We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, friendly service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Charlotte Uptown
Ranked #68 of 177 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Glen Allen, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good location, friendly service”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Very pleased with the excellent service. When I mentioned that we had never been in Charlott before, the front desk had the concierge gave us a quick tour around town. Also, Our room was upgraded to two rooms suite which definitely the best customer service Win me over:) Parking is $11 which is very reasonable for a city hotel. Breakfast had very good varieties.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlottehotelGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
I was so pleased to hear that you had such a great stay at our property. We pride ourselves on excellent customer service and exceeding our guest's expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    102
    19
    8
    3
See reviews for
99
88
24
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This hotel was not up to Marriott or Residence Inn standards. The lobby was nice, clean and tasteful decorated and the breakfast was good. That was pretty much where it ends. Our first room was dirty when we got to it, when we went back down the girl at the front desk was sitting on the desk with her back to us, the other girl was waiting on someone, finally ( I would say 5 minutes maybe more) the girl on the desk saw us, ask if we need to be helped then got down off the desk. The manager’s reception ran out of food about 25 minutes into it and didn’t refill until people started to complain. The worst thing was we had requested a 2 bedroom suite, got a one bedroom because they were sold out and even that we could have dealt with but the sofa was so bad we couldn’t sleep. My hip hurt for 2 days! Really, if you don’t need the sofa this hotel would be fine, but if you do, look for something else.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itraveltons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlottehotelGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your input. I am very sorry to hear that we were sold out of two bedroom suites during your stay. They are quite popular. I would like to apologize for sending you to a dirty room as well. That is a rare occurrence at our property and just not acceptable. We do have a small supply of new sleeper mattresses available upon request and also offer egg crate mattress toppers. I am sorry that you were not offered one or both of these options.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
111 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed here for one night on a Saturday. Upon checking in, my credit card was swiped and was given my room keys and told the room I was in. That was it, no directions to elevators, no mention of breakfast in the morning or anything. Ordered the romance package, received bottle of kinda cheap $8 champagne and a plate of fruit ( Honey dew, pineapple ). Package was described as bottle of champagne and chocolates and breakfast for two? Breakfast is already included with the stay, so pretty much paid $20 for an $8 bottle of champagne and maybe $2 worth of fruit. We were looking forward to the chocolates as advertised, not fruit. Also desk clerk sort of ruined the surprise by telling us she would be bringing the champagne up in a few minutes while we were walking to our room. Room was nice, we had the executive suite which has a balcony with a great view of the city and some nice construction as an added bonus...just kidding...Construction work started at 7am on a Sunday morning, which woke us up early. Bed was hard and pillows were small and extra requested seemed to be absent. I even requested extra pillows and a high floor ( we got 4th floor ) while reservation was made. Also room temperature never seemed to cool down even with A/C set on coldest setting. Breakfast was pretty good and had a nice selection, but no bacon??? Breakfast staff were very polite and cleared tables promptly. I was expecting more for the price paid for a single night stay.

Room Tip: Don't spend the extra $20 on the romance package, not worth it. Parking costs $11/day. Construct...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eric s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

I can recommend this establishment very highly, staff are very helpful and rooms very clean. 20 mins from airport.
The very casual happy hour in the afternoon is great chance to talk to the staff and other guests if you like. Close to NASCAR hall of fame and other venues
All in all very happy with our stay and can highly recommend.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dave Rhonda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlottehotelGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and for your kind words. We do work on our guest service every day and are in a very desirable area. I'm glad that you enjoyed the evening manager's social as well. Please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We think it's overrated. If you want a large space, this is for you. We had the equivalent of a one room apartment. The front desk was very friendly. It's fine and functional--but not fancy. Both the breakfast and evening food are nice to have but are mediocre. Our biggest concern is the construction activity--across the street and literally the street itself. If you walk to the center of downtown it's unavoidable. You'll also hear it both day and night. We would stay again but it wouldn't be our first choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chap4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlottehotelGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
I wanted to thank you for staying with us recently. We do have a lot of construction around the property. The projects are a baseball stadium, a city park and an apartment complex. When these projects are completed we will be in one of the most sought after areas in the Uptown. Please come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountainside, New Jersey
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed here for a swim meet back in April. The room was clean. The service was friendly. The breakfast was good. Walking distance to town and restaurants and Nascar hall of fame. All in all we thought this hotel provided great service for the money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlottehotelGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our property. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to have you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Good location in Charlotte downtown area especially if you are going to Panthers or have business. The staff is friendly and courteous. A happy hour is available each evening which provides draft beer and cheap wine for 2 hours. They also serve free food during happy hour but it is substandard. You can order from the menu but the food is average at best. Had some Chicken Tenders which I thought would be impossible to ruin and they were rubbery and not very hot. The rooms are beginning to show their age and appear fairly well worn. One other issue is they allow pets and the smell as you go into many of the rooms is the carpet deodorant. For the price this is at best an average facility.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which has not had animals in it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlottehotelGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for your honest and sincere feedback. I'm glad that you enjoyed most of your stay. We do allow pets and have designated rooms for them. These suites are thoroughly cleaned and sanitized after each pet visit. We normally receive very high marks on our food and very sorry that you did not enjoy your chicken tenders. We would be glad to credit your account for that item if you wish to contact me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Third Ward
Courtyard Charlotte City Center
Second Ward
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown
First Ward
Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Third Ward
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Second Ward
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Charlotte Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Charlotte Uptown

Property: Residence Inn Charlotte Uptown
Address: 404 S Mint St, Charlotte, NC 28202-1510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Third Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#10 Green Hotel in Charlotte
#23 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#40 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Charlotte Uptown 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Photo of a standard Studio room. All rooms have fully furnished kitchens, couches, reclining chairs, work desks and more. Renovated in 2008 and 2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Residence Inn Charlotte Uptown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Charlotte Uptown Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing