We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Charlotte Uptown
Ranked #65 of 177 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

We attended a wedding in Charlotte and stayed for one night. The check-in staff (Kate) were friendly and efficient. Daren, the shuttle driver, was quick to add that he would be glad to take us anywhere within a two mile radius--which includes all of the downtown area. Because of the excessive heat, we ate dinner at the hotel and the food was really good. John, the "proprietor" of the restaurant was friendly and came over to chat with us about the Redskins. The room was comfortable, good water pressure in the shower and the kitchen had everything we would have needed if we had cooked in. But the best part was the breakfast! No "powdered" eggs on their buffet--unbelievable selection of food and the staff all wore smiles on their faces.
GREAT place to stay.

Room Tip: Room 1011 was very close to the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PinehurstGolfGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    101
    19
    8
    3
See reviews for
98
88
24
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

Right down the street from Bank of America stadium. Front desk & shuttle service are fabulous

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coachally1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Kansas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed for one night at this hotel. The 2 room suite was very nice as we stayed with another couple. The privacy and the two bathrooms made for an ideal setup. The location was a little out of the way of the night life in downtown Charlotte, but that kept things pretty quiet outside of the hotel. It's a little pricey but I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ranhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

First night there we were surrounded by a rowdy wedding party. NO sleep until after 4 am! Consulted front desk at 7 am. Was assured it would be "handled" when manager came in. Absolutely NO response from ANYONE the entire week. We initiated a meeting with the assistant manager. Were told the individual at the desk had been there just a short time. Still no acknowledgement of the situation. NO RESOLUTION!
We had booked six months in advance and requested a quiet area- Didn't happen! Where was the training??

Room Tip: Check your placement CAREFULLY, especially on weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bnjmartin01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlottehotelGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear guest: I was very disappointed to hear that you had a poor stay with us. We are a very busy hotel but that amount of noise should not have to be endured, especially when you asked for a quiet room. We are normally very responsive to our guest's needs/wants but we obviously failed in your case. Please call me directly and I will do my best to resolve this.
David Love, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

We just came back from a long weekend getaway of Nascar Racing with friends. We have never been to Charlotte and found it to be a beautiful city with lots to do. We stayed at the Residence Inn Uptown Charlotte and were extremely happy with EVERYTHING about our stay. The front desk staff was friendly and accomodating. The rooms were spotless, the beds were comfortable, housekeeping was top notch. The free breakfast in the morning was great. You didn't just get coffee and cold cereal, but everything from scrambled eggs, sausage, potatoes, homemade waffles, oatmeal, fruit, etc. And..when our long, wonderful day was done, we relaxed at the bar with top notch bartenders and great service. I can't say enough about the wonderful staff and cleanliness of this hotel. If you are going to Charlotte, NC, this is the place to stay!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mikeandkathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodhpur, India
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

Great place to stay for long durations.
Nice cosy rooms with well equipped kitchen.
Just the right location - shuttle to downtown and nearby 2 miles' area makes all major spots in downtown easily reachable.
Helpful and nice staff is the highest point for this place ( in particular - Steven Malay ).

Room Tip: ask for room with city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sundeep_Soni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

Im pretty loyal or residence inns, and have been in a fare amount of them, but I have to say this one is in my top three of all residence inns. Great location in the city, close to everything. Convenient hotel shuttle good for taking you into the heart of Charlotte uptown if you need it. Breakfast was phenomenal. Most residence inns give you a few of the choices (eggs, yogurt parfait, maybe cereal) . No cutting corners here--they had everything available. They have a bar which I've only seen in one other residence inn, but best of all is how polite and helpful every single employee is at this place. Part of it is the southern charm, but you can tell these folks are well trained by their GM. We were in for a graduation, and the rest of our party stayed at the Marriott city center. We heard nothing but horror stories from that place--but we're also quick to gloat about the great service we got here. One more thing that was interesting, is they had two weddings at this hotel on this particular weekend--that should also tell you how much of a commodity this place is. Despite all the traffic (two weddings, unc-Charlotte graduation, the usual weekend traffic and Carolina Panthers rookie camp (many of whose were also staying here which is another ringing endorsement I think), yet the hotel also felt comfortable and peaceful--you never had a clue that the place was as busy as it was, which is another great feature.

This is our new official hotel in Charlotte, but also has to be one of the best Residence Inns of anywhere (up there with the Residence Inn Mt. Pleasant South Carolina and Residence Inn Baltimore Inner Harbor)

Room Tip: No pool, but they do have an agreement with the Marriott Cty Center, and theyll even shuttle you the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Third Ward
Courtyard Charlotte City Center
Second Ward
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown
First Ward
Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Third Ward
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Second Ward
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Charlotte Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Charlotte Uptown

Property: Residence Inn Charlotte Uptown
Address: 404 S Mint St, Charlotte, NC 28202-1510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Third Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#10 Green Hotel in Charlotte
#23 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#40 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Charlotte Uptown 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Photo of a standard Studio room. All rooms have fully furnished kitchens, couches, reclining chairs, work desks and more. Renovated in 2008 and 2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Charlotte Uptown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Charlotte Uptown Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing