We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice getaway right outside a big city!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ballantyne, Charlotte
Ranked #7 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

The Ballantyne Hotel was a great weekend in Charlotte without being in the center of town. Only 22 minutes from the airport, the resort still gave the impression of seclusion if you wanted it, but has such a nice selection of commercial centers nearby on the exit that you could also find a lot to do! The grounds there are beautiful and well kept, the restaurant and bar areas were absolutely wonderful with a great ambiance that did not scream that you're in a hotel, our room had a beautiful view overlooking the golf course, great shower and tub in the bathrooms, and the fitness and pools areas were excellent! Highly recommended...

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BronwynKelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear BronwynKelson,

Thank you for staying with us at The Ballantyne Hotel & Lodge and for sharing your experience. We were pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and appreciate your positive comments regarding our location, hotel grounds, restaurant and bar, accommodations and wellness facilities. Our staff is dedicated to delivering exceptional experiences to our guests. Thank you for recommending our hotel, and we hope to welcome you back in the future!

Sincerely,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (809)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

541 - 547 of 809 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

Our one night stay was wonderful. The hotel is beautiful, convient to multiple restaurants and shopping, and the staff is very accommodating. We went to the spa where the staff and facilities were outstanding. The indoor pool and hot tub area was very relaxing and has a beautiful view of the golf course. Overall, it was a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dkba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Dear dkba,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your positive feedback. We value your kind words regarding our hotel, location, staff, spa and wellness facilities, and we’re so glad you had an enjoyable stay. Our team is committed to providing our guests with a truly memorable experience. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I've stayed here for the last few weeks for work, and I think it is one of the best hotels I've been able to stay in for business.

Beds are soft, bathrooms are really big. Nice shower and a giant tub that fills up fast. The Ballantyne area is new, clean, and safe, but not the most exciting area. This neighborhood is a new development, office park area outside of Charlotte. It is right on a golf course which looks great, but I haven't played there. Not a ton of nearby restaurants, but the ones that are here are not bad.

the gym facilities are excellent. Pool and hot tub, and big gym area. Several machines with TVs and iPod jacks, free weights, plus a large floor area with mats for stretching. Definitely the best part about staying here during the week.

Room service is ok. They are fast and friendly. Definitely pricey, but it is room service, they got ya.


Overall, it is a great hotel. On the high end, and you will feel it with the room rates and food prices, but all the amenities are there for a good stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Dear David F,

Thank you for choosing The Ballantyne for business travel and for taking the time to share your experience. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your compliments regarding our accommodations, amenities and fitness facilities. Our team is dedicated to elevating the overall stay experience for all of our guests. Thank you for recommending our hotel, and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The staff at this hotel is incredible from the General Manager to the bell man you could not ask for a more kind courteous and efficient staff.
My daughter chose this hotel for the wedding of her dreams and they delivered at every level. We had 165 guests at this event and I did not hear one complaint.
I personally stayed here for five nights. Prior, during, and after the big event.
I truly felt like they handed me and all of our guests the keys to the hotel upon our arrival and just said please lock up when you are ready to leave, and if there is anything we can do in the meantime please do not hesitate to ask. The food at the event and during our stay was incredible. I looked at my wife during our wedding meal and said wow this is not wedding food!
The wedding coordinator Alli Hall is truly a one of a kind individual that is one of the lucky ones to be working at something she loves. This shows at every level, from contract , planning, coordination, and ultimately implementation. I dealt with her for over a year and found the professionalism and personalization to be extraordinary. Ultimately when I finally met her in person she was tying the Mr. and Mrs. signs to the back of the bride and grooms chairs. That was at 10:00am and when we finished the festivities at midnight that night she was supervising the cleanup and teardown of the event. Her dedication and caring for all concerned during one of the most stressful times of anyones life made the day, for the most important person to me, my daughter.
I should mention that I travel extensively both nationally and internationally and I would recommend this hotel as a oasis for the day to day business traveler at a very competitive price. I would allow my sales staff to use this facility for there travel budget.
Sincerely,
One Happy Dad!!

Room Tip: Golf Course View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sailcrammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear Sailcrammer,
Thank you for choosing The Ballantyne Hotel & Lodge to host your daughter’s wedding and for taking the time to share your positive comments. We were thrilled to read that you and your guests had a wonderful time. At The Ballantyne Hotel & Lodge, we are committed to providing an enjoyable, effortless and memorable experience throughout the wedding process, from planning the details to hosting the reception to overall warm hospitality every step of the way. Thank you for your kind words regarding Alli. We are very lucky to have her on our team! Thank you for recommending our hotel for weddings and business travel. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

We were coming in town for a wedding and decided to make it a mini vacation. Everyone at the hotel was so helpful. They gave us more than directions, they went as far as taking my husband to where he was trying to go because i was out getting my hair done. There kindness even extended after or stay was over. The hubs left one of his phones at the hotel. We called when we realized it was gone, but no one could find it. Well ten days later i got a call from the housekeeping manager saying they had found the phone, he apologized profusely, and he had the phone sent to our home. Like I said, amazing service, amazing people.
We have already decided wee are going back for our anniversary.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeekendDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear WeekendDiva,
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Ballantyne Hotel & Lodge and for taking the time to share your feedback. We really appreciate your kind words regarding your experience, and we were pleased that we were able to find your phone. Our staff is committed to providing our guests with the best service possible. We look forward to welcoming you back to celebrate your anniversary!

Sincerely,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I booked the Ballantyne at a great rate and was impressed. The hotel is warm and inviting, staff upon check-in is great.
I have stayed at numerous 5 stars, and definitely rate the Ballantyne a true 4 star. I came across a few tips a traveler should know, especially if they are traveling here for a special occasion rather than business.
Go for the golf views. The standard, city view is over their parking lot. Would be a definite disappointment for someone coming here for any length of stay, plus you have a great sunrise.
If you would like a balcony, request it through your travel agent or in the notes. This hotel has very few balconies and they are worth it, if you are staying more than a night or two. Otherwise you have large windows and the hotel fills the balconies quickly. I enjoyed the oversized rooms, they had a warm classic feel and were well decorated.
The hotel is a very happening place for events and weddings, so there is always something going on nearby. You have great, I mean great, shopping within 10 minutes of the hotel in every direction.
Room service is very reasonable compared to even other 4 star hotels. Very good..
Overall, I would return. I couldnt put my finger on why I wouldn't rate it higher, but if anything maybe a bit too sterile and functional. I think its a great place to stay while in Charlotte.

Room Tip: Request rooms with balconies (remember not guaranteed - have your travel agent follow up)- pay the d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vipalpinetours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlotteTravel, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear vipalpinetours,
Thank you for staying at The Ballantyne Hotel & Lodge and for sharing your experience. We were delighted to read your kind comments regarding our hotel, staff, accommodations and in-room dining. Our hotel is dedicated to providing our guests with a truly memorable stay experience. Thank you for recommending our hotel, and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Spent two nights here for a corporate event in the Lodge, which is different (and much better) than the main hotel. It is separate building, smaller and more homey, like a real Lodge even though it is in the middle of a busy office park. They have large rooms with high ceilings, which are both modern and classic - well thought out work areas, comfortable bed, but in "classic" style furniture. The rooms overlooking the golf course are FAR superior to those overlooking the parking lot, since there are large glass windows and decks. Although we did not use it, there is also a small "house" that has three or four bedrooms just adjacent to the main building (and this is where Obama stayed during the Democratic Convention). The Lodge has a large living room/fireplace area common, nice decks and patios, and overlooks a pretty golf course. The staff are very friendly and helpful. While this is not a place to go for a true "lodge" experience, if you are staying in south Charlotte this is a comfortable place for work and fun.

Room Tip: You only want a room overlooking the golf course, which is the back of the lodge. The front overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GateE10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlotteTravel, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Dear GateE10,
Thank you for staying with us at The Lodge at Ballantyne and for taking the time to share your feedback. Thank you for your kind words regarding accommodations at The Lodge and our staff. At The Ballantyne Hotel & Lodge, we are dedicated to providing a variety of memorable experiences for our guests – from the elegant hotel room to more of a Lodge retreat feel. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
First Ward
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
#11 of 178 in Charlotte
674 reviews
Fourth Ward
The Ivey's Hotel
The Ivey's Hotel
#1 of 178 in Charlotte
139 reviews
Fourth Ward
The Dunhill Hotel
The Dunhill Hotel
#49 of 178 in Charlotte
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
The Westin Charlotte
The Westin Charlotte
#34 of 178 in Charlotte
1,559 reviews
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ballantyne, Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ballantyne, Charlotte

Address: 10000 Ballantyne Commons Pkwy, Charlotte, NC 28277-2484
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Charlotte
#3 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#3 Green Hotel in Charlotte
#6 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#12 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range: $195 - $468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ballantyne, Charlotte 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ballantyne, a Luxury Collection Hotel by Marriott, Charlotte welcomes guests with gracious service, elegant accommodations and abundant amenities. Explore the spa, seasonal outdoor pool, indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna, tennis, golf, fitness, exquisite dining, 24 hour room service, afternoon tea and leisure offerings. The Ballantyne features beautiful hotel rooms, a lovely cottage and The Lodge at Ballantyne, a 35 room group retreat. Meeting and event planners are invited to view meeting and event facilities with spacious and picturesque outdoor venues, on-site group activities and creative culinary offerings. The Ballantyne is located within nine miles of SouthPark and Carowinds and within 18 miles of Uptown Charlotte and Charlotte Douglas International Airport. In addition to its great accessibility to Charlotte’s impressive recreational and entertainment offerings, the hotel is set amidst shopping, dining, retail and the thriving Ballantyne community. Guests enjoy a complimentary shuttle within one mile and access to many dining and conveniences within walking distance and even more within a short drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Ballantyne, Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ballantyne Hotel Charlotte
Ballantyne Hotel Charlotte
Ballantine Resort Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing