We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location - nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown
Ranked #16 of 177 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Dunn, North Carolina
Level Contributor
177 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great location - nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed overnight to join up with company. As they were going to venture to the Nascar Museum this was the perfect place to stay as it was literally across the road. Parking was $10/day indoor that was shared with the Hampton. We didn't have any problem finding a good spot and it did feel safe. We had a King room with Jacuzzi - very nice and comfortable. The coffee maker in the room was a Keurig which was a great surprise. There was a complimentary breakfast however we didn't use this as we opted to go out. I would recommend to anyone and would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sensgirl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    186
    67
    21
    6
See reviews for
112
147
38
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jamesburg, New Jersey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

This is a good hotel right on the edge of the action. The NASCAR hall of fame is across the street and a lot of good local bars and restaurants close by with in walking distance. The hotel has a nice lobby with the usual bar that opens at 5 and closes at 10 pm which I think is a little early, however, the staff is very pleasant. The room was nice, I had a king bed on the tenth floor with a whirlpool and a decent view. They have an indoor pool that is small and I did not see any activity in it nor did I have any desire to swim in it. The exercise room is okay the equipment is in okay shape and was good for what I needed it for. The hotel offers a good shuttle service to the local businesses and they pick you up which is the best part in case you enjoy a few adult beverages. I was there for business and would stay there again. The rates are okay and I am sure they vary when events are in town. I do see some minor maintenance issues with the property and hopefully management sees them as well.

Room Tip: Upper floors do to the city traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gregg j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed there this past weekend for a little couples time. Had a wonerful time. Price was good, nice, clean room. Great location, right outside downtown, so nice and quiet. Within walking distance of downtown, directly across the street from the Nascar Hall of Fame. Found out that the hotel offers shuttle service that will take you anywhere within 3 miles. Great stay. Only reason didn't score 5 stars is because the hotel didn't offer free breakfast. Most hotels now a days off free breakfast.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gregga62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morganton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

My husband and I had to spend the night in Charlotte recently (medical emergency). The hospital recommended the Hilton. The check-in was probably the easiest check-in we have ever experienced in any hotel, anywhere. The young man at the front desk was very friendly and efficient. The hotel had a hospitality bar to the right of check-in -- all types of beverages and fresh-baked cookies. The room was really nice and absolutely spotless and had a great view of the beautiful Charlotte skyline. We had had a very long, nerve-wracking day and were exhausted. The bed was so comfortable -- just what we needed. I would give this hotel an excellent rating except for two things. Finding, entering, the maneuvering through the parking garage was very confusing. The entrance into the parking deck needs better signage. We just accidently found it, after circling the block once and making one U-turn. Second reason not giving the excellent rating, the restaurant leaves a lot to be desired. The hotel's website describes the restaurant as Great American Grill, a "neighborhood" favorite, with a fantastic menu. That is far from what we found. We were the only guests for dinner in the restaurant. The one and only waitress was very rude and didn't know much about the restaurant, its food, or anything else. There were only about four or five entrees on the menu. I have to admit, what we ordered was freshly prepared and good. $18 for a hamburger and French fries I feel is a little expensive. However, I highly recommend this hotel. We will definitely stay here again -- will just make dining plans elsewhere.

Room Tip: I feel you would not be disappointed with any room in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyB28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

From the parking garage to the desk to the shuttle, every employee we met had a smile, was friendly, courteous and helpful. We did not experience any inconveniences but based on the interaction with the staff, I am sure that if we had it would have been handled to our satisfaction.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Bo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

I stayed in the Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown for an interview. The staff were very nice. They have a convenient shuttle for within a 3-mile radius, which was nice. However, I was left a bit stressed because I had a 6:15 interview and the shuttle doesn't run until 6am. Also, they do not offer service to/from the airport, which would have been nice. They did not have coffee/tea available in their lobby in the early morning; I had a 5:50am flight so I had to ask the front desk for some tea. They were very nice about it, but it would have been nice if it had been available.
The rooms were nice and quiet.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Great hotel. I don't like the fact that I had to pay for parking as a HH Member. Also, had a problem with my room key working to let me in the garage. Otherwise, very nice stay! Would stay again. Near the Epicenter and Midnight Diner.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank 676tanishaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Westin Charlotte
Westin Charlotte
#28 of 177 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 stars 1,399 reviews
Second Ward
Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown
First Ward
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
#30 of 177 in Charlotte
4.5 of 5 stars 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown
Address: 508 E Martin Luther King Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28202-2830
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Second Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#15 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#17 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown hotel is in the major North Carolina banking and financial district close to: The Charlotte Convention Center, Blumenthal Performing Arts Center, Bank of America Stadium, Over Street Mall and the new Charlotte Bobcat Arena are all just blocks away. The uptown area is home to many fine restaurants, museums and shopping malls. Charlotte Douglas International Airport is only 9 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown Hotel Charlotte
Hilton Charlotte
Charlotte Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing