We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown
Ranked #13 of 180 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We visited Charlotte recently with another couple in order to see a couple of concerts in the area. The Hilton Garden Inn was super clean, nice and very convenient to walk to parts of Uptown Charlotte. It is situated next to the Nascar Hall of Fame and across from Lola's - which is place we didn't get to try due to timing. Each night you have to pay $10 fee to park there, which I believe is customary for Uptown hotels. The only downside to the room was there was no working fan in the bathroom, but it may have just been a fluke for our room. We had a lot of space in our room and the AC unit was a wall controlled unit, meaning no loud AC fan turning on in the middle of the night! The room was quiet, the bed was super comfy and amenities were great. I would definitely recommend a stay there!

Room Tip: I would recommend a room on the back side of the property as the front side is situated on a main ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jermsshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (795)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

631 - 637 of 795 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

I booked this hotel mainly by reviews from tripadvisor. I am so glad that I did. A friend and I explore a major city every September and this year it was Charlotte. We enjoyed a city tour, the Mint Museums, the Levine museum, as well as a few great restaurants. however, the terrific staff at this hotel made this trip outstanding ESP. Jim, the manager, Heather, Jai, and all of the shuttle drivers. They provided us with so much help and suggestions on what to see and do in the city. The hotel is centrally located and an easy walk to many nice restaurants and attractions. The buffet breakfast was another plus. If I ever do go back to Charlotte, I definitely will stay at this Hilton Garden Inn Uptown again!

Room Tip: Higher floors will give you a better view of Charlotte!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MassachusettsJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

All of the customer service staff were helpful and professional. Considering how much it cost, and the location of the hotel (downtown Charlotte), the price was reasonable. I had a positive experience the night I stayed here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The hotel is very clean and stylish, the hotel is very convient to Uptown Charlotte. The front staff was very efficient and friendly.
The restaurant was good, and the breakfast was also good.
Will definitely stay again when in the Charlotte area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DMAZE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

The Hilton Garden Inn Uptown is located across the street from the NASCAR hall of fame and museum, so for some this will be an excellent location. But since Charlotte is walkable and compact, the HGI is not far from just about anything else in downtown.

HGI is adjacent to sibling flag Hampton Inn and both share a parking garage - $10/night for self-parking. The garage turning radii are very tight, so you might want to think twice about that big SUV. Hint: Check-in first, because you'll need your room key to operate the entry gate.

HGI isn't fancy, but that's sort of the point. It doesn't deviate much from the chain's formula and that's okay. There is a reasonably-priced restaurant in the lobby - actually not a bad option for the harried business traveler. A small business center is on the second floor and offers computers, printers, and a fax machine for guests.

Rooms in HGI may not have the best views - I looked out onto the roof of the NASCAR museum. But higher floors offer a decent skyline view of Charlotte. I found the rooms to be clean and quiet. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

Getting to the nearby airport is a snap. Two turns out of the garage and you're on the road to the airport. Very easy and convenient.

Prices are sometimes higher than you'd expect, especially when there is a Panthers home game or a convention. But that's not unusual for a downtown hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We booked these rooms to attend a preseason Carolina Panthers game. Our rooms weren't ready when we arrived so they upgraded us to a king suite at no extra charge. Both rooms were great. Really enjoyed the refreshments and snacks in the lobby. The front desk was extremely efficient and friendly. We would definitely stay here again when visiting Charlotte.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank Palma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stay was fabulous. Rooms were clean, location was great. No noise from surrounding rooms or from the hallways. Front desk staff was VERY friendly, courteous and informative.

Parking and breakfast are NOT included, but the location and rate outweighed this. Both are moderately priced for a hotel in downtown Charlotte.

Did not rate breakfast, as we did not try it. Generally, all HGI breakfasts are great, though.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor for a better view of downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ep2387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Second Ward
Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown
Second Ward
The Westin Charlotte
The Westin Charlotte
#34 of 180 in Charlotte
1,589 reviews
Third Ward
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown

Address: 508 E Martin Luther King Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28202-2830
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Second Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#15 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#17 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range: $119 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown hotel is in the major North Carolina banking and financial district close to: The Charlotte Convention Center, Blumenthal Performing Arts Center, Bank of America Stadium, Over Street Mall and the new Charlotte Bobcat Arena are all just blocks away. The uptown area is home to many fine restaurants, museums and shopping malls. Charlotte Douglas International Airport is only 9 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown Hotel Charlotte
Hilton Charlotte
Charlotte Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing