We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can probably do much better for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard Charlotte City Center
Ranked #47 of 177 Hotels in Charlotte
Manalapan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
94 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Can probably do much better for the money”
Reviewed December 12, 2010

I stayed for two nights on business and wasn't very impressed. I would have thought that since the hotel's lobby was under construction they would be offering some deals but still paid $160 a night even with my AAA rate.

Everything about this hotel with the exception of it's location is either average or below average. The room was smaller than I expected and set up strangely. The bed faced the window instead of the TV which made it uncomfortable to watch TV in bed. The phone on the nightstand didn't work and the heater was very noisy. The service at the front desk was pretty good. They did recommend a good restaurant nearby.

I didn't price out too many hotels because I wanted to be as close to where I was working as possible but I just think you can do better for the money.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerseyguy405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dheinlein, Manager at Courtyard Charlotte City Center, responded to this review, December 14, 2010
Thank you for your review jerseyguy405; we appreciate your comments and your business. I’m sorry that you didn’t find value in our hotel, but hope you’ll return once our new lobby and restaurant are complete later this month and give us an opportunity to change your mind. Thanks once again, happy holidays to you and yours.

Sherry McWherter, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    151
    79
    18
    6
See reviews for
63
117
28
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2010

Was in Charlotte for two weeks for business, so it was an extended stay at the Marriott. And being there that long, it was a pretty good experience. The suite was large (separate bedroom from living room), the room was always clean, the location was great for me, and despite the lobby construction, the staff kept a stiff upper lip and were very friendly.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emehrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 28, 2010

Even during lobby construction, had a great stay, wonderful front desk personnel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dheinlein, Manager at Courtyard Charlotte City Center, responded to this review, December 2, 2010
Thanks for your kind comments weezee42, and for bearing with us while we work to improve our appearance and overall guest experience!

Happy Holidays,

Sherry McWherter, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2010

I was in Charlotte for 2 nights in September. The Courtyard was very comfortable and clean. The room was spacious, parking is very reasonable ($10/night), free wireless, and getting around Charlotte is very easy. No restaurant, but they offer breakfast in the morning and you can get room service from a couple of nearby restaurants (a bit pricey, but convenient). I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chicago009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison Heights, Virginia
Level Contributor
161 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2010

This is my 2nd stay here for longer than a couple days. The people keep bringing us back. The staff is friendly, outgoing, courteous and helpful. From the front desk to maintenance and housekeeping we were treated like royalty and friends. After a couple days we were on a first name basis and felt at home. The hotel does not a restaurant, but there are many choices within walking distance. There is a nice continental breakfast bar with eggs to order. The bar is small and opened evenings with a bartender being the perfect host.
Because this hotel is in the heart of the financial district it hosts lots of conferences and banks are on every corner. Parks and fountains abound in every direction. Strolling downtown in the evening is a must. There is always something happening, from live music to a street party.
There is handicapped parking in front and the hotel is very amiable to handicapped guests and their needs.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toshua99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dheinlein, Manager at Courtyard Charlotte City Center, responded to this review, September 28, 2010
Dear Toshua99,

Thank you for your review and for recommending us! We’re so glad you came back to see us and that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon!

Yours truly,

Sherry McWherter, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
180 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2010

Nice room pleasent staff and overall a good value hotel. My only comment would be on the window a/c units which are very noisy and did disturb my sleep. I wish all hotels could only obtain a third star if all rooms had a central a/c system.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2010

My husband and I booked the downtown Marriott in Charlotte for a weekend getaway (Thursday-Sunday) in March 2010. The hotel is in an excellent location, within walking distance to great restaurants, movies, clubs, theatre and sports arena. The problem started on Friday night. It got louder throughout the hotel, but we still slept fine. Saturday morning we woke up and looked out the window and saw a parade going on the streets downtown and realized it was the St. Patricks Day Parade. It completly elluded me that this would be going on this particular weekend because St. Patricks Day was not till the following Wednesday. This parade was going on 4 days early. About 8pm at night, about 20-30 college aged kids checked in to the rooms all along the rooms across from our room. They went out for awhile but soon brought the party home at about 10pm and so loud, partying from one room to the next, locking each other out and puking in the hallway. I waited till 11pm to call security and they came up and told them to be quiet and left. It startet again, I called again, she came up and yelled at them again and as soon as she left they got loud AGAIN. Someone else started calling complaining after me because the security guard was up and down several more times. This went on till about 4am. I had wished they would have throw them out (they had, had plenty of warnings) or move them to another level. Neither happened, I had no sleep and had to drive home 3 hours on zero sleep!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel8577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Third Ward
Charlotte Marriott City Center
First Ward
Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Third Ward
Residence Inn Charlotte Uptown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Charlotte City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Charlotte City Center

Property: Courtyard Charlotte City Center
Address: 237 S Tryon St, Charlotte, NC 28202-3248
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Third Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Charlotte City Center 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Courtyard Charlotte City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charlotte City Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Marriott
Charlotte Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing