We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in Uptown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown
Ranked #15 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great location in Uptown”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

My son and I stayed here for one night to attend a Charlotte Hounds lacrosse game. This hotel has a great location in uptown and you can easily walk to many restaurants and attractions. It was very clean and reasonably priced but nothing fancy. The staff was polite and attentive. Parking at check-in is a bit strange and it wasn't clear to me where to go but that wasn't a big deal.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HenHoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekohlenstein, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We do appreciate your loyalty and kind words following your stay. We look forward to your return stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    219
    83
    26
    8
See reviews for
145
190
47
286
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Smoaks
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

My first time staying at a Hilton hotel and found the rooms weren't that different from lower brands. Security here is top notch you can't even get into the parking garage without a room key. The beds are the nicest and you will definitely get a good nights sleep. Bank of America is about a fifteen minute walk and after getting lost comin back found out that the club and restaurant section is also about a 15 min walk from the hotel. Overall very nice

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amandamunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekohlenstein, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Well, welcome to the Hilton Family! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience on our beds. Our Garden Sleep System beds allow each sleeper to adjust the firmness of their mattress with a dial located near the head of the bed which will inflate/deflate air bowels located within the mattress. We do take the security of our property very seriously, the gated parking deck being our first line of defense. We look forward to your return trip because when you come back, you will be a regular!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed at this hotel overnight when attending a jazz concert at the nearby Central Piedmont Community College. It was a really convenient location for this and an easy walk to the restaurants in uptown Charlotte as well. The hotel appears to be quite new and everything was very stylish and comfortable. The water pressure in the shower was incredible - the best hotel shower EVER! On the other hand, the toilet flush was just as powerful which was fine except it was really loud. Not so great for your spouse if you get up in the middle of the night! (Still, worth it for the shower.)

I recommend you take some clothes pins or safety pins as there is neon from the NASCAR museum next door that can shine in through the gap in the room-darkening curtains. I carry clothes pins for this purpose and they worked fine.

The Hilton Garden Inn shares a parking garage with the Hampton Inn. You can pull in the garage to check in, which is convenient. Just make sure you have the correct entrance - we, like many people apparently - attempted to check in at the wrong hotel first!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekohlenstein, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
I am always interested in the small things that make life grand. I agree, good water pressure is one of my most cherished experiences as well. It is not gentleman like to discuss the age of anything, escecially in the south (unless your bragging about your truck or lawn tractor that is still working), but I will share that our property had its 11th anniversary this month. Just like any southern bell, our property wears its age quit well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

This property is always consistent. I have stayed here over a 7 year time period and they continue to provide excellant service. The cooks are terrific and breakfast is always cooked to order. Shuttle service is free to local areas in the city and the hotel is located in a great location to enjoy town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smokeyellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekohlenstein, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
We are truly grateful for the kind words. Thank you for choosing us during your visits to Charlotte, we do appreciate your loyalty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Two things would give this hotel an excellent rating. 1: Front desk 2: Parking The front desk person (a young man) was nice enough, friendly, chatty, but not extremely thorough. As a HH Gold Member, you can opt for extra points or free breakfast. After a long day of working, didn't think about getting the breakfast coupon and had to go back down after settling in to ask about it. He had automatically given me the points instead of offering breakfast. Small detail I know. The parking is something they can't really do anything about. It is in a deck that is connected to both hotels-Hampton and Hilton Garden Inn. It has a very closed in feeling and just seems a little creepy coming back in at night. There is a sign when you enter the deck that offers Valet Parking but I never saw an attendant. Everything else about this hotel is excellent. Rooms are nice, very clean, attractive. Beds are extremely comfortable. I probably would not walk uptown by myself at night from here, but would with friends. It is only a few blocks away.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bgood58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekohlenstein, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We do appreciate all the kind words and will make sure to celebrate them as a team. We do regret however that we did not have better visability at our valet podium which I am sure would have made you a little more comfortable. We just started offering a valet parking option less than 30 days ago and are still working out the bugs. You are completely correct that our guest service agent should have clarified your HHonors 'My Way' preference so that you did not have to return to the desk post check in. We will work to improve. Thanks again and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed 2 nights at the Uptown HGI and from checkin to the quality of the room it was amazing. They offer free shuttle downtown so we didn't need a car. Cab from the airport was $29 each way. Downtown has lots of restaurant choices, some I noticed closed by 7pm or so but the upscale ones we ate at were open late. Beds were very comfortable. Breakfast in the morning had a nice selection and a reasonable price if you had to pay for it. I would stay at this location again and recommend it to others. Leroy at the front desk in the evening was a true joy !!!

Room Tip: Higher floors have some nice skyline views at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigdaddyjoel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience. We appreciate the opportunity to make your experience memorable and anticipate your return. I think there may be some confusion as we do not have an employee named Leroy but I sure am glad he was here to provided you with the southern hospitality we pride ourselves in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed here for one night while passing through Charlotte. The hotel was in a convenient location. Staff was very friendly, room was clean and quiet. Breakfast in the morning was excellent. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GregNRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
It was a pleasure hosting you as you passed through and we hope you will return again when you have more time to stick around awhile. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown
Second Ward
Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Second Ward
The Westin Charlotte
The Westin Charlotte
#31 of 178 in Charlotte
1,530 reviews
Fourth Ward
The Dunhill Hotel
The Dunhill Hotel
#48 of 178 in Charlotte
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown
Address: 508 E Martin Luther King Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28202-2830
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Second Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#15 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#17 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown hotel is in the major North Carolina banking and financial district close to: The Charlotte Convention Center, Blumenthal Performing Arts Center, Bank of America Stadium, Over Street Mall and the new Charlotte Bobcat Arena are all just blocks away. The uptown area is home to many fine restaurants, museums and shopping malls. Charlotte Douglas International Airport is only 9 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown Hotel Charlotte
Hilton Charlotte
Charlotte Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing