We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton Garden Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown
Ranked #15 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Owings Mills, United States
1 review
“Hilton Garden Inn”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I booked this hotel using my Hilton points and it was not worth the 50,000 point I spent on this hotel. The location was nice and that was about it. There were places to eat and go out at couple of blocks away and they do have a shuttle that runs till 11pm, which will drop you off anywhere in downtown charlotte. Other then that, the city is really nice and its a must visit city on the east coast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Rishi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    215
    81
    26
    8
See reviews for
143
189
47
280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here after flying into Charlotte. It is a perfect location if you are looking to enjoy the uptown area. It is directly across the street from the NASCAR Hall of Fame and a short walk to some great restaurants. I will stay here again for sure. The staff was friendly and courteous and there was fresh coffee, lemonade, tea and cookies waiting for guests as they arrive. I asked for a room on a higher floor to have a better view for the kids and they changed it without any problem. The rooms were clean. The beds were comfortable and the shower was nice. There is a charge for parking but it is worth it since parking in this area of Charlotte is difficult.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor if you would like a good view of the city. The parking deck entry is on the 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekohlenstein, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We are excited to hear about your positive experience with us and will hold you to staying with us again the next time you are passing through. Don't be afraid to stay awhile either! Thank you for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very happy with my stay here, good location, friendly staff, clean and comfortable rooms. Lots to do within walking distance. Pretty views of the city from high floors. If you are visiting Charlotte this is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinksands x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekohlenstein, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Our geography to Uptown is the best of both worlds with being close enough to walk but not amongst the taller buildings that can leave a guest room view to be desired; Just enough space to feel as though you can relax and spread out. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 4, 2013

A wonderful stay at the Hilton Garden Inn in Uptown Charlotte. Extremely convenient to many sites and restaurants. Easy to locate. Room was kept very clean throughout weekend stay. Free wireless Internet access acceptable. In room dining was truly a positive experience. We were pleasantly surprised at food quality the pretty presentation and generous servings. It was a good value. Extra towels requested and each day provided without having to call front desk. Definitely would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekohlenstein, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We are thrilled to hear we played a positive role in your time Uptown. Thank you for taking the time to recognize our staff's effort. I would agree that most of our guests are pleasantly suprised with the quality of our food from our Garden Grill. We will be sure to celebrate your comments as a team and look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
421 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This HGI is well located and well run so as to serve a diverse customer base. 1 1/2 blocks from the Charlotte Convention Center, and walking distance to any downtown destination. At three or four years old now, the hotel's public areas and rooms remain fresh and well-cared for. The breakfast room in the lobby, while evolving towards complete self-service, retains a chef-attended omlette bar. Best experience was after checking out and then back in the afternoon to retreive my checked bags, the front desk manager offered an extra bottle of water for the road, and took extra special care to arrange for my ground transportation back to the airport. This Hilton Garden Inn is highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkyKingBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekohlenstein, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your glowing response from a senior contributor. Although all HGI's are not alike, I think we are one of the most consistant brands in the market (I had to toot our own horn!) and are thrilled to hear your experience here was at the head of the pack. We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Knoll Shores, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We booked an executive king room here to attend the St Patty's Day Parade...communications prior to arrival with Eric were excellent...we arrived a bit early and met Jim, a room was available and we were in. Parking is available adjacent to the hotel for a minimum fee, a full service restaurant is on the first floor and the coutesy shuttle a life saver. A need for for some adhesive arose...call the front desk, knock at the door within minutes...thanx Eric and maintenance! We left the car in the garage and used the shuttle to get to the parade...the parade ended only two blocks from the hotel...short walk and we were on our way back home. Would/will stay here anytime!

Room Tip: Inside rooms versus street side rooms are probably quieter. Charlotte streets are pretty busy during...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekohlenstein, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Good day. It sounds like the Luck of the Irsh was about you this weekend. We are excited to hear about your seamless experience and are proud to have played a roll. Please don't wait an entire year to return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is a fine place to stay, situated downtown, near the NASCAR Museum. Breakfast is not included. Parking was free. Front desk help was wonderful. Waiter by the name of Victor in the breakfast serving room was extremely friendly. Ask for him!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMM_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekohlenstein, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Good to hear from you and we are excited about the experience you had with us. We appreciate the kind words regarding the front desk staff, in particular the recognition given to Victor from our food & beverage department. We will be sure to celebrate your comments with the entire team. One note of correction, we do charge $10 per day to self park with a $15 a day valet option. This does include in/out privileges, just the single fee per day. Thank you for your loyalty and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown
Second Ward
Westin Charlotte
Westin Charlotte
#32 of 178 in Charlotte
1,521 reviews
Fourth Ward
The Dunhill Hotel
The Dunhill Hotel
#49 of 178 in Charlotte
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown
Address: 508 E Martin Luther King Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28202-2830
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Second Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#15 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#17 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown hotel is in the major North Carolina banking and financial district close to: The Charlotte Convention Center, Blumenthal Performing Arts Center, Bank of America Stadium, Over Street Mall and the new Charlotte Bobcat Arena are all just blocks away. The uptown area is home to many fine restaurants, museums and shopping malls. Charlotte Douglas International Airport is only 9 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown Hotel Charlotte
Hilton Charlotte
Charlotte Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing