so it was sitting on top of the microwave, etc. We went down for the complimentary breakfast which used to be very nice. The lady in charge was very nice, but the available items were indeed sparse!! Usually, there is a bit of fruit...this time there was only pineapple chunks and a few whole apples...usually there is some sort of bacon or sausage...this time no meat at all...usually a nice selection of yogurt...this time there were maybe 6 containers total sitting there...all around a huge disappointment, especially since it used to be so nice. They serve breakfast from 6:30 until 9:30...we were there at about 7:30 AM. I actually felt really sorry for the nice lady working there...she was so very nice with a super smile, but I think she must have been embarrassed to not have more to offer guests.
There are no vending machines on the 5th floor...or any floor. There are signs directing you to them, but they are not there. You must trek down to the desk for drinks or snacks, but neither my husband nor I could find anyone working at the desk either time we went down.
This place is located in a rather upscale area and the outside looks OK, but, sadly, it has a long way to go to be once again be considered a place I would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Choose a room at another hotel...:-(
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mimi5641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig A, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte Piper Glen, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your stay with us. We appreciate you being a loyal customer with us. I went back and looked at your reservation and you were booked for a one bedroom suite which is what room 510 is. 510 is however one of our handicap accessible rooms and that is why there are a few differences in the rooms like the silverware being placed on the counter and not in a drawer. Our hotel is due for an upcoming renovation and I apologize if a few things have shown their wear quicker then others. We have recently recovered the arms of the chairs in the rooms that desperately needed it. I am sorry that your stay was not up to our usual standards and I thank you for letting me know. Our goal is to provide all of our guests with clean comfortable rooms and exceptional service and your feedback will help us better achieve that. Once again thank you for staying with us and I apologize for any inconveniences that you may have had while with us. I hope that you come back and give us another chance to show you what a great hotel we have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for the first time at the Residence Inn Piper Glen this month with my usual hotel in the area booked. Was overall a nice spot. Rooms were clean. Appliances were a bit dated but functional and served their purpose - nothing broken or unkempt. Beds weren't the best, hence my average rating on the rooms. Just seemed to be older and fairly firm - if that's what you like, then no problem. Staff was excellent - very warm and inviting. Amenities were also above what I would expect with the customary daily breakfast, but also a cocktail and dinner hour. Very nice outside patio and seating area with small firepit. All said, a good hotel with a lot of amenities in comparison to similarly priced hotels I've stayed at.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig A, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte Piper Glen, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give a review of your stay. Also, thank your for all of the great comments. I'm apologize that the bed was not to your liking, but i'm glad that you enjoyed the rest of your stay. The next time that you are in the area, we hope that you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
546 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

I attended a training session in Charlotte and the facilitators chose the Residence Inn as the hotel to stay in for the duration of the training. I was very pleased with the accommodations. Clean room, full kitchen, breakfast, and friendly staff - what more could you ask for in a hotel!

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ADolores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig A, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte Piper Glen, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback. We are glad that you were so pleased with your stay. Please come back and see us again the next time that you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myrtle beach
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

I Always stay at Marriott, Primarily Residence Inn. I actually lived in one while my son was in the hospital. I try to give my honest opinion, and be fair with my expectations.

The outside of this property is beautiful, the location is great. It is in a very nice part of town, and feels very safe.

check-in was fine. The lady at the front desk was extremely helpful and courtesy. that's about the best thing I can say for the front desk. The rest of the stay, I never saw anyone at the desk. I actually waited for almost 10 minutes to pay for a soda from the market there. I am glad this hotel was in a safe location because anyone could walk in the hotel via the front door, which is scary. We came in one night via the front door at 1130 PM and no one was at the front desk. We were up front chatting for several minutes and never saw anyone behind the desk. Made me a little Leary about our safety. You do not have to use a key card to get in the front door, the doors just automatically open.

We always get a 2 bedroom suite and are rarely disappointed. However, this Marriott needs some updating. The carpets were dirty, we had no trash bags in ANY trash cans ( more on that in a minute) and the furniture was VERY worn. The chair looked like a wild animal had gotten a hold of it.

Okay, so here is how the hotel handled one of my complaints. When we noticed that we did not have any trash bags in the cans , I called the front desk. we were traveling with our 9 month old and you can imagine how important a trash can is. The front desk answered the phone ( 830 PM) , I informed them about the missing bags and the VERY RUDE GIRL stated " you can come get some down here". I informed her that we were in our PJ's with our baby asleep and that she would need to bring them to our room. ( we were on the first floor, not a far walk for her at all). She rudely said it will "be awhile". 15 minutes later she banged on our door, basically threw the trash bags at me and kept walking. I called out to her " Excuse me, what is your name...she snidely told me. This is not the customer service that I am used to receiving through Marriott, so I emailed Elite Customer Service.

I received a canned type response with the name of a manager that would be calling me. When I had heard nothing by afternoon, I stopped by the front desk and asked to speak with the manager. I was informed that there " was no manager available on weekends" really......

I again emailed Elite customer service and informed them that no one had contacted me. About 4 hrs later I got a VM from a very polite, well spoken lady who apologized for our experience. They gave us a partial room credit and some extra bonus points on our Marriott Rewards card. Although this was greatly appreciated it does not make up for the lack of Customer Service, Lack of safety, and badly needed updating/repairs in the room. I think that I have reasonable expectations and you can read my other reviews on Marriott's. I try to be fair and only state the facts. I hope this helps....

As a side note....The breakfast was just average. They were out of apple juice, yogurt parfaits and
several other standard key items that are available at other Residence INN's. While this could be an isolated situation...they certainly did not make any effort to replenish during our stay.

On a positive note the staff that attended to the breakfast area was courtesy and kind. They helped us make a waffle , as they could see we had our hands full. that was very nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scnurseMyrtleBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig A, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte Piper Glen, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give a review of your stay at the Residence Inn Charlotte Piper Glen. Our goal is to provide all of our guest with a clean, comfortable room and exceptional customer service. I apologize that we did not accomplish our goal during your stay. Thank you for your compliments about the service you received from our staff at check in and during breakfast. I apologize that the other issues that you had were not handled to the best of our ability. I hope that you will come back and give us another chance to show you what a great hotel we really are. Once again thank you for staying with us and for you honest feedback and I apologize for the inconveniences that you had while you were here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Friendly and helpful while having breakfast with family. The breakfast host was very kind and attentive and so was the front desk staff. Very close to major areas like restaurants, mall, movie theatre and so much more.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5camping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig A, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte Piper Glen, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. Our customers feedback is always important to us. Thank you also for the kind words about our staff. They really do a great job and I am very proud of them for that. Please come back and stay with us again if you are in the area. Thanks and have a great day!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
724 reviews
185 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Very comfortable properly located about 10 miles south of downtown Charlotte. Check-in was quick and efficient. Room was clean, neat. Nothing fancy but quite comfortable. Nice breakfast set-up with good array of selections. Friendly and professional staff. Plenty of restaurants in the area. If in area will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig A, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte Piper Glen, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Jon,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte
1.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charlotte Ballantyne Area
1.9 mi away
Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne
Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne
#36 of 177 in Charlotte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
2.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Charlotte Ballantyne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlotte Ballantyne Area
4.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 6 in Pineville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
4.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charlotte - Pineville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Charlotte Piper Glen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Charlotte Piper Glen

Property: Residence Inn Charlotte Piper Glen
Address: 5115 Piper Station Drive, Charlotte, NC 28277-6513
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 177 Hotels in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Charlotte Piper Glen 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Charlotte Piper Glen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Charlotte Piper Glen Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing