We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Resort feel in the heart of Charlotte.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge
Ranked #6 of 174 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Resort feel in the heart of Charlotte.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

Beautiful spot for a conference or business meeting. Great conference facilities. Every business need provided by excellent and attentive staff. Hotel rooms are lovely. Food terrific. Great spa. Too cold to play golf but plenty to keep me busy.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wahini79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, General Manager at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear wahini79,

Thank you for staying at The Ballantyne and for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted you had an enjoyable visit and value your compliments regarding our hotel, meeting facilities, attentive staff, accommodations, cuisine and spa. At The Ballantyne, we are committed to providing our guests with wonderful stay experiences. Thank you for recommending our hotel for meetings and events, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Peter Grills
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    155
    44
    21
    3
See reviews for
159
243
27
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed at the resort to celebrate my daughter's belated birthday. My mother came from GA and requested something special be done for my 10 year old daughter's celebration when she spoke with Fabien at the time of reservation. None of us were prepared for all the care that had gone into our arrival! Upon arriving to our room we were met with a "Princess Happy Birthday Banner" and we were so impressed and the b-day girl was too excited. This was just the beginning to the very special surprises that Sandra w/ IRD had setup for Katie! Sandra had battery powered candle lights twinkling throughout the room, princess items adorned the foyer, a tiara, presents and candies covered the bed and furniture. A fancy beaded and feathered heart pen and a makeup bag were also left for our special girl. The bathroom was also done up for a princess: bath sponge, bubble bath and "candles" were right there and all ready for a
Royal bath! The attention to every detail made our stay a true celebration. Everyone we encountered on the Ballantyne staff was so helpful and kind. They made us feel very special. Ryan helped us at every turn and was so polite. He went out of his way to see that we had what we needed. And Sandra helped us before, during and after our stay~ we left something behind and she tracked it down. Thank you all for being so wonderful. Luxury resort with the finest staff!

Room Tip: Stayed many times and never had a bad room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paige C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, General Manager at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Paige C,

Thank you for celebrating your daughter’s 10th birthday at The Ballantyne and for sharing your positive feedback. We are thrilled we could make Katie’s birthday special and appreciate your kind words regarding Sandra and Ryan as well as the overall experience. Our staff is dedicated to creating truly unforgettable experiences for our guests. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Peter Grills
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxhaw, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed at the hotel shortly before Christmas and were treated to a fantastic experience from the second we stepped on property. The concierge Alan was engaging and made sure to deliver again and again. From explaining all of the various services to setting us up with more than one of them, he truly delivered the top-notch service the hotel is known for.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, General Manager at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Jeff L,
Thank you for staying at The Ballantyne and for sharing your feedback. We are pleased you had an enjoyable visit and appreciate your positive comments regarding our helpful concierge, Alan. Our entire team is dedicated to providing our guests with wonderful stay experiences. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Peter Grills
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Brookville, NY
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stuck in Charlotte for the snowstorm and there was never a doubt where I would go to...have stayed here before for professional golf tournaments and it never fails to impress me. This is not merely a hotel but an event! It is all good....no, it is all fantastic! Even when there is no golf and no outdoor patios! This hotel needs no help from me but I am writing this now because we were stuck...really stuck...and they let us stay late without penalty as they knew of our predicament due to the snow storm...unheard of and completely unexpected. Beautifully appointed rooms and restaurants and common areas as well as the gym, spa, indoor pool etc...nothing around there comes close....do treat yourself! Bravo

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amc10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear amc10,
Thank you for staying with us at The Ballantyne and for sharing your feedback. We really appreciate your kind words regarding our guest rooms, common areas, restaurant and spa facilities and are happy that we were able to accommodate you during inclement weather challenges. At The Ballantyne, we are committed to providing our guests with exceptional stay experiences. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

I stayed here for a seminar that I was attending. Sad to say that I only had 2 days there. I would have loved to have stayed for at least a week. We felt very pampered. The hotel felt like a castle. My mother and I had the entire pool/hot tub area to ourselves one evening and it was awesome! The meal that had at their restaurant was melt in your mouth delightful. The wait staff were pleasant and attentive. I really have nothing bad to say about The Battanytne.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gypsytrvlr99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear gypsytrvlr99,
Thank you for staying with us at The Ballantyne and for sharing your experience. We were pleased to read that you felt pampered and that you and your mother were able to enjoy some of our amenities. Thank you for your compliments regarding your dining experience at Gallery Restaurant. Our entire staff is dedicated to providing our guests with memorable stay experiences. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back (hopefully for a week next time!).

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Working to put a business meeting together, I had a great experience with Ballantyne's Meeting & Events manager, Alli. I had never been to the hotel but heard great things from others so I relied on Alli to make decisions on the room and with food choices, etc. She was informative and helpful in making decisions... Overall, our meeting was in a beautiful setting (the hotel and meeting rooms are lovely) and the food and service superb!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorrie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Lorrie R,
Thank you for choosing to partner with The Ballantyne on your business meeting and for taking the time to share your positive comments. We are delighted that you had a great experience working with Alli and appreciate your kind feedback regarding our facilities, food and service. At The Ballantyne, we are committed to providing our meeting guests with comfortable accommodations, a productive and pleasant meeting setting and exceptional service. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany Beach, DE
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

My husband & I had not been to Charlotte before, but decided to make it our second of three stops during a two-week getaway. I chose the Ballantyne because my husband is a golfer, and even tho he didn't golf this trip, I knew he'd return if he liked what he saw. Wow! I was right! This is a fabulous hotel -- not just the golf course, which is beautiful in and of itself -- but from the moment you walk thru the grand doors, you'll fall in love! I loved the instant warmth of the Christmas decor & soft music playing -- a talented gentleman was playing a harp nearby which just added to the Christmas Spirit! Our room was fabulous -- this Sheraton does it up right! The towels weren't those "cheap hotel towels" you usually get at hotels, but thick & fluffy and plentiful. Our room was spotless -- the staff was wonderful. We had a "hot water issue" when we arrived and as soon as we reported it, we had Mr. Fix-It at our door! My husband definitely will be planning a golf getaway when the weather warms up & I'll be tagging along for sure! Oh, and I forgot to mention that this Sheraton gave a "Triple A Hot Deal Holiday" so that was just the icing on the cake (only $165.00 a night....can't beat it for this fabulous hotel!)

Room Tip: Get a balcony to enjoy fabulous views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linnie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Linnie D,

Thank you for choosing to visit Charlotte and stay with us at The Ballantyne. We appreciate your compliments regarding our hotel, including the golf course, accommodations and overall ambience. Our hotel is part of Starwood; however, we are a member of The Luxury Collection, another brand within the company. At The Ballantyne, our staff words diligently to provide our guests with warm hospitality. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
First Ward
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
#20 of 174 in Charlotte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Second Ward
Westin Charlotte
Westin Charlotte
#31 of 174 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barclay Downs
Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge

Property: The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge
Address: 10000 Ballantyne Commons Parkway, Charlotte, NC 28277
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Charlotte
#3 Green Hotel in Charlotte
#3 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#6 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#12 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ballantyne, located in Charlotte, North Carolina, is a member of Starwood Hotels & Resorts' The Luxury Collection. Guests are welcomed with exceptional service, complemented by a timeless elegance. Enjoy resort-style amenities including spa, golf, fitness, exquisite dining and leisure offerings. The Ballantyne features beautiful hotel rooms, a cottage and lodge retreat with sophisticated meeting, wedding and event venues in a vibrant setting. The Ballantyne is located within 18 miles of Uptown Charlotte and Charlotte Douglas International Airport. In addition to its great accessibility to Charlotte, the hotel is set amidst shopping, dining, retail and a thriving business community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ballantyne Hotel Charlotte
Ballantyne Hotel Charlotte
Ballantine Resort Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing