We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ballantyne, Charlotte
Ranked #9 of 180 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Only spent one night at this hotel but were greeted by lovely staff, even though it was 2am and recieved a lovely suite with two balconies overlooking the golf course. Overall great experience, lovely atmosphere from checking to checkout. Especially lovely breakfast.

Room Tip: Overlooking the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toniboni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, Public Relations Manager at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear toniboni,
Thank you for staying with us at The Ballantyne Hotel & Lodge and for sharing your positive experience. We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay and value your compliments regarding our staff, cuisine and accomodations. At The Ballantyne, our team is dedicated to providing our guests with memorable stay experiences. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Sincerely,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (824)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

499 - 505 of 824 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

Had an enjoyable stay over the Fourth of July and in celebration of a friend’s birthday.There was a beautifully decorated, personalized birthday cake waiting in the room for her. You can golf, swim, use the hot tub spa, sauna, gym, walking path, bar, or relax in the wide open lobby that offers plenty of seats and views. At first sight I felt like we would not have to leave the resort….BUT I was not impressed with the Gallery Restaurant. We ate there for dinner the first night, then breakfast that next morning. The servers were great but the food left a lot to be desired, in my opinion, so we ate off site for the most part. Aside from the food we had a clean double bed room overlooking the golf course. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. .Our beds were turned down each night with chocolates. We reserved a table for afternoon tea which was fun. My friend took advantage of the spa and really enjoyed it. She lives there in Charlotte and said she would definitely be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeneenBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, Public Relations Manager at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Camille418, Thank you for staying at The Ballantyne Hotel & Lodge to enjoy your celebration over the July 4th holiday. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your visit and shared such lovely photos for others to view. We appreciate your feedback and sincerely apologize that we fell short of your expectations at Gallery Restaurant. We value your observations and have shared your comments with our management and culinary teams. We hope you will visit us again soon when your travels return you to Charlotte.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

The Ballantyne is very, very nice. Very. I'd give it 4.5 stars, if I could. New, fluffy Frette towels. New fluffy white terry cloth robes. Good toiletries. The bed was very comfortable and had nice linens - excellent sleep. We had a Parlor suite, which was essentially a regular room with an adjoining room functioning as a living/sitting room. Plenty of space. 2 balconies overlooking the golf course.The only negative was that there was an unwrapped soap (previous guest's?) on the side of the bathtub. That aside, it was a very nice stay overall.

Room Tip: Request a room on on the golf course side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seejanework
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, Public Relations Manager at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Seejanework,
Thank you for visiting The Ballantyne Hotel & Lodge in Charlotte, NC. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay in the parlor suite. I apologize for the housekeeping oversight and have discussed your feedback with the department head to prevent this mistake from happening to others. Thank you for providing your feedback and we hope to welcome you again when you return to Charlotte.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This was my third time staying at the Ballantyne. Great hotel, great service. I reserved the presidential suite for 5 nights. Great room, clean, service was excellent. The kitchen comes in handy especially with a 3 year old. In room dining was fabulous. All three of my stays have been problem free and service was excellent each time. I will be back next time I am in town.

Room Tip: Golf course side views are great. otherwise you are looking at the parking lot and street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, Public Relations Manager at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear Randy L,
Thank you for being a loyal guest of The Ballantyne Hotel & Lodge and for sharing your positive experience. We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay in the Presidential Suite and value your compliments regarding our staff, accomodations and cuisine. At The Ballantyne, our team is dedicated to providing our guests with memorable stay experiences. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Sincerely,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We love this place. It is SUCH a great getaway for my husband and myself for a night away from the 5 kids :) or...for a teen daughter' bday! Hanging out by the pool and ordering the best burgers of your life...yes...a sweet, sweet memory-maker! Very friendly and attentive staff that have always made our daughter's bday there fantastic. It is super expensive but we wait for the deals. VERY clean too which I super appreciate!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JourneyGirl1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, Public Relations Manager at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear IndianLandPartyof7, Thank you for choosing to spend your couple's getaway at The Ballantyne Hotel & Lodge. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our facilities and attentive service and appreciate you sharing your experience with others. We look forward to welcoming you back for future celebrations and getaways.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

True luxury. Great southern hospitality. This is one of the few hotels that offers an afternoon tea. Sparkling clean. Beautiful grounds. The resort offers so much to do (golf, swimming, hot tub spa, sauna, gym, walking path) that we barefly left the property. Don't miss the great breakfast, which was included in our hotel rate. Hotel is near many attractions but not the City Center, which is about a 30 minute drive away. Lots of restaurants and shopping nearby. Slightly disappointed in the bed. Luxurious linens, but we could feel the mattress coils. We expected a higher quality bed at this price point. It is not enough to discourage us from returning again though. Great place to get away from it all.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the golf course rather than the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GardeningFiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, Public Relations Manager at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear GardeningFiend,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Ballantyne Hotel & Lodge on you recent visit to Charlotte and for sharing your positive feedback. We are delighted that we fulfilled your expectations and appreciate your kind words regarding our hotel, amenities, decor, cuisine, service, and location. We would really appreciate if you could email ajones@theballantynehotel.com and let us know the room that you stayed in, so that we can arrange for the mattress to be replaced. Thank you again for sharing your feedback. Without it we cannot improve our products and services, as we are committed to providing our guests with truly memorable stay experiences. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Sincerely,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The Ballantyne Hotel is a good base when staying in the South Charlotte area. It is a little far from downtown and the South Park area but close enough to drive if you wish and the Ballantyne area itself has plenty of restaurants and shopping. The hotel is very nice and the rooms are comfortable. The price is usually more reasonable than some other Charlotte properties. Travelers from large cities may feel the service is non existent but this is a do it yourself hotel and parking is simple, easy and free. The golf course is beautiful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 55135Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, Public Relations Manager at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear 55135Traveler,

Thank you for staying with us at The Ballantyne Hotel & Lodge and for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback. We are pleased you had an enjoyable visit and value your positive comments regarding the overall experience, rooms and pricing. Our team at The Ballantyne Hotel & Lodge is committed to providing our guests with memorable stay experiences. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Sincerely,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Fourth Ward
The Ivey's Hotel
The Ivey's Hotel
#1 of 180 in Charlotte
171 reviews
First Ward
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
#16 of 180 in Charlotte
685 reviews
Fourth Ward
The Dunhill Hotel
The Dunhill Hotel
#50 of 180 in Charlotte
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
The Westin Charlotte
The Westin Charlotte
#34 of 180 in Charlotte
1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ballantyne, Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ballantyne, Charlotte

Address: 10000 Ballantyne Commons Pkwy, Charlotte, NC 28277-2484
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Charlotte
#3 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#3 Green Hotel in Charlotte
#6 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#12 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range: $218 - $494 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ballantyne, Charlotte 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ballantyne, a Luxury Collection Hotel by Marriott, Charlotte welcomes guests with gracious service, elegant accommodations and abundant amenities. Explore the spa, seasonal outdoor pool, indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna, tennis, golf, fitness, exquisite dining, 24 hour room service, afternoon tea and leisure offerings. The Ballantyne features beautiful hotel rooms, a lovely cottage and The Lodge at Ballantyne, a 35 room group retreat. Meeting and event planners are invited to view meeting and event facilities with spacious and picturesque outdoor venues, on-site group activities and creative culinary offerings. The Ballantyne is located within nine miles of SouthPark and Carowinds and within 18 miles of Uptown Charlotte and Charlotte Douglas International Airport. In addition to its great accessibility to Charlotte’s impressive recreational and entertainment offerings, the hotel is set amidst shopping, dining, retail and the thriving Ballantyne community. Guests enjoy a complimentary shuttle within one mile and access to many dining and conveniences within walking distance and even more within a short drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Ballantyne, Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ballantyne Hotel Charlotte
Ballantyne Hotel Charlotte
Ballantine Resort Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing