We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Charlotte Uptown
Ranked #68 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

I can recommend this establishment very highly, staff are very helpful and rooms very clean. 20 mins from airport.
The very casual happy hour in the afternoon is great chance to talk to the staff and other guests if you like. Close to NASCAR hall of fame and other venues
All in all very happy with our stay and can highly recommend.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dave Rhonda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlottehotelGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and for your kind words. We do work on our guest service every day and are in a very desirable area. I'm glad that you enjoyed the evening manager's social as well. Please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    101
    19
    8
    3
See reviews for
97
88
24
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We think it's overrated. If you want a large space, this is for you. We had the equivalent of a one room apartment. The front desk was very friendly. It's fine and functional--but not fancy. Both the breakfast and evening food are nice to have but are mediocre. Our biggest concern is the construction activity--across the street and literally the street itself. If you walk to the center of downtown it's unavoidable. You'll also hear it both day and night. We would stay again but it wouldn't be our first choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chap4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlottehotelGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
I wanted to thank you for staying with us recently. We do have a lot of construction around the property. The projects are a baseball stadium, a city park and an apartment complex. When these projects are completed we will be in one of the most sought after areas in the Uptown. Please come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountainside, New Jersey
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed here for a swim meet back in April. The room was clean. The service was friendly. The breakfast was good. Walking distance to town and restaurants and Nascar hall of fame. All in all we thought this hotel provided great service for the money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlottehotelGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our property. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to have you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Good location in Charlotte downtown area especially if you are going to Panthers or have business. The staff is friendly and courteous. A happy hour is available each evening which provides draft beer and cheap wine for 2 hours. They also serve free food during happy hour but it is substandard. You can order from the menu but the food is average at best. Had some Chicken Tenders which I thought would be impossible to ruin and they were rubbery and not very hot. The rooms are beginning to show their age and appear fairly well worn. One other issue is they allow pets and the smell as you go into many of the rooms is the carpet deodorant. For the price this is at best an average facility.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which has not had animals in it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlottehotelGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for your honest and sincere feedback. I'm glad that you enjoyed most of your stay. We do allow pets and have designated rooms for them. These suites are thoroughly cleaned and sanitized after each pet visit. We normally receive very high marks on our food and very sorry that you did not enjoy your chicken tenders. We would be glad to credit your account for that item if you wish to contact me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This was our first experience with a high rise Residence Inn. It was marvelous. Everyone was incredibly helpful. The front desk staff, the bar tender, the shuttle drivers, everyone was great. The shuttle was really good because it took us within a two mile radius of the hotel; downtown shopping, restaurants, the venue for our daughter's graduation from Culinary school. It saved parking, finding a parking place and the hassle of downtown traffic. The hotel is across the street from the football stadium and on the opposite side they are building a AAA baseball park and community area that really looks fine. Anytime you are going to Charlotte, this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Get a room facing north, especially if you are a football fan. The Panther's practice field is...
See more room tips
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We had a conference in Charlotte at the convention center and booked a 2 bedroom suite for 4 nights. This ended up being a perfect location (about a 3.5 block walk to the convention center) and suite for our needs!
We enjoyed the happy hour and breakfast. The area where the food was served was overly crowded (we came at different times and it was always crowded) and the staff had trouble keeping up with clean bowls and silverware but the breakfast selection was great!
The front desk staff was exceptionally helpful and friendly - they really made us feel welcome and like we were coming home after a day at our conference!
Would definitely stay here again if in Charlotte!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjreimann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
va
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The bed is very comfortable, the room is spacious and the location is close to a number of city events.

The hotel gave me a smaller room than the one I paid for. I was supposed to have a room with a separate bedroom, but this suite did not.

Also, some disclosure before I booked on the extremely loud next door construction that woke me up at 630 would have been nice. Nothing like a jackhammer first thing in the morning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soulslayer0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlottehotelGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for your honest and sincere feedback. Yes, we do currently have a lot of construction around the property. Unfortunately we cannot control that and if Charlotte wants to continue to become a world class city there will continue to be more construction in the Uptown area. Our team members are expected to notify our guests of the noise to locate a room that is more quiet if requested. The construction companies are complying with no noise before 7:30am going forward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Third Ward
Courtyard Charlotte City Center
Second Ward
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown
First Ward
Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Third Ward
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Second Ward
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Charlotte Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Charlotte Uptown

Property: Residence Inn Charlotte Uptown
Address: 404 S Mint St, Charlotte, NC 28202-1510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Third Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#10 Green Hotel in Charlotte
#23 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#40 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Charlotte Uptown 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Photo of a standard Studio room. All rooms have fully furnished kitchens, couches, reclining chairs, work desks and more. Renovated in 2008 and 2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Charlotte Uptown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Charlotte Uptown Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing