We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ballantyne Hotel - classic stay in Charlotte”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ballantyne, Charlotte
Ranked #9 of 180 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I booked the Ballantyne at a great rate and was impressed. The hotel is warm and inviting, staff upon check-in is great.
I have stayed at numerous 5 stars, and definitely rate the Ballantyne a true 4 star. I came across a few tips a traveler should know, especially if they are traveling here for a special occasion rather than business.
Go for the golf views. The standard, city view is over their parking lot. Would be a definite disappointment for someone coming here for any length of stay, plus you have a great sunrise.
If you would like a balcony, request it through your travel agent or in the notes. This hotel has very few balconies and they are worth it, if you are staying more than a night or two. Otherwise you have large windows and the hotel fills the balconies quickly. I enjoyed the oversized rooms, they had a warm classic feel and were well decorated.
The hotel is a very happening place for events and weddings, so there is always something going on nearby. You have great, I mean great, shopping within 10 minutes of the hotel in every direction.
Room service is very reasonable compared to even other 4 star hotels. Very good..
Overall, I would return. I couldnt put my finger on why I wouldn't rate it higher, but if anything maybe a bit too sterile and functional. I think its a great place to stay while in Charlotte.

Room Tip: Request rooms with balconies (remember not guaranteed - have your travel agent follow up)- pay the d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vipalpinetours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlotteTravel, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear vipalpinetours,
Thank you for staying at The Ballantyne Hotel & Lodge and for sharing your experience. We were delighted to read your kind comments regarding our hotel, staff, accommodations and in-room dining. Our hotel is dedicated to providing our guests with a truly memorable stay experience. Thank you for recommending our hotel, and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (829)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

567 - 573 of 829 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

Spent two nights here for a corporate event in the Lodge, which is different (and much better) than the main hotel. It is separate building, smaller and more homey, like a real Lodge even though it is in the middle of a busy office park. They have large rooms with high ceilings, which are both modern and classic - well thought out work areas, comfortable bed, but in "classic" style furniture. The rooms overlooking the golf course are FAR superior to those overlooking the parking lot, since there are large glass windows and decks. Although we did not use it, there is also a small "house" that has three or four bedrooms just adjacent to the main building (and this is where Obama stayed during the Democratic Convention). The Lodge has a large living room/fireplace area common, nice decks and patios, and overlooks a pretty golf course. The staff are very friendly and helpful. While this is not a place to go for a true "lodge" experience, if you are staying in south Charlotte this is a comfortable place for work and fun.

Room Tip: You only want a room overlooking the golf course, which is the back of the lodge. The front overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GateE10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlotteTravel, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Dear GateE10,
Thank you for staying with us at The Lodge at Ballantyne and for taking the time to share your feedback. Thank you for your kind words regarding accommodations at The Lodge and our staff. At The Ballantyne Hotel & Lodge, we are dedicated to providing a variety of memorable experiences for our guests – from the elegant hotel room to more of a Lodge retreat feel. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The hotel is not removed from the busyness of the surrounding area. It is near a major freeway (though not within hearing) and a main road (within hearing, just across the parking lot). If you want quiet, or are here for a romantic weekend you definitely want a room facing the golf course, with its picturesque 18th hole featuring a lake bordered by a sand trap (fun to look at, less so to be in).
The rooms are modern, well-maintained with good air-conditioning and comfortable beds. Excellent pillows. Some have balconies, which are worth it only on the golf side. The bathrooms are serviceable, mine had a separate tub and shower which was good for the low back after hacking my way around the very playable golf course.
Room service is expensive. The restaurant on the property is good, more options than room service, and therefore less expensive. The bar areas -- there are two, one on the lobby and one by the restaurant -- are well-stocked and service is fine. You can eat in the bar area next to the restaurant if you want to watch a game.
Nice work out room so bring your gym clothes if you want. Good selection of equipment. There is a spa I did not try.
Travel time during off-peak to the airport is about twenty minutes. I would recommend filling up the rental car before heading back as there are not obvious gas stations near the airport and car rental companies charge around $10 per gallon (yes, believe it) if they need to refill.
Good business center, but expect to pay a lot to use a computer. Computer connection in room was fine. Cheaper than using the center.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces the golf course. Otherwise you face the parking lot and busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kev1438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlotteTravel, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear kev1438,
Thank you for staying at The Ballantyne Hotel & Lodge and for sharing your experience. We appreciate your positive comments regarding our accommodations, fitness facilities, restaurant and bars and value your feedback regarding our room service and business center. We take all reviews very seriously and always pass along guest feedback to our staff. At The Ballantyne Hotel & Lodge, our goal is to provide all guests with a memorable and wonderful stay experience. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I travel for business to Charlotte often, and enjoy staying at the Starwood Properties there such as the Westin downtown but triied he Ballantyne after a recommendation. One of my clients told me about the Ballantyne and I booked a reservation for a two night stay. The hotel is located in the planned Ballantyne business area which has plenty of shops, business establishments etc.around it, plus a golf course. The hotel is charming warm and very invitiing overall. As you would expect from a Luxury Collection Hotel from Starwood details such as guest room appointments, etc are delivered. The rooms are comfortable and elegant with larger bathrooms that have both a full tub and separate shower. I booked a room overlooking the golf course which offered a nice view. I traveled with two other colleagues and booked them rooms here as well, they were put on the second floor and complained of noise being heard in thier rooms. We did eat breakfast at the hotel and found the food and service to be excellent! This hotel is a good choice for special events in Charlotte for sure, but don't think so for the business traveller. My major disappointment was as a Lifetime Platnium guest I was not upgraded, nor was I recognized as such thus can't rate them excellent. Loyalty is a two way propostition, and with this hotel that was lacking and as a result will stay elsewhere in the future.

Room Tip: Select a golf course view as it offers great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MEProfenno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlotteTravel, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear MEProfenno,
Thank you for staying at The Ballantyne Hotel & Lodge and for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate your kind words regarding our accommodations and cuisine. Thank you for being a loyal guest of Starwood Hotels & Resorts; we do value your relationship with our brand and apologize that we were not able to accommodate an upgrade for you. At The Ballantyne Hotel & Lodge, we are committed to providing all of our guests with a wonderful stay experience. Thanks again for sharing your feedback, and we hope you will reconsider returning to our hotel.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Very nice, clean, quiet room with beautiful view. Everyone on staff whom I encountered was knowledgeable, helpful and courteous. Excellent level of service from all.

I ate dinner at an off-premises restaurant, so I can only comment on their breakfast and lunch offerings, both of which were more than satisfactory.

One word of caution: If you are driving to this property, make certain to input the complete address in your GPS. There are at least 6 streets in the area which start with "Ballantyne!"

Room Tip: Rooms on golf course side have best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank URKiddinMee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlotteTravel, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear UR K,
Thank you for staying with us at The Ballantyne Hotel & Lodge and for sharing your experience. We appreciate your compliments regarding our accommodations, staff, service and cuisine. At The Ballantyne Hotel & Lodge, we are committed to providing our guests with a truly enjoyable experience. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We had my daughter's wedding there in March and it was a totally first class experience. The staff could not have been more accomodating, the rooms were spectacular,and we stayed in The cottage the last two nights and it was a true VIP experience. In fact the rumor is that President Obama stayed there during the Democratic National Convention a few weeks ago. the whole experience was the epitomy of elegance.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rockingus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlotteTravel, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear rockingus,
Thank you for hosting your daughter’s wedding at The Ballantyne Hotel & Lodge and for taking the time to share your positive feedback. We appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff, accommodations and overall experience. At The Ballantyne Hotel & Lodge, we strive to provide an effortless, enjoyable and memorable wedding experience from the initial planning meetings to the post-reception departure. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

What an amazing spa at the hotel. All newly decorated, the atmosphere is so relaxing. Healthy treats to eat and service is warm and welcoming. Each staff member tries to so hard to make you feel special. And they succeed!!! Tonya gave a perfect swedish massage. I will definitely return.
What a great getaway.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCTravel0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlotteTravel, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Dear travelerN.Carolina,

Thank you for visiting The Ballantyne Hotel & Lodge and for sharing your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your massage at The Spa at Ballantyne and appreciate your wonderful comments regarding our décor, setting, staff and treatment. At The Spa at Ballantyne, we are dedicated to providing a memorable and relaxing spa experience. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Fourth Ward
The Ivey's Hotel
The Ivey's Hotel
#1 of 180 in Charlotte
181 reviews
First Ward
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
#17 of 180 in Charlotte
690 reviews
Fourth Ward
The Dunhill Hotel
The Dunhill Hotel
#52 of 180 in Charlotte
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
The Westin Charlotte
The Westin Charlotte
#33 of 180 in Charlotte
1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ballantyne, Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ballantyne, Charlotte

Address: 10000 Ballantyne Commons Pkwy, Charlotte, NC 28277-2484
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Charlotte
#3 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#3 Green Hotel in Charlotte
#6 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#12 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range: $205 - $459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ballantyne, Charlotte 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ballantyne, a Luxury Collection Hotel by Marriott, Charlotte welcomes guests with gracious service, elegant accommodations and abundant amenities. Explore the spa, seasonal outdoor pool, indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna, tennis, golf, fitness, exquisite dining, 24 hour room service, afternoon tea and leisure offerings. The Ballantyne features beautiful hotel rooms, a lovely cottage and The Lodge at Ballantyne, a 35 room group retreat. Meeting and event planners are invited to view meeting and event facilities with spacious and picturesque outdoor venues, on-site group activities and creative culinary offerings. The Ballantyne is located within nine miles of SouthPark and Carowinds and within 18 miles of Uptown Charlotte and Charlotte Douglas International Airport. In addition to its great accessibility to Charlotte’s impressive recreational and entertainment offerings, the hotel is set amidst shopping, dining, retail and the thriving Ballantyne community. Guests enjoy a complimentary shuttle within one mile and access to many dining and conveniences within walking distance and even more within a short drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Ballantyne, Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ballantyne Hotel Charlotte
Ballantyne Hotel Charlotte
Ballantine Resort Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing