We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accomodations and services”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ballantyne, Charlotte
Ranked #7 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed at the hotel shortly before Christmas and were treated to a fantastic experience from the second we stepped on property. The concierge Alan was engaging and made sure to deliver again and again. From explaining all of the various services to setting us up with more than one of them, he truly delivered the top-notch service the hotel is known for.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, General Manager at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear Jeff L,
Thank you for staying at The Ballantyne and for sharing your feedback. We are pleased you had an enjoyable visit and appreciate your positive comments regarding our helpful concierge, Alan. Our entire team is dedicated to providing our guests with wonderful stay experiences. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Peter Grills
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (808)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

440 - 446 of 808 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stuck in Charlotte for the snowstorm and there was never a doubt where I would go to...have stayed here before for professional golf tournaments and it never fails to impress me. This is not merely a hotel but an event! It is all good....no, it is all fantastic! Even when there is no golf and no outdoor patios! This hotel needs no help from me but I am writing this now because we were stuck...really stuck...and they let us stay late without penalty as they knew of our predicament due to the snow storm...unheard of and completely unexpected. Beautifully appointed rooms and restaurants and common areas as well as the gym, spa, indoor pool etc...nothing around there comes close....do treat yourself! Bravo

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amc10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear amc10,
Thank you for staying with us at The Ballantyne and for sharing your feedback. We really appreciate your kind words regarding our guest rooms, common areas, restaurant and spa facilities and are happy that we were able to accommodate you during inclement weather challenges. At The Ballantyne, we are committed to providing our guests with exceptional stay experiences. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

I stayed here for a seminar that I was attending. Sad to say that I only had 2 days there. I would have loved to have stayed for at least a week. We felt very pampered. The hotel felt like a castle. My mother and I had the entire pool/hot tub area to ourselves one evening and it was awesome! The meal that had at their restaurant was melt in your mouth delightful. The wait staff were pleasant and attentive. I really have nothing bad to say about The Battanytne.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gypsytrvlr99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded December 17, 2013

Dear gypsytrvlr99,
Thank you for staying with us at The Ballantyne and for sharing your experience. We were pleased to read that you felt pampered and that you and your mother were able to enjoy some of our amenities. Thank you for your compliments regarding your dining experience at Gallery Restaurant. Our entire staff is dedicated to providing our guests with memorable stay experiences. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back (hopefully for a week next time!).

Sincerely,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Working to put a business meeting together, I had a great experience with Ballantyne's Meeting & Events manager, Alli. I had never been to the hotel but heard great things from others so I relied on Alli to make decisions on the room and with food choices, etc. She was informative and helpful in making decisions... Overall, our meeting was in a beautiful setting (the hotel and meeting rooms are lovely) and the food and service superb!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorrie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Lorrie R,
Thank you for choosing to partner with The Ballantyne on your business meeting and for taking the time to share your positive comments. We are delighted that you had a great experience working with Alli and appreciate your kind feedback regarding our facilities, food and service. At The Ballantyne, we are committed to providing our meeting guests with comfortable accommodations, a productive and pleasant meeting setting and exceptional service. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

My husband & I had not been to Charlotte before, but decided to make it our second of three stops during a two-week getaway. I chose the Ballantyne because my husband is a golfer, and even tho he didn't golf this trip, I knew he'd return if he liked what he saw. Wow! I was right! This is a fabulous hotel -- not just the golf course, which is beautiful in and of itself -- but from the moment you walk thru the grand doors, you'll fall in love! I loved the instant warmth of the Christmas decor & soft music playing -- a talented gentleman was playing a harp nearby which just added to the Christmas Spirit! Our room was fabulous -- this Sheraton does it up right! The towels weren't those "cheap hotel towels" you usually get at hotels, but thick & fluffy and plentiful. Our room was spotless -- the staff was wonderful. We had a "hot water issue" when we arrived and as soon as we reported it, we had Mr. Fix-It at our door! My husband definitely will be planning a golf getaway when the weather warms up & I'll be tagging along for sure! Oh, and I forgot to mention that this Sheraton gave a "Triple A Hot Deal Holiday" so that was just the icing on the cake (only $165.00 a night....can't beat it for this fabulous hotel!)

Room Tip: Get a balcony to enjoy fabulous views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Linnie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear Linnie D,

Thank you for choosing to visit Charlotte and stay with us at The Ballantyne. We appreciate your compliments regarding our hotel, including the golf course, accommodations and overall ambience. Our hotel is part of Starwood; however, we are a member of The Luxury Collection, another brand within the company. At The Ballantyne, our staff words diligently to provide our guests with warm hospitality. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We wanted a short getaway for a long weekend and The Ballantyne was the perfect location! From walking in the doors, we knew we chosen the perfect spot. Everyone was friendly and accommodating to our needs and questions. The indoor pool was a great plus for the winter months and the in room dining was great! The food was excellent and the service was impeccable. We decided to leave a day early, and the only hiccup we had was we were still charged for the last night even though we left a day earlier. I kept putting it off to contract the hotel, but when I finally did weeks later it took less than 24 hours to alleviate this problem. Richard in the accounting department was quick to respond to my inquiry and did a great job at following up in a timely matter. The staff is amazing and I highly recommend enjoying a stay at The Ballantyne.

Room Tip: A view of the golf course is a plus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

Dear Rachel K,
Thank you for choosing The Ballantyne to stay for your getaway and for sharing your wonderful feedback. We are delighted you had an enjoyable visit. Thank you for your compliments regarding our staff, indoor pool and in-room dining experience. We are glad we were able to resolve your billing issue in a timely manner. Our team is committed to providing our guests with the best experience possible. Thank you for recommending our hotel, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The Ballantyne's great advantage -- it's separation from city center and the buslte of the area -- may be a liability to some. But if you want a park like setting and a very attentive and gracious staff, the Ballantyne may be for you. Price was also very reasonable.

Lovely setting, upscale treatments, and a good restaurant. Beverly, the lunch and dinner hostess, was especially good. I imagine that the Ballantyne would be an ideal setting for business meetings/conferences.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GSNUSMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear GSNUSMC,
Thank you for staying with us at The Ballantyne and for sharing your feedback. Thank you for your positive comments regarding our setting, value, treatments, restaurant, as well as the good service you received from Beverly. Our team is dedicated to providing our guests with warm hospitality and strives to create memorable stay experiences. Thank you for recommending our hotel for business meetings and events, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
First Ward
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
#11 of 178 in Charlotte
673 reviews
Fourth Ward
The Ivey's Hotel
The Ivey's Hotel
#1 of 178 in Charlotte
136 reviews
Second Ward
The Westin Charlotte
The Westin Charlotte
#34 of 178 in Charlotte
1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fourth Ward
The Dunhill Hotel
The Dunhill Hotel
#48 of 178 in Charlotte
442 reviews
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#55 of 178 in Charlotte
2,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ballantyne, Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ballantyne, Charlotte

Address: 10000 Ballantyne Commons Pkwy, Charlotte, NC 28277-2484
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Charlotte
#3 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#3 Green Hotel in Charlotte
#6 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#12 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range: $199 - $485 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ballantyne, Charlotte 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ballantyne, a Luxury Collection Hotel by Marriott, Charlotte welcomes guests with gracious service, elegant accommodations and abundant amenities. Explore the spa, seasonal outdoor pool, indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna, tennis, golf, fitness, exquisite dining, 24 hour room service, afternoon tea and leisure offerings. The Ballantyne features beautiful hotel rooms, a lovely cottage and The Lodge at Ballantyne, a 35 room group retreat. Meeting and event planners are invited to view meeting and event facilities with spacious and picturesque outdoor venues, on-site group activities and creative culinary offerings. The Ballantyne is located within nine miles of SouthPark and Carowinds and within 18 miles of Uptown Charlotte and Charlotte Douglas International Airport. In addition to its great accessibility to Charlotte’s impressive recreational and entertainment offerings, the hotel is set amidst shopping, dining, retail and the thriving Ballantyne community. Guests enjoy a complimentary shuttle within one mile and access to many dining and conveniences within walking distance and even more within a short drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Ballantyne, Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ballantyne Hotel Charlotte
Ballantyne Hotel Charlotte
Ballantine Resort Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing