We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Uptown Charlotte Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Charlotte City Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Courtyard Charlotte City Center
Ranked #47 of 176 Hotels in Charlotte
Chatham, Virginia
Level Contributor
197 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Uptown Charlotte Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Location of Hotel is excellent. Right in the center of everything and within walking distance of most places you would want to visit. Room was nicely appointed, bed comfortable.I was at Hotel for a 2 day business conference and found the meeting room spaces to be fine. Food middle of the road. Public spaces seemed a little dated. On site deck parking is limited and pricey ($10.00 per day). I enjoyed fitness center, better than average, attendants on duty.

Room Tip: Pick a higher floor overlooking Tryon Street and you get a view of street activity and you can open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Charlotte City Center, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Eddie H,
We appreciate you taking the time to reflect on your Courtyard experience, and for highlighting some of the areas that made your visit convenient and enjoyable. We’re glad our central location and comfortable accommodations suited your business travels. Your feedback is important to us and we thank you once again for writing. We hope you’ll have an opportunity to visit us again the next time you travel to Charlotte.

Kind regards,
Sherry McWherter, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    143
    78
    18
    6
See reviews for
62
115
25
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City, MD
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

If you are planning a visit to Charlotte and want central uptown location, you can't go wrong with this Courtyard. It is within walking distance of everything - very convenient. We were there on a Thursday evening and felt very safe in uptown Charlotte, free to walk around the city and enjoy the sights, albeit in the early evening. Our room was smaller than rooms at other Courtyards that I have been in, but maintained the level of cleanliness of a Marriott. One perk that you don't find in all hotels was an exhaust fan in the tub/toilet area - I wish more hotels had those to eliminate the humidity caused by a hot shower in a confined space. The sink area was small, but separated from the tub/toilet by a door. The view from the second floor was of an office building. I suppose I am now learning to ask about views before taking a room! The parking garage was tricky, as others have mentioned, due to tight lanes when traveling from one level to another. I enjoyed a swim in the pool one morning and it was fun to be outside and above the city streets. Not sure I'd want a room right next to the pool, however, as someone tried to open their curtains only to find me toweling off near a chair right outside their room! They quickly closed the curtains - can't say I blame them! This hotel was a bit less expensive than others in the area, so if money is a factor, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MDtravelertoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Charlotte City Center, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
MDtravelertoo,
We appreciate you taking a moment to share feedback about your stay with us at Courtyard Charlotte City Center. It's great to know that you enjoyed our pool area, as well as our clean and comfortable accommodations. I’m glad you found our hotel conveniently located for your travels. We hope you’ll have an opportunity to visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Sherry McWherter, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Nice, quiet, clean room. Went down for one night to hit the bars with a friend. Check-in was simple. Check out was easy. Only negative and it's a big one was that the air conditioner didn't cool like it was supposed to.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank The Hulk B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Charlotte City Center, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
The Hulk B,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us at Courtyard Charlotte City Center. We’re happy to have had you as our guest, and we’re glad you enjoyed a quiet stay in our clean accommodations. We appreciate your feedback as our highest priority is guest satisfaction. I'm sorry that the temperature of your guest room didn’t cool to your liking and apologize for any discomfort that you experienced as a result. I will address this issue with our maintenance staff inorder to make improvements and provide a more positive experience. We do hope you’ll visit us again the next time you travel to Charlotte. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Sherry McWherter, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Hotel is directly in the middle of downtown Charlotte. Walking distance to Time Warner Arena & Bank of America Stadium as well as the Nascar Hall of Fame. Resturants galore. Most all places are over priced & underwhelming. The downtown area is full of less than savory individuals, bums, vagrants, & their ilk. There is a visible police presence there but I would hesitate to take my kids out at night in certain areas.
The hotel itself is average. Its definately not a 4 star place. We stayed for two nights & the bed was hard. The pillows were tiny (half the size of a normal pillow) but abundant. Room has no microwave, or fridge!!! Free wifi on an unsecured network. Facility is 100% smoke free but one of the rooms around us was occupied by a smoker who thought they were slick by smoking in the bathroom with the fan on. Awesome. It stunk as you might have guessed. Also had issues with noise after 11pm both nights. Doors slamming, headboards banging. In the morning it is loud as there is a lot of construction going on downtown. Dumptrucks galore.
Parking is a nightmare downtown. We wre charged $10 day to park since we were hotel guests. Non guests are $20 per day. That's in addition to the room fee. The room key card works the parking (instead of getting a ticket) but we had several issues with the card not working & had to get numerous tickets to open the gate to park. For some strange reason the several or the parking spaces in the garage were "reserved". The nonreserved spaces were compact car only. the regular sized spaces are in the 4th & 5th level. Forget about getting a truck in there, its not happening.
The staff is knowledgeable but typical city manners. I would best sum up this stay as saying tht I will not be returning to the hotel. It wasnt for me.

Room Tip: We had a king suite. I would recommend that over a queen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cortezthekillers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Charlotte City Center, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
cortezthekillers,
Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize that we were unable to provide you with the exceptional stay you've come to expect from us. Your feedback provides many areas that we can work on in order to improve our guest experience. We appreciate your feedback on these areas and hope you will return and see our improvements. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Sherry McWherter, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is an average Courtyard. Location is good for downtown business and the staff was nice. The rooms need some updating, towels were worn and should have been replaced. My mattress was awful, completely sagged in the middle and squeaked like crazy. Furniture had quite a bit of wear and tear. Lobby was nice and clean and seemed that it was renovated recently.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank orlickg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Charlotte City Center, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
orlickg,
Thank you writing a review about your stay with us at Courtyard Charlotte City Center. We appreciate hearing from you and receiving your feedback. We’re happy to have had you as our guest, and we’re glad you enjoyed our location and friendly staff. We apologize that your stay with us was not a fully satisfying one. We value you as our guest and hope you'll visit us again. Thanks again for writing.

Sincerely,
Sherry McWherter, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Everything about this hotel was great the location, the staff, the gym, cleanliness, etc. I stayed at this location for two weeks and it was very comfy n cozy! The only part that I didn't like was the fact that i coylsnt open my curtains without looking directly into an office building. I am the type of person that loves to have my curtains open during the day and not being able to do that cramped my style just a little bit. But besides that the hotel was great and whenever I am back in charlotte this hotel would be my first choice. It was within walking distance to everything I only used a cab once during my whole two week stay and that was to go to South Park mall.

This hotel is great for families and business trips.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jersey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Charlotte City Center, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Jersey K,
Thank you for your review and complimentary feedback about our great hotel, clean accommodations, and friendly staff. We’re happy to have had you as our guest for those two weeks and we’re glad you had a comfortable stay with us at Courtyard Charlotte City Center. We appreciate your feedback and apologize for your disappointment with the view from your room. We’re glad you liked our hotel otherwise and we look forward to seeing you on your return visit. Please continue to make us your number one choice hotel when visiting Charlotte. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Sherry McWherter, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
274 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

As always, wait staff very accommodating and friendly. Stayed one night on business and the room was clean and nice. Parking is aggregating in that the parking deck associated with the hotel is very vertical and tight for parking.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Chet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Charlotte City Center, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Chet J,
It’s great to hear from you! We appreciate you choosing to stay with us while on business, and we’re glad our friendly staff and clean accommodations made for an enjoyable stay. I apologize for the frustrations you encountered with parking your vehicle. I’m glad you liked our hotel otherwise, and hope to see you again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Sherry McWherter, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Third Ward
Charlotte Marriott City Center
First Ward
Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Second Ward
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown
Third Ward
Residence Inn Charlotte Uptown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Charlotte City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Charlotte City Center

Property: Courtyard Charlotte City Center
Address: 237 S Tryon St, Charlotte, NC 28202-3248
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Third Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Charlotte City Center 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Courtyard Charlotte City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charlotte City Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Courtyard
Charlotte Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing