We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Charlotte City Center
Ranked #53 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Lebanon, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Always pleasantly welcomed by staff and service. Rooms are a bit small and walls a little thin if you have noisy neighbors. Regular room with a very comfortable bed, good fast elevator and easy access to parking garage. Located close to convention center with numerous places to eat and drink.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Charlotte City Center, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for sharing feedback on your experience at Courtyard Charlotte City Center. We’re pleased to hear our clean hotel, friendly staff, and convenient location made for an enjoyable stay. I'm glad you were able to explore the Charlotte area. Please plan to visit us again.
Best,
Sherry McWherter, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    154
    82
    18
    7
See reviews for
67
120
28
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brunswick, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We spent the weekend in Charlotte with family to celebrate my niece's birthday. Kristina at courtyard handled the hotel arrangements for us. Everything was perfect. The rooms are well appointed and very clean. The lobby is very nice and welcoming. The pool is a good size for a hotel. There were plenty of chaises and towels provided. We used the light rail to get around. Kristina printed the schedule for us and gave great directions. We enjoyed our stay and would stay here again. Thank you Kristina for the great service.

Room Tip: There was some drag racing going on at 3am. No fault of the hotel but maybe ask for off street side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Col515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Charlotte City Center, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
We’re happy to hear from you, and glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate you and your family choosing to stay with us while visiting for your niece's birthday. I’m pleased to hear we were well suited for your family travels. I will be sure to share your kind feedback with Kristina. Please visit us again soon.
Best,
Sherry McWherter, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

We stopped and stayed a night here on our way to Hilton Head. The room was very clean, the bed was comfortable, and the staff was friendly. It was a nice place to stay and had pretty city views. The parking garage was right next door. There are several restaurants/bars around to eat at and the hotel serves Starbucks coffee in its cafe.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank lolak2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Charlotte City Center, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write; we appreciate your feedback. I'm glad to know that you enjoyed our clean rooms with comfortable beds in addition to our Starbucks coffee. Look forward to seeing you again.
Best,
Sherry McWherter, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

My husband an I spent a long weekend in Charlotte at this hotel. The location is very convenient to the city. There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance, the baseball and football stadiums are a few blocks away. The hotel is clean and comfortable and offers all of the amenities one would expect from a Courtyard. The pool was small but clean, and the pool area was fairly large. The fitness center was adequate, and everything worked. The rooms were spacious, ours had a little couch and coffee table in addition to the desk. I wasn't crazy about the toiletries offered, but there is a Rite Aid across the street if you want a different brand of soap or shampoo. The bed was a little too soft for my liking, but otherwise comfortable. We were not disturbed by noise outside or from the hallway during our stay. The staff was friendly and helpful, including the staff in the Lobby Cafe. I would definitely consider staying here again when we return to Uptown Charlotte.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maclady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Charlotte City Center, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thanks for your review and recommendation! We appreciate hearing from you and are glad to know you enjoyed our convenient location and friendly staff. I will be sure to share your kind comments. We look forward to seeing you next time you’re in the Charlotte area.
Best,
Sherry McWherter, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

The location can't be beat if you are looking to stay in Uptown Charlotte. The lobby has had a recent facelift it seems, and the little restaurant and bar are great and convenient. That said, the upstairs hallways and rooms are reminiscent of 20-30 years ago, and are in dire need of an upgrade. Had a Howard Johnson feel. Beds comfortable though and sheets were very nice and clean!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elledigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Charlotte City Center, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for acknowledging that you enjoyed our location and amenities even though you did not find our accommodations to your liking. We appreciate our guests taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback both positive and opportunities for improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

The location of this hotel is perfect if you are working downtown or have another reason to stay downtown. There is a beautiful pool area on the roof (lower roof floor) and a nice workout room. They also have a nice cafe in the lobby area for coffee and other snacks.

The room itself is a typical Courtyard room. Average size but definitely an older hotel in need of updating. Especially the bathroom.

I am a Marriott Platinum member and I try to avoid the Courtyard line of hotels. They are last on my list of Marriott hotels because they offer nothing to Platinum members. No breakfast and the Platinum arrival gift is one SMALL coffee per STAY. That's it. Ridiculous for a hotel that says it caters to the business traveler.

I like the hotel and would not hesitate to stay here. It is in a perfect location and although older and in need of updating, it is still a comfortable hotel to stay in.

The hotel staff is excellent !!! They go out of their way to help you and everyone offers a nice smile and greeting.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbateacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Charlotte City Center, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
mbateacher,
Thank you for sharing feedback from your experience. I appreciate your kind comments regarding our excellent staff and comfortable hotel, as well as opportunities for improving our platinum members experience. We thank you for your loyalty and will certainly take your feedback into consideration. Please plan to visit us again soon! Thank you again for your review.

Kind regards,
Sherry McWherter, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Zerick who was in charge of the shuttle service was extremely friendly and helpful! His customer service skills were unmatched! I checked in late and all the staff were so helpful and accommodating. The hotel was extremely clean and well presented as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Charlotte City Center, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Keri B,
Thank you for writing a review from your experience at Courtyard Charlotte City Center. I'm delighted to hear that the excellent service delivered by our staff exceeded your expectations and thank you for specifically recognizing Zerick. He will be thrilled to know that his efforts had a positive impact on your stay. I will be certain to share your compliments and we hope you'll return for another visit in the future. Thank you again!

Kind regards,
Sherry McWherter, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Third Ward
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
First Ward
Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown
Third Ward
Residence Inn Charlotte Uptown
Second Ward
Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Charlotte City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Charlotte City Center

Property: Courtyard Charlotte City Center
Address: 237 S. Tyron Street, Charlotte, NC 28202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Charlotte City Center 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Charlotte City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charlotte City Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Marriott
Charlotte Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing