We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel, on a better budget then the hilton just beside”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown
Ranked #9 of 180 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2014

A nice hotel with fresh rooms. The breakfast was large and changing every day. For an american hotel good breakfast included in the price. Nice staff always with a refreshing smile.
Can highly recommend.

Room Tip: try to get a room away from the ice machines and the doors to the parking! the walls are thick the d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank erdzeichen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (867)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

523 - 529 of 869 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2014

CLEAN, FRIENDLY STAFF, GREAT LOCATION! Our family stayed there the first weekend in August while visiting the NASCAR Hall of Fame (it takes a day to see it all). Just get up in the morning and walk across the street, you're right next door! Every staff member we met at the hotel was super friendly. The lady that cooks the continental breakfast each morning is the best! Management is great to deal with and the maid service is top notch, none better! Rooms, elevators, lobby,pool, parking garage, and dining rooms are spotless!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 10th floor and could see the whole city skyline from there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jodi h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Stayed only one night, but staff was excellent, before and during the stay, room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was great, and staff was helpful and extremely pleasant. Loved the location, and will stay here next time I am in Charlotte.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank 7ladybugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Very good location for all downtown venues and activities. Nice rooms, clean and inviting. Staff is friendly and experienced, very helpful. Near convention center, NASCAR HOF, football, baseball & basketball stadiums.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
2  Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

I chose this Hampton Inn because of the proximity to the Bank of America stadium. It is an easy walk down Stonewall (not quite a mile) to the BOA stadium, with many dining places along the way (especially in the College St. area). Self-parking is available in the adjacent lot/building ($10/24 hours), which also has Valet parking ($15/24 hours). We had a King Size mini-suite, which was a two-room suite, very spacious for 3 people. We did not use the jacuzzi, but did use the sofabed in the living room, which our picky son said was comfortable. WiFi was free and we had a fairly strong signal. Each room had a separate temperature control, which was nice. The room had a mini-fridge, microwave, and plenty of outlets to charge electronics. There was a flat-screen tv in each room. Breakfast was good, with long hours (6:00-10:00am) and had scrambled eggs, breakfast meats, potatoes, oatmeal, juices, waffle maker, breads, muffins, etc. Breakfast staff was exceptionally friendly and kept items well-stocked. Sleeping area, living room are, and bathrooms were VERY clean. I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank aeflynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

The hotel is in a convenient location - right in downtown and within a couple blocks of restaurants. The hotel shuttle will take you within a mile of the property - I used it twice and found the drivers to be very friendly. The customer service I received from the hotel staff made me enjoy my stay, but the condition of the room was disappointing. The room felt old and had a musty smell to it. I don't think my air conditioning unit worked properly. The Garden Inn is right next door...if I'm in the area again, I'll try it instead.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cedar_shake79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Here due to a business lunch my husband must attend two blocks away. It is downtown Charlotte, directly one block over from the Nascar Hall of Fame. Within 2 city blocks there are restaurants galore....not necessarily brand named ones, but lots of local places that are very trendy and filled with locals. Streets are well monitered with police and security guards spaced in front of parking garages and hotels, so there are a lot of people walking at night. Hotel is in the district of high traffic area, so the hotel itself is obviously used a lot. I give it 4 stars. Carpets are a bit soiled in our room, wallpaper loose in the seams, furniture a bit worn and there are light stains on the couch, giving it that well used feel. However....it is clean, overly perfumed to keep odors at bay in halls and elevators. Lobby is well used as well, but nicely decorated. Breakfast is typical Hampton Inn style, eatable. Bed was very firm but good for my 8 hours. WiFi was really fast and TV was very clear. Quiet hotel. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Second Ward
Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
The Westin Charlotte
The Westin Charlotte
#34 of 180 in Charlotte
1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown

Address: 530 E Martin Luther King Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28202-2830
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Second Ward
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#20 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#28 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range: $134 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lord Cornwallis called Charlotte a "hornet's nest" in 1780—we took that as a compliment and today remain a town full of activity. Today, the area around the Hampton Inn® hotel in Charlotte-Uptown is a magnet for business and innovative thinking. Yet the Queen City also hosts amazing restaurants, museums, sports and shopping. From golf to great art, you'll find it all just minutes from our hotel in Charlotte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing