We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect wedding venue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ballantyne, Charlotte
Ranked #7 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
“Perfect wedding venue”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We just had our entire wedding weekend at the Ballantyne Hotel. We held our Rehearsal at The Lodge, wedding ceremony and reception at the hotel as well as a Farewell Breakfast. We can't say enough about how wonderful everything was from the planning stages all the way up to the wedding day. We worked with both Adair and Alli. Adair in Sales was so great. She answered all of our questions and made us feel comfortable about our decisions of hosting the wedding there. Alli handled all the planning and catering. She was absolutely wonderful. Just a joy to work with. Both The Lodge and The Hotel are just beautiful. The entire staff is so helpful and kind. All our guests were so impressed with the hotel. The staff went above and beyond for us. The food was outstanding and all our guests had the best time. I can't imagine holding a wedding anywhere else!! The service, staff, and hotel itself...all exceptional. Ballantyne is just perfection!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Jessica D,
Thank you for choosing The Ballantyne as a venue for your wedding weekend. We are thrilled that you had a wonderful experience and value your incredible feedback regarding Adair, Alli and our entire staff, as well as the complete event process, hotel and cuisine. Our team is committed to making such an important occasion a truly memorable experience, and we all work together to ensure the process as effortless and enjoyable as possible. We are glad you were able to utilize both the hotel and Lodge for your festivities and that your guests had a great time. Thank you again for taking the time to share such positive comments, and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    167
    46
    22
    3
See reviews for
171
258
28
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Lenox Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Went back to the Ballantyne this past September. Would make this a spot to revisit yearly. The accommodations are first class! The staff is amazing. They are all so polite and helpful. You feel like they each work for you individually with all the attention you receive. The spa services are so luxurious. So relaxing. I enjoyed an 80 minute massage and a 50 minute facial. Afterwards, you are invited to use their indoor pool and hot tub which are conveniently located below the spa. All and all a great trip!

Room Tip: Spend the extra to get a balcony. It's a beautiful view of the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Retiredtraveler07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Retiredtraveler07,

Thank you for visiting us again at The Ballantyne and for sharing your wonderful feedback. We are delighted that you are considering making an annual trip to our hotel. Thank you for your positive comments regarding our accommodations, staff, spa and amenities. Our staff is dedicated to elevating the guest experience, and we are happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My fiance and I stayed here for a long weekend and it was a wonderful experience! We checked in late at night and the receptionist was friendly, warm, and welcoming. She commented on my (brand new) engagement ring and I told her we had just gotten engaged, and while we were in the airport my fiance had just found out he got a promotion so I gushed about that as well. She was very sweet and congratulated us! The room was wonderfully comfortable and homey, and the bathroom (especially the soaking tub - wow!) was decorated so nicely. Everywhere we went, throughout the grounds, staff was friendly and smiled at us. The next night we were surprised by a knock on our door - the hotel sent up a complimentary bottle of wine and a very sweet and personalized card to congratulate us on our engagement and my fiance's promotion! We were so impressed by this personal touch. We had a lovely and delicious breakfast overlooking the golf course, relaxed in both the inside jacuzzi and outside pool, and loved every minute of our stay here. If you're planning a trip to this area and are looking to be pampered and happy, look no further than this hotel!

Room Tip: We were on a low floor - 6 - and had no problems with light or noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Lisa F,

Thank you for staying at The Ballantyne and for sharing your great feedback. We are pleased you had an enjoyable visit and appreciate your compliments regarding our accommodations, amenities, service and special touches. Our entire team is dedicated to providing our guests with truly memorable stay experiences. Congratulations on your recent engagement and your fiancé’s promotion and best of luck with your wedding planning. Thank you for recommending our hotel, and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed at the hotel last November and I must admit. I STILL miss it and the experience. The staff was friendly and professional and our room was breathtaking. We selected the spa package and they really make you feel like a queen all over mimosas that never quit coming (Definitely not a bad thing lol) We had dinner at the restaurant inside and that was a bit of a letdown, but the hotel itself was everything I could have asked for and more.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carnitta W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Carnitta W,

Thank you for celebrating your birthday with us and for sharing your feedback. We are delighted that you had a memorable stay and really value your comments regarding our staff, accommodations and spa experience. We apologize that dinner fell short of your expectations. Our team is committed to continuous improvement, and we recently enhanced our menu at the restaurant, as well as completed an impressive redesign. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and hope you have a wonderful birthday in November!

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I stayed here for one night and it was a great experience. The rooms were nice and big. I loved the bathrooms, I believe I was in a standard room and it was the size of bathrooms in what would be a suite at other hotels. All marble, separate bathtub, glass shower, large vanity. The pillows and sheets were so comfortable and I had a great night's rest. I ordered late night room service and the food arrived in 30mins and was very good.
I had a view of the parking lot and would have preferred golf course if I was there during the day - ask for that! All in all, I will be staying here again, it was a very relaxing experience.

I have only stayed at the Westin in Charlotte and if I do not need to be in downtown for work in the future, I will stay at the Ballantyne.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatalieJF43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Nfiguereo,

Thank you for staying with us at The Ballantyne Hotel & Lodge and for taking the time to share your feedback. We are delighted that you had a relaxing experience and value your compliments regarding our accommodations, bathroom and in-room amenities. At The Ballantyne, our team is dedicated to providing our guests with memorable stay experiences. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for the first time last month for a special occasion. The front desk and concierge
were friendly, efficient, and helpful. We had a room looking out over the golf course (including a fountain and pond). The room was clean and comfortable. Received a hand written note and chocolate covered strawberries welcoming us to the hotel. The hotel's restaurant is first class. All in all a great experience and a great value.

Room Tip: rooms on the east side have best view and are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heimlichrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear heimlichrw,

Thank you for celebrating your special occasion with us at The Ballantyne Hotel & Lodge and for sharing your positive comments. We really value your great feedback regarding our staff, accommodations, welcome amenity and Gallery Restaurant. At The Ballantyne, we are committed to providing guests with wonderful experiences and hope they find our hotel to be a good value. We are delighted you had an enjoyable visit. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthews, North Carolina, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We had our daughter's wedding at the Ballantyne Hotel. We can't say enough about how wonderful everything was from the planning till the day of the wedding. Our event planner, Jody was absolutely wonderful to work with. She handled everything!! The resort is beautiful, everyone there is so helpful and kind. All our guests were so impressed with the hotel. The food too at the wedding was fantastic and all our guests had the best time. I can't imagine holding a wedding anywhere else!! The service, staff, hotel itself, the Gallery restaurant, spa, golf...all exceptional. We had 5 foursomes play golf the morning of the wedding and everyone was so impressed with the golf course too. Ballantyne is just perfection!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Sandy M,

Thanks for choosing The Ballantyne to host such an important occasion and for sharing your experience. We were pleased to read that you had a wonderful experience from the beginning of the planning phase through the reception. We really appreciate your kind words regarding Jody, as she is definitely a valued member of our team, and we’re happy that you and your guests enjoyed our hotel, cuisine, service and amenities. Our team is committed to providing our guests with unforgettable experiences, and thank you again for sharing your positive feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future!

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
First Ward
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
#14 of 178 in Charlotte
629 reviews
Second Ward
Westin Charlotte
Westin Charlotte
#32 of 178 in Charlotte
1,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fourth Ward
The Dunhill Hotel
The Dunhill Hotel
#51 of 178 in Charlotte
423 reviews
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#44 of 178 in Charlotte
2,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ballantyne, Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ballantyne, Charlotte

Property: The Ballantyne, Charlotte
Address: 10000 Ballantyne Commons Pkwy, Charlotte, NC 28277-2484
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Charlotte
#3 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#3 Green Hotel in Charlotte
#6 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#12 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ballantyne, Charlotte 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ballantyne, a Luxury Collection Hotel by Marriott, Charlotte welcomes guests with gracious service, elegant accommodations and abundant amenities. Explore the spa, seasonal outdoor pool, indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna, tennis, golf, fitness, exquisite dining, 24 hour room service, afternoon tea and leisure offerings. The Ballantyne features beautiful hotel rooms, a lovely cottage and The Lodge at Ballantyne, a 35 room group retreat. Meeting and event planners are invited to view meeting and event facilities with spacious and picturesque outdoor venues, on-site group activities and creative culinary offerings. The Ballantyne is located within nine miles of SouthPark and Carowinds and within 18 miles of Uptown Charlotte and Charlotte Douglas International Airport. In addition to its great accessibility to Charlotte’s impressive recreational and entertainment offerings, the hotel is set amidst shopping, dining, retail and the thriving Ballantyne community. Guests enjoy a complimentary shuttle within one mile and access to many dining and conveniences within walking distance and even more within a short drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Ballantyne, Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ballantyne Hotel Charlotte
Ballantyne Hotel Charlotte
Ballantine Resort Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing