We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed my stay at The Ballantyne” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge
Ranked #6 of 176 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Thousand Oaks, CA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Enjoyed my stay at The Ballantyne”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

I hadn't been in Charlotte, NC, for some time, and I attended a meeting there with a large group. The service at the hotel was very good, and the rooms quite comfortable. The food for our large group was very good. The views are nice overlooking the golf course. We did a trip to the NASCAR Hall of Fame, which was a lot of fun. The group rate we received was reasonable for a quality hotel such as this. The Ballantyne would be great for a short getaway. Enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Golf course view is nice.
See more room tips
Green Features: They did have a number of environmentally-friendly practices, including sheets/towels laundry options
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caukwiphyllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballantyne H, General Manager at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear caukwiphyllis,
Thank you for staying with us for a meeting and for sharing your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed our service, accommodations, food and views. We are happy that you had a chance to visit one of the Queen City’s top attractions and appreciate that you found the hotel to be a good value. Thank you for recommending our hotel, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Peter Grills
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    162
    45
    22
    3
See reviews for
163
249
27
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

I can't begin to explain how awsome my stay was. I went on a "boys weekend" with a friend to golf, drink wine, see Elton John and go to the US open at Pinehurst. The Ballantyne is one hell of a place to stay and desk manager Alan Grant is top shelf when it comes to hospitality. The entire staff was awsome, the hotel is awsome, the rooms are awsome and the course is awsome!
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: I stayed in a 1st floor balcony room near the spa and pool, this is a great spot overlooking the 18t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 55Frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballantyne H, General Manager at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear 55Frank,
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate that you took the time to share your recent experience while in town for a guys weekend. Thank you also for your shout-out to Alan, we are definitely fortunate to have him on our team, as well as your kind words regarding our entire staff, hotel, accommodations and golf course. Our goal is to deliver exceptional experiences to our guests, and we are glad you had a great stay. Thank you for recommending our hotel, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Peter Grills
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loganville, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

My fiance and I stayed here for my birthday from June 5th- 9th. What a great hotel. The staff was excellect. From the time we drove up until it was time to leave the staff was great.
The only I don't want to call it a complaint but maybe a misunderstanding is with the restaurant. While everyone was friendly and warm the first time we ate there the waiter didn't add 29% on the bill for his tip (we are star rewards members). We gladly gave him his 20% without question when we paid. The second time we ate there my fiance ordered eggs over easy, they came back over hard, the waitress in my opinion should have caught this and made the cook redo before she brought them to the table. The restaurant was not crowded so it's not as though she was over run with customers. Then she added 20% without saying anything. When we asked about the charge she said well we are supposed to add that to anyone who uses the star rewards. Granted we have no problem tipping, but if we hadn't read the check carefully I would have double tipped. The card states we are to tip on the entire check not the discounted rate there was nothing I read that said the tip would be added by the server.
Everything else was great. The pool, room service housekeeping. I really enjoyed my time there.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swanzae61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballantyne H, General Manager at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear swanzae61,

Thank you for celebrating your birthday with us. We are delighted you had a great stay and apologize for any inconveniences related to preparation of the eggs and miscommunication in the restaurant. Servers may opt to add an 18% gratuity to HOT discounted meals. Again, we are sorry for the inconvenience and have shared your comments with our food & beverage team to ensure consistency in the future. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Peter Grills
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for the 2nd time over Memorial Day weekend. We wanted to have a quick weekend getaway and immediately thought of The Ballantyne's country club-esque pool overlooking their golf course. The room was immaculate and cool. We immediately went outside to sit by their outdoor pool and grabbed a table with an umbrella. We ordered drinks from the pool bar--a bucket of beer (a little pricey but worth it.) We were told that a chef would be grilling burgers and chicken for lunch. It was nice addition to their menu. Music was played by the pool (Jimmy Buffett, Bob Marley) adding to the ambiance. After lounging in and by the pool all afternoon, we headed inside to the indoor pool/spa area and relaxed in the jacuzzi and both used the sauna in our respective dressing rooms. We went back to the room and dressed and then walked across the street to Duckworth's, one of the many restaurants within walking distance. The next morning we went over to Einstein Bagels in the same area. The hotel is in a great location, only one exit from South Park for great upscale shopping. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LMSunFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballantyne H, General Manager at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear LMSunFun,
Thank you for staying with us again over a recent holiday weekend. We are delighted you had a nice visit. Thank you for your kind words regarding our pool facilities. We aim to deliver a relaxing getaway experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Peter Grills
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

Great location with a beautiful hotel. The staff was very attentive. Both times I was here was for business. The food served at each event was very good. I did room service one night and had their crab cakes. Sooo good! I did visit their Lounge and found their bartenders friendly and not snooty like some lounges I've visited. The internet was responsive. The desk area offered plenty of space for my computer and paperwork. I was amazed at how much space the bathroom offered! I can't wait to come back to this awesome hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redd9063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballantyne H, General Manager at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear redd9063,
Thank you for visiting us again at The Ballantyne for business travel. We appreciate your wonderful feedback and are happy you enjoyed our room service, spacious accommodations, food and service. Out entire staff is dedicated to providing our guests with exceptional stays, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Peter Grills
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsville, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
365 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

Stayed here with two children under 7. They have a nice indoor pool area and an outdoor pool. The room was comfortable but the bathroom double doors do not lock. It seems like lot's of hotels are abandoning the locking bathroom. It's so much fun to try and use the restroom while your children burst in and out at their leisure. A simple door lock would go a long way and returning privacy to the one place it really belongs. Aside from the non-locking bathrooms, the hotel was fantastic. Restaurant had some good food. Order the Crab Cakes! Do it! Seriously...just get them, you deserve it. You had to blockade the bathroom during your stay. Reward yourself!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomasja37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballantyne H, General Manager at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Thomasja37,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your comments. We value your feedback, and we’re delighted you enjoyed the restaurant, especially our crab cakes. We apologize if bathroom access provided any inconvenience. We have shared your comments with our team, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Peter Grills
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

We took my avid golfer dad here for a 60th birthday present. We an amazing time. My children loved the pool and they many outdoor games to offer as well. We ate lunch in the restaurant and it was fantastic. I cannot wait to go back here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TMagee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballantyne H, General Manager at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear TMagee2013,

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your father’s birthday with us. We are delighted you had an amazing visit, and thank you for your positive comments regarding our pool and food. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Peter Grills
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
First Ward
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
#18 of 176 in Charlotte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Second Ward
Westin Charlotte
Westin Charlotte
#29 of 176 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barclay Downs
Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel
Fourth Ward
The Dunhill Hotel
The Dunhill Hotel
#41 of 176 in Charlotte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#36 of 176 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge

Property: The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge
Address: 10000 Ballantyne Commons Parkway, Charlotte, NC 28277
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Charlotte
#3 Green Hotel in Charlotte
#3 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#6 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#12 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ballantyne, located in Charlotte, North Carolina, is a member of Starwood Hotels & Resorts' The Luxury Collection. Guests are welcomed with exceptional service, complemented by a timeless elegance. Enjoy resort-style amenities including spa, golf, fitness, exquisite dining and leisure offerings. The Ballantyne features beautiful hotel rooms, a cottage and lodge retreat with sophisticated meeting, wedding and event venues in a vibrant setting. The Ballantyne is located within 18 miles of Uptown Charlotte and Charlotte Douglas International Airport. In addition to its great accessibility to Charlotte, the hotel is set amidst shopping, dining, retail and a thriving business community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ballantyne Hotel Charlotte
Ballantyne Hotel Charlotte
Ballantine Resort Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing