We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good in a lot of ways” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Omni Charlotte Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Ranked #36 of 176 Hotels in Charlotte
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good in a lot of ways”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Great location: right in the heart of uptown in easy walking distance to everything.
Friendly staff: from doormen, to check-in to room service staff, everyone was friendly and helpful
Great views: We had great views of the city from the 12th floor and overlooked the rooftop pool
Average bar: There's a bar just outside the lobby that looked more like the waiting room than a bar
Average room: Views were great, but besides that, no bells or whistles - room didn't feel like it was worth the money we spent.
Not sure it would be the 1st choice to return to in Uptown Charlotte

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Preston75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Charlotte Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
We appreciate your feedback and regret that we weren't able to exceed all of your expectations. We are thankful for your kind words regarding our associates and location and hope that we will have a second opportunity to provide you with a great stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,845 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    753
    535
    308
    161
    88
See reviews for
267
416
68
810
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed at this hotel and received excellent service. Joined their loyalty program and received free internet and a breakfast drink in the morning delivered to your room! The staff was very helpful and the room was very nice. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skytravelgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Charlotte Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for recommending the Omni Charlotte on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled that you had a great experience and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
180 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

The Omni Charlotte is located smack in the middle of everything good in uptown Charlotte. Lots of shops and restaurants abound. The hotel has comfortable rooms, and complimentary coffee and newspapers in the morning, a nice plus. But the ease of walking to nearly anything you want or need is the Omni's best attributes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russ A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Charlotte Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for all of your kind words regarding your stay at the Omni Charlotte. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and our location and we hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Omni after a Carolina Panthers game. For over $300 a night expected luxury, instead we got average or below. The location was great but the room was not. Its just a typical room, no bells, whistles or rainbows. Next time we will pay for parking & drive outside of downtown.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jbtorrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Charlotte Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
We are dismayed to read that you were disappointed by your recent stay at our hotel. If you haven't already provided us with more feedback about your stay we would appreciate the opportunity to learn more about what would have improved your experience with us. Thank you for reviewing us and we hope that we will have a future opportunity to provide you with a great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
241 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

I've stayed in several hotels while on business in Charlotte this year, and I now avoid this one. Was really underwhelmed - shocked really - at the quality of the hotel. Staff are friendly enough. But that's true many other places, and doesn't make up much in this case. The entrance is sort of through a garage port, or a significant hiking detour around a plaza. The halls and rooms are dark. The elevators didn't work several times, and we had to use a service elevator. The wifi was spotty at best. I literally couldn't get work done at night because of it: kept fading out. Found out if you are on the side away from the streets (west side I think) it works better. The windows are not well paned, so lots of sound came up from the street - and I was high up enough. Had to turn on the bathroom fan to get the white noise to dampen the street sounds. Furniture was on the older side, though the bed was comfortable (the only plus in the room). The bathroom was surprisingly a bit on the small side (for a big guy like me). Wall paper can only be described as ugly.

On the plus side the location is perfect for walking anywhere for business meetings in what they call Uptown but the rest of us normal people would recognize as their downtown. Then again, that's true for several other hotels right in the immediate vicinity, so you can skip this one.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing north (main street traffic noise) and east (disco across the street).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueWindez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Charlotte Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
It was disappointing for us to read about your experience at our hotel. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the issues with the elevators and wireless internet. We recently installed new high speed elevators and believe they may have been down temporarily for maintenance but are confident that this is not an ongoing concern. We have been working closely with our wireless internet provider to make sure that we have a continuous strong signal with enough bandwidth to support our business travelers but regret that in your case it was not sufficient. Although we wish we would have exceeded your expectations regarding the above, as well as the other comments in your review, we are grateful for the opportunity to understand where we can improve. We truly hope that in the future you would reconsider giving us a second opportunity to provide you with the stay you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

The hotel is very comfortable, the staff was very helpful and it has a great location next to very good restaurants, public transportation, drug store and convention center. I would definitely go back there.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FernandaThome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Charlotte Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for reviewing the Omni Charlotte. We are glad you had a great stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is kind of outdated and our room smells like mildew, but that is not the worst part. There is a street performer that stands on the plaza outside the hotel and blasts karaoke music out of an amp--we could understand every word at 7 floors up--from around 11 am until past midnight. We called the front desk to complain multiple times but they said there is nothing they or the police can do about it because he has permit. I find it hard to believe that the city would issue a permit for him to blast music that loudly, but I took them at their word. Take me at mine, and stay as far away from this hotel as possible.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingBrodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Charlotte Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Please accept our sincerest apologies for the noise you experienced during your time with us. We also find it frustrating that noise cannot be more adequately controlled in our vicinity but we are committed to trying to work through it with the city. In the meantime, we are always happy to place guests that may be concerned in the quieter areas of the hotel and we also have sleep kits available for those that need a little extra barrier from disruption. Thank you for sharing your feedback and we hope for a future opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Westin Charlotte
Westin Charlotte
#29 of 176 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Third Ward
Charlotte Marriott City Center
First Ward
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
#18 of 176 in Charlotte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Fourth Ward
The Dunhill Hotel
The Dunhill Hotel
#41 of 176 in Charlotte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Charlotte Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Charlotte Hotel

Property: Omni Charlotte Hotel
Address: 132 East Trade Street, Charlotte, NC 28280
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Second Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Charlotte
#43 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#47 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Charlotte Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Uptown Charlotte, this luxury hotel puts you just steps from the Queen City's most popular attractions. Offering an ideal location, superior service, and an inviting atmosphere, this hotel is the perfect destination for exploring Charlotte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Omni Charlotte Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Charlotte
Omni Charlotte
Charlotte Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing